Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(409 Reviews) 395
82%336of 409reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Byrebeccajennie
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my favorite

April 17, 2014
"This is the only foundation I use. It makes my skin look flawless and does not irritate my sensitive skin. I often forget I am even wearing it."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByLENAJULY
Location: THORNTON CO
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!! Luv My Clinique!

April 12, 2014
"Never makes my skin break out..that's always a plus!!."
Pros: don't irritate my skin., works for my skintone
Cons: i still have to powder my face thru
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByLysa
Location: New York
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

From powder to liquid

April 6, 2014
"I use to wear powder foundation but it made my skin look extra dry. I got a sample of this foundation and it gives me the powder finish i love but my skin looks great. I can't give it 5 stars because i have only been using this product a week and I'm still waiting to see long term effects."
Pros: full coverage, great finish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByKKandy
Location: Idaho
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

April 1, 2014
"Does what it says it will."
Pros: great black circle coverage for corners of the eye
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bysue777
Location: Ohio
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm hooked!

March 31, 2014
"This makeup is utterly the best makeup EVER! I am early 40's, moderately fair skin, with a very oily T-zone. I received a free trial of this make up with an order. I thought I would try it out and WOW! it was awesome. I have tried everything, including powder form makeup. Nothing worked. I had to touch up all the time and my face looked "cakey" at the end of the day or the make up would just slide and separate making me look blotchy and would settle into my wrinkles. This makeup performs wonderfully! No oil slicks, stays in place, does not settle, and lasts a long time. I can go out after work, well into the evening and my make up still looks great! I really am amazed and I won't ever use anything else. My mom even asked what I wore and now she's wearing it too! I am moderately fair and I use Neutral, a perfect color for my skin. This is great stuff! THANK YOU, CLINIQUE!"
Pros: stays in place, doesn't settle into wrinkles, no oil slicks, lasts a long time with no touch ups, very comfortable to wear
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByJennyLynn7
Location: FL
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best purchase for liquid like foundation

March 26, 2014
"I love this products! Lightweight, smooth,and blends easy. I'm not a liquid foundation person but this is awesome with a dries to a powder like coverage. It's not a full coverage more on the light to medium. I have mix to colors to get my color though."
Pros: lightweight, smooth, blend easy
Cons: color selection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByCiao
Location: Washington State
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Please bring back Stay True foundation!!!

March 25, 2014
"I gave this foundation a good try, but it makes me break out so bad and it is oily and doesn't stay on. This foundation is not for sensitive skin! I do not live in a humid area. Our area is dry and this foundation still doesn't stay on without repeated application during the day. I loved your Stay True foundation so much that I had used it for over 28 years. It was the only foundation that did not make my sensitive skin oily and make it break out. You really had an awesome foundation in the Stay True line! I sure wish that you would bring it back.......and please give us a few more color options than you had before. Stay True never made me break out and it was one of the only foundations on the market that didn't have SPF! It is so hard to find a foundation without SPF! I have also tried your other Clinique foundations and they make me break out, so it looks like I will no longer be a Clinique customer........but not by choice!"
Cons: becomes oily very quickly and doesn't stay on., makes my sensitive skin break out.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMel1017
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great make-up for Oily Skin

March 12, 2014
"I'm very pleased with this product. It has a nice matte finish and stays nice throughout the day. Clinique, please don't discontinue this product!"
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bycassey
Location: new york
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this

February 15, 2014
"received a sample with another order. I liked the coverage it gives me. very happy with this and will continue using"
Pros: great coverage
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByAgeAppropriate
Location: Ethel, MS
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good even coverage

February 12, 2014
"This product gives good even coverage as long as you put it on with a sponge. I love the fact that it is not heavy and I don't have to apply powder over it."
Pros: not in a glass bottle
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByTarheelsrule
Location: Raleigh,NC
Age: not 18 yet
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

February 8, 2014
"I have recently started using Stay-Matte oil-free foundation for Clinique and have loved it. It has been the most greatest invention in my book. I would definitely recommend this to ANYONE at all. Thank you Clinique!"
Pros: perfect for my skin!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bykarnold27
Location: ohio
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best foundation ever

February 8, 2014
"I've always struggled to find a foundation that has great coverage that doesnt look cakey, and that stays on all day until I found stay matte. I have been using it for over a year now and I still love it as much as day one. I have combination skin with an uneven skin tone and I always get compliments on how smooth and flawless my skin looks. Please dont ever discontinue this clinique!"
Pros: stays on all day, great coverage without looking cakey, stays matte all day
Cons: none
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMaximus0901
Location: Euless, Tx
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Always Love Clinique!

