Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Foundations or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(441 Reviews) 425
83%364 of 441would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Cre
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 13, 2014

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT

I work 12 hour shifts and my foundation stays on all day. I am a dark skin woman, and I have often had problems matching my complexion with other brands, but I'm very impressed and satisfied with Clinique.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Cre
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Libby
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 13, 2014

Best foundation for oily skin!!!

This is honestly the product I've ever used! It keeps my skin shine free for hours and I don't get oily at all. I love stay-mate oil free makeup!!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Libby
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ivomitbats
Location: Lancaster, CA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 8, 2014

My go to foundation

I tried so many oil control foundations and was never satisfied. I received this as a sample and after trying it for two weeks, I decided to buy the full size. Two of them, one for my winter shade, and the other for the summer shade. I really like how they are really specific with their undertones as well, which made it super easy for me to find my color. Whenever a line offers a neutral undertone, I am immediately interested. I will continue to purchase this as long as my oily skin stays oily.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
ivomitbats
Location: Lancaster, CA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Frugalgal
Location: Deep South
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 7, 2014

Stays Matte

I found this product to work as advertised - it keeps my oily T-zone acceptably matte throughout the work day. This foundation does the job much better than what I had previously been using (Revlon Colorstay for Combo/Oily skin). My skin is very fair and neutral/slightly cool toned. I purchased the color Alabaster based on the info I could find online, and I believe I made the right choice. I later tried the color Linen also - Linen may be a tad lighter (just barely), but it definitely leans towards the golden end of the spectrum, which looked more like a mismatched shade on me. For reference, the Revlon Colorstay foundation shade I use is Ivory. Alabaster seems to me like the closest match, though it is a bit darker.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Frugalgal
Location: Deep South
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Belkis
Location: Venezuela
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Good Coverage

This product provides a good coverage and texture, however my skin does not stay matte the entire day and after a few hours my skin looks oily again.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Belkis
Location: Venezuela
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
SoonerGirl
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

GREAT FOR OILY GIRLS !!!

This is a great product for type 3 skin ..It has average coverage and keeps your skin looking matte. I live in a humid climate and it doesn't melt off. It goes very well with the Stay Matte Powder in the Compact....True winners...Yea!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
SoonerGirl
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Autumn
Location: New Bern, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Decent

Pros: stays put through a work day, a little goes a long way, build-able coverage, and good number of shades to choose from.
Cons: if you are truly oily (and not just a girl who claims to be), this will not be a game changer. You will still need your handy dandy blotting papers.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Autumn
Location: New Bern, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Neggie
Location: Star City
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Best Foundation EVER

This foundation stays in place no matter what! Even when I sweat it stays in place! There is no mess! It's by far the best foundation I've ever used!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Neggie
Location: Star City
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
reviewqueen09
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Great for Oily Skin

This is my first legitimate liquid foundation. Liquid foundation has always given me the impression of being heavy, unnatural looking, and non oily skin friendly (plus the good quality ones are always out of my budget). I had always been a powder foundation girl, but when I saw an ad for the Stay-Matte foundation, I was intrigued. The marketing campaign worked, because after reading glowing reviews, I decided to buy the foundation. So now let's get to the review. So the foundation is supposed to have a lightweight natural matte finish. This description fits it to a tee. Not only do I not feel like anything is on my face, but when I look in the mirror I cannot help but smile because my skin looks so gorgeous. This finish is so natural and the skin has a glow-like effect to it. I'm somewhere around a NC45 and was matched to Creamy Caramel (which was a perfect match). It's great that Clinique realizes that darker skin comes in different shades and the Stay Matte line offers a good variety for brown skinned women. The question is does it keep me matte? It does a pretty good job keeping me matte except for my forehead which just gets dewy not oily (I usually just have to blot one or two times a day and even if I don't, I don't look greasy...I just like a matte look lol). I usually set it with a light dusting of Loreal True Match Pressed Powder. For my first foundation, I found it very easy to apply. I used the ELF Studio Powder Brush, and stippled it on and blended. I am extremely pleased with this product, especially with it's price point. Good quality liquid foundation can be expensive at times, so it's awesome that Clinique can offer a great quality foundation at a decent price. I will definitely repurchase:)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
reviewqueen09
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Tigger
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Best Foundation Ever

Like most women, I have spent a lot of time and money looking for the perfect foundation for me. I tried more expensive brands and then tried this, I'm in my 40's but still get a little shiny and have some breakouts. This makeup matches my skin very well, has a nice texture and has plenty of coverage. It also stays on just as well as "12 hour" make-up.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Tigger
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
TSMel
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:October 6, 2014

Not a great as I'd hoped, but better than others.

