Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Foundations or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.117 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(427 Reviews) 411
82%352 of 427would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Mollie
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(427)
Date:August 2, 2014

Great texture but not light enough!!

I loved the texture of this make up! It seemed like it would definitely keep me oil free but sadly linen was to dark for me and they don't make a lighter shade :( I am very, very fair skinned.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Mollie
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Ann
Location: Bridgeport, WV, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(427)
Date:July 2, 2014

Doesn't stay as matte as it claims

I purchased this after a consultation with a Clinique rep at a department store. I don't have super oily skin. Just the usual, combination, oily through the t-zone by lunch problem. This product does not do what it claims. It gets greasy. It feels heavy. It melts away. I look flushed and hot all day (whether I am or not). I am not pleased.
I did not receive a free trial of this product.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Ann
Location: Bridgeport, WV, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Newmomma
Location: Kentucky, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(427)
Date:June 28, 2014

Stay home mom loving this stay put make up!

I can never find anything that stays on through my dance work outs or through a jog with the stroller that wont rub off on my baby when I pick her up to change her. This stuff is my fix! It really helped and makes me feel great and pretty even on my worst days!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Newmomma
Location: Kentucky, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bosslady
Location: Pittsburgh
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:June 27, 2014

Stay Spice and Matte

I love this product. It has excellent coverage and stays matte all day. Makes me look flawless and it's my perfect match.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Bosslady
Location: Pittsburgh
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
pix
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:June 19, 2014

WOW! AMAZING!

Let me start off by saying this: I have had the worst acne ever these last few years. I started wearing make-up because it made me feel a little better about my physical appearance. I started using the Clinique even better dark spot corrector. I then tried the Clinique even better liquid foundation. I liked using the liquid foundation because it stayed on my skin without coming off on my shirts...and the shade matched my skin pretty good. I ran out of my third bottle and decided to browse the Clinique website. Long and behold, I read awesome reviews about the Stay-matte oil free makeup from people with oily, troublesome skin. For us people with pizza-like oily skin, this product is unbeatable. Yesterday it was around 90 degrees outside and my makeup didn't melt off my skin. Ever since I began using this product, my skin has been feeling fresh! I definitely recommend this product to those with extremely oily skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
pix
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Jen E.
Location: Texas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(427)
Date:June 16, 2014

Perfection

I got this product as a sample after purchasing 2 different types of powders. I returned the powders & bought this! I probably could've waited a while because I'm still using the sample & have plenty left. A little goes a long way. I have very oily skin, some sun spots on my cheeks & acne marks. This product covers everything without looking like I'm wearing anything on my face. It doesn't help too much with the oiliness but I didn't expect it too. My skin is very oily & really nothing helps that. I just put on a little bit at a time and it blends, is so moisturizing and creates an almost flawless & fresh look. It's very light and feels more like I'm putting on a moisturizer. Only 2 cons: #1 - It settles in the small lines around my mouth (smile & laugh lines). But I just smudge a little when checking in the mirror & it's fine. #2 - No SPF...I wish it had some SPF in it.
Other than those very minor details, I love this product. I have never worn any type of liquid or cream makeup on my face so I'm always hesitant. I've sampled many products but have always gone back to the powders. I can't imagine not using this stuff! It's fabulous! Clinique is my go to brand for makeup and this product is just another reason why for me!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Jen E.
Location: Texas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Lorie
Location: Bayonne, NJ
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(427)
Date:June 9, 2014

I REALLY wanted to love this foundation...

I thought I finally found a good one. I wanted something that would keep the oil under control. It seems to work well when it's not warm, humid and rainy like it is today. I tend to sweat a lot and by the time I got to work this morning, I had to blot the sweat and noticed that the foundation & powder was coming off on my forehead and upper lip. So, so disheartened. I thought the more expensive makeup would be much better than the drug store makeup. Sadly, I think this is going to wind up being returned. :( I REALLY wanted to love this foundation. I guess I need something more "sweat-proof". I would probably still recommend this foundation to someone who doesn't sweat so much.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Lorie
Location: Bayonne, NJ
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Chris17
Location: Perrysburg, OH
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 28, 2014

Best. Makeup. Ever.