February 1, 2014
"I have used Clinique since I was 13 years old or so. I have never found better products for my skin. I always receive exactly what I ordered and enjoy the bonuses. It always arrives promptly by mail. I can no longer go to mall due to health concerns, so I use mail order/online. Thank You Forever!"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bysilentnomore
Location: So. Illinois
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light coverage and GREAT skin matching!!

January 31, 2014
"This is one of two foundations that I would recommend that Clinique offers. It took (3) tries for me to get the correct skin matching color. Keep in mind, my skin is not perfect but, I didn't want a heavy feeling on my face nor one that made my aging more obvious. I am truly a fairly medium with pink undertones. Medium is too dark & fair is too light. I started out with Neutral then went to a fair shade - neither matched. Then chose the 07 Chamois and it was exact. We all have our own technique for applying foundation. This is what works for me, and I hope it may help someone who is contemplating this foundation and wondering how to apply it smoothly. I dab a dime size of this foundation on front side of my hand, then using a foundation brush, I dab into the foundation, and then, YEP, I make dots with the brush - starting at my forehead, blending in and continuing. It is a light coverage but not to an extent that there is no coverage at all. I like the look and feel of this foundation. After it is applied, and has set for a minute, I brush my face with powder and continue my regimen. Many times, when I have been reading thru dozens of reviews, I have really wanted more information from the reviewer. I have been alternating this foundation for over a year now, so please know this review isn't from initially buying and then giving the WOW I love it review. It has been tried and tested personally and I use it in all seasons. I really like this foundation and if you are looking for a matte - hope you'll like this one as much as I do."
Pros: smooth application, doesn't settle into lines, doesn't make pores stand out, good color selection, great for any age, isn't thick to apply
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Byrountree
Location: Ocilla, GA
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Makeup

January 24, 2014
"This is the best makeup I have ever found that does not break my face out and I still get some coverage."
Pros: no oil
Cons: drying
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bytrl22
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Irritated my Sensitive Skin

January 15, 2014
"I bought this when my skin changed during pregnancy - my skin had become oily and my regular makeup (Perfectly Real) wasn't wearing very well. A consultant recommended this product and, while it seemed ok at first, it quickly became apparent that this formula was not right for my sensitive skin. While my skin had been oily, I started to break out rather severely in addition to continuing to battle oily skin. If I got the product in my eye, it burnt. In addition, I thought the coverage and color were a little off - it never looked natural like Perfectly Real. Once I discontinued use of Stay Matte, my skin went back to normal (or normal for my pregnancy). I would strongly discourage anyone with sensitive skin from using this product."
Cons: irritated my sensitive skin, color and coverage did not look natural
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByTokkibap61
Location: CA
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best foundation ever!

January 8, 2014
"This is the only foundation that I ever use now. The shade is nearly perfect, has really good coverage, not cakey, and really is matte. Little goes a long way :)"
Pros: matte, long lasting, many shades, breathable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByGourmetontherun
Location: Central Coast of Calif
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this makeup!

January 1, 2014
"I received a sample of this makeup recently with an order. I love the feel of it, and it does stay matte. I highly recommend it!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMalikusha
Location: NY
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good work for oily skin

December 20, 2013
"Cream has very nice texture, applies easily and really! works well on my combo skin - it stays matte up to the evening. I should try it in summer season, hope it won't be unsatisfying. I would just add some more coverage to this cream."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByVickie1955
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible

December 18, 2013
"Bring back Stay True. The color selection is horrible. Turned orangey on me after several hours. Felt like I put on a heavy blanket of makeup. Went back to using Even Better. Even Better has a better selection of shades. I realized I was using the wrong combination of cleansers for my skin. That is why I thought at first Even Better wasn't good. Well you live and learn. I will never change again. Since they don't have Stay True anymore I will stick with Even Better."
Pros: none
Cons: everything
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next