My skin is very oily. I was really hoping this would be the answer for me in terms of foundation. I like it because it's light coverage, but it doesn't control oil quite like I was hoping.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
TSMel
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Nickie H
Location: Dallas TX
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(441)
Date:September 30, 2014

do not work!!

After reading all the reviews, its sound pretty good to me, so i went over to Dillard and bought it and nope is doesn't work for me at all . I have oily skin and yes i did try it with and without moisturizer,my face still look cakey and shiny.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nickie H
Location: Dallas TX
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
anajay
Location: long beach
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(441)
Date:September 11, 2014

dont buy

I've very disappointed with this product! Not matte at all! Bought it over the weekend and also purchase the translucent powder which is very white powder! Don't do much coverage and it shines through.
No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
anajay
Location: long beach
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ms06
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:September 2, 2014

Works well for me when mixed with moisturizer

I have a very oily t-zone but tend to get very dry around my cheeks and chin, so when I first started using this foundation, it was hard to blend at first and I didn't love it. When I mix it 1:1 with the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, it is perfect (although this step minimizes the matte-ness of the product).
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
ms06
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Mollie
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:August 2, 2014

Great texture but not light enough!!

I loved the texture of this make up! It seemed like it would definitely keep me oil free but sadly linen was to dark for me and they don't make a lighter shade :( I am very, very fair skinned.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Mollie
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Ann
Location: Bridgeport, WV, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(441)
Date:July 2, 2014

Doesn't stay as matte as it claims

I purchased this after a consultation with a Clinique rep at a department store. I don't have super oily skin. Just the usual, combination, oily through the t-zone by lunch problem. This product does not do what it claims. It gets greasy. It feels heavy. It melts away. I look flushed and hot all day (whether I am or not). I am not pleased.
I did not receive a free trial of this product.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Ann
Location: Bridgeport, WV, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Newmomma
Location: Kentucky, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:June 28, 2014

Stay home mom loving this stay put make up!

I can never find anything that stays on through my dance work outs or through a jog with the stroller that wont rub off on my baby when I pick her up to change her. This stuff is my fix! It really helped and makes me feel great and pretty even on my worst days!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Newmomma
Location: Kentucky, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bosslady
Location: Pittsburgh
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:June 27, 2014

Stay Spice and Matte

I love this product. It has excellent coverage and stays matte all day. Makes me look flawless and it's my perfect match.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Bosslady
Location: Pittsburgh
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
pix
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(441)
Date:June 19, 2014

WOW! AMAZING!

Let me start off by saying this: I have had the worst acne ever these last few years. I started wearing make-up because it made me feel a little better about my physical appearance. I started using the Clinique even better dark spot corrector. I then tried the Clinique even better liquid foundation. I liked using the liquid foundation because it stayed on my skin without coming off on my shirts...and the shade matched my skin pretty good. I ran out of my third bottle and decided to browse the Clinique website. Long and behold, I read awesome reviews about the Stay-matte oil free makeup from people with oily, troublesome skin. For us people with pizza-like oily skin, this product is unbeatable. Yesterday it was around 90 degrees outside and my makeup didn't melt off my skin. Ever since I began using this product, my skin has been feeling fresh! I definitely recommend this product to those with extremely oily skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
pix
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Jen E.
Location: Texas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(441)
Date:June 16, 2014

Perfection

I got this product as a sample after purchasing 2 different types of powders. I returned the powders & bought this! I probably could've waited a while because I'm still using the sample & have plenty left. A little goes a long way. I have very oily skin, some sun spots on my cheeks & acne marks. This product covers everything without looking like I'm wearing anything on my face. It doesn't help too much with the oiliness but I didn't expect it too. My skin is very oily & really nothing helps that. I just put on a little bit at a time and it blends, is so moisturizing and creates an almost flawless & fresh look. It's very light and feels more like I'm putting on a moisturizer. Only 2 cons: #1 - It settles in the small lines around my mouth (smile & laugh lines). But I just smudge a little when checking in the mirror & it's fine. #2 - No SPF...I wish it had some SPF in it.
Other than those very minor details, I love this product. I have never worn any type of liquid or cream makeup on my face so I'm always hesitant. I've sampled many products but have always gone back to the powders. I can't imagine not using this stuff! It's fabulous! Clinique is my go to brand for makeup and this product is just another reason why for me!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Jen E.
Location: Texas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 Next >>>