Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.144 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(486 Reviews) 470
83%405 of 486would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Rina
Location: New Jersey, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:March 27, 2015

Great Product!

I put this on under pressed powder for a beautiful full makeup look or use it by itself when I'm in a hurry. It looks very nice on and it's very comfortable to wear. It doesn't leave my skin shiny and it doesn't dry it out either. Greta Great product!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Rina
Location: New Jersey, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Phally
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:March 14, 2015

Look no more. Pure Perfection.

I have been on a search for the perfect foundation, from BB creams, powders, liquids, and creams. My skin tone is so hard to accommodate; let's admit it, it's HARD to find a perfect shade with just one bottle (we usually have to mix 2 shades to get our perfect shade - but who has time for that!?# Clinique did an amazing job to understand that people don't have the "perfect" skin, and gave an excellent variety/diverse of shades.
I went to a Macy's and spoke with a Clinique consultant that applied a few different shades on me to find the perfect shade for my skin tone. I brought in my previous bottle of foundation that I was using #to compare# and she asked "Do you want to match to your foundation or skin tone?" I said skin tone, and was SOOO amazed by the difference! I had NOT realized how orange my old foundation made me look until I saw the side by side difference. This foundation blends into my skin so well that when I apply it, I sometimes forget where I even applied. It really does control oil, I went out around 8pm for dinner & a movie, slept through it #OOPS!# and woke up to my makeup still in tact and flawless! I had oily spots in my T-ZONE here and there, but I can't complain, it held up so well- I just took some oil-blotting paper and blotted my face and BOOM! I was refreshed again. I HIGHLY recommend this product! The price is affordable #compared to other foundations I've purchased# at phenomenal quality. I registered JUST so I can write a review. OH, and FYI also purchase the Airbrush Concealer, it works wonders #perfect pair and it has a brush - awesome#. The consultant was so helpful, I gave her gratuity and she refused insisting "it's [my] job, but [I] appreciate the offer". Excellent customer service!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Phally
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
JoJo
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(486)
Date:March 11, 2015

Good but miss Stay True

I loved Stay True but it is discontinued. This foundation is good for the price and I will probably stick with it because all drug stores foundations to me are too watery and all other dept. store counters besides Clinique are too expensive.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
JoJo
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
sugarkrush
Location: North Carolina, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(486)
Date:March 9, 2015
I'm very upset with this product. I am a redhead, and I have very fair skin that is tinted pink. The 01 Linen was too yellow for my skin tone, but the 02 alabaster, that I bought, is too dark for my skin. I don't know what to do now since I have a tube of this makeup that I can't use without looking caked trying to look darker.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
sugarkrush
Location: North Carolina, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ssap
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(486)
Date:March 2, 2015

Not Beneficial For Me

I started using this product in September 2014 and I found that it was indeed matte, and kept a really great texture on my skin all day long, but I found that it didn't really cover my acne very well. I have to really layer it in order to hide my break outs. For people with no acne, I definitely recommend.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
ssap
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Rachel
Location: houston
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:February 19, 2015

amazing Foundation

I love this foundation. It's full coverage atleast to me. I don't use it on daily basis but wear it whenever I am going out for some occasion (which comes atleast twice a week ). Few months back I got this in different shade which didn't mach my skin tone at all so I was disappointed but few days ago I got the exact match for my skin tone and wow ... It looks so beautiful. I have no words. It's the best foundation I have ever used.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Rachel
Location: houston
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Maricela
Location: houston, tx
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(486)
Date:February 14, 2015

BEST FOUNDATION

I choose to use clinique because the foundation i had been using well, i just felt it wasn't giving me amount of coverage i needed. So since i knew some of my friends used clinique i desided to give it a try! And so i have been using the STAY MATTE OIL-FREE FOUNDATION and i actually think its the best best foundation i could had ever chosen! Just to say that i have fell in love with this foundation! If you have oilly skin i would so recommend this foundation to you.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Maricela
Location: houston, tx
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
50 something
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:February 7, 2015

In love

I love this foundation. It goes on so smoothly with a kabuki foundation brush and leaves an overall nice, slightly satin finish. It looks flawless. It's not a complete coverage foundation; you can still see your skin underneath which is a good thing, but it can be built up for more coverage in certain areas. To set the foundation, I put a very light dusting of Cliniques Blended loose powder. My large pores look minimized because of the matte finish. Just beautiful.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
50 something
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Lauraeliza
Location: Lakewood, CO, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(486)
Date:February 6, 2015

Somthing just isn't right about it

I have been using this makeup for a few months, and I really don't care for it. The coverage is great, but almost too thick and it never seems to blend right. Like another reviewer, I live in a dry climate and it seems to make my face dry and flaky in areas. This is coming from a person with super oily skin. Perhaps, I thought I wanted a matte finish, and I really don't. I love clinique but this one just isn't for me.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Lauraeliza
Location: Lakewood, CO, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
GlamourGirl
Location: Marysville, PA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:January 10, 2015

THE BEST!

This is the best foundation Clinique has ever made! I've been using Clinique for almost 20 years, and have tried all of their foundations for my skin type. I am in LOVE with this foundation! This foundation has a beautiful smooth matte finish, and holds up wonderfully on my oily skin throughout the day. I get a solid medium coverage with this foundation, which I love, not too sheer and not too heavy. I have tried hundreds of foundations (literally), and can safely say this is one of my top 3 favorites ever! I highly recommend this!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
GlamourGirl
Location: Marysville, PA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Sherri
Location: Ga
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 27, 2014

PLEASE bring back Stay True foundation!!

I have been a Clinique customer for more than 20 years. I have been using Stay-Matte for over a year now, but ONLY because Clinique discontinued their Stay True foundation. The color match, for me, has never been the same and the coverage not even comparable. If I could ask Clinique to bring back ANY product, I would ask for STAY TRUE makeup foundation!!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Sherri
Location: Ga
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Small town chic
Location: Illinois
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 17, 2014

Amazing

I love the stay matte. after trying it I never bought a different foundation. I sweat and get hot easily, so I'm always worried about getting all shiny or my makeup sweating off but this stays even in the hottest conditions. I love it! I've even got some friends hooked on it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Small town chic
Location: Illinois
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Ella97
Location: Connecticut
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 15, 2014

Great look

I've heard of this product through youtube and decided to give it a try . It's so matte when it goes on your face it makes it look like you have no makeup on. My t zone gets oily later in the day but it's great for normal to oily skin It controls oil for quite a good amount of time. The color really blends well and it feel the tube will last me a good while. I don't even need to use a lot of this product on my face and I have acne scars . I use this when I'm in a rush and need to go out quickly it's super easy to put on and is nice and thin with great light to medium coverage . It does dry fast tho.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Ella97
Location: Connecticut
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
LRod292
Location: Kansas City
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 15, 2014

Perfect for my Skin

I just love Stay-Matte Oil Free Makeup... It makes me look like I have no makeup on and very kind to my sensitive skin which is a huge plus!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
LRod292
Location: Kansas City
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Mrswsandman604
Location: East Greenbush, NY, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 15, 2014

The Best Foundation Ever!

After years and years of taking care of my skin with Clinique to control wrinkles, age spots and line, I, unfortunately, developed Rosacea Acne. My dermatologist did not adjust any of my Clinique products (Rosacea Acne is not caused by skin care products) as she uses them, too! I am using a presciption lotion under my moisturizers and foundation to clear up the skin condition. The Stay Matte Oil Free base is perfect for my condition -- helps cover and even out my skin tone but is not cakey and pastey on my face. Highly recommend for anyone, not just the folks with Rosacea Acne. Awesome product!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Mrswsandman604
Location: East Greenbush, NY, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
bobbie
Location: New Jersey
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 12, 2014
i love this makeup! I wear it everyday- always over my youth surge moisturizer. I have 2 favorite shades honey and sand- they go on so smooth and stay on all day.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
bobbie
Location: New Jersey
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Enri
I'm: 18-21
skin type: 4 - Oily
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 11, 2014

More cons than pros.

The pro to this foundation is it will last you majority of the day, that is if you pair it with a good anti-shine primer and my if you have extremely sensitive skin like myself you will not break out while using this foundation. The cons are once you apply it there is no going back to adjusting this foundation or it will become patchy, it's more of a sheer to medium coverage and doesn't cover up redness or blemishes very well, and it rubs off on everything extremely easily even if I do set it quite well.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Enri
I'm: 18-21
skin type: 4 - Oily
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Charity
Location: Newton, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 11, 2014

The best foundation

I had this applied by my awesome Clinique consultant and fell in love with it. I was previously wearing Benefit and Bare Minerals. This is a light foundation that doesn't leave my skin feeling oily and last all day.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Charity
Location: Newton, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
alyssa94
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 11, 2014

Wonderful

This foundation lasts all day, especially on my oily skin. I've even slept in this makeup and it was still perfect. I love this!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
alyssa94
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Sher
Location: Spring Hill, FL, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(486)
Date:December 7, 2014

Dryer foundation!

I like this foundation because it's dryer foundation that controls the oil for hours. The foundation color is really flattering also. I use the color alabaster (other makeup brands I wore a light ivory) if you need to cross reference the right shade. My face still gets a little oily after a couple of hours. This is so far the best foundation I have tried that controls oil. My face usually starts getting oily after 30 minutes.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Sher
Location: Spring Hill, FL, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 Next >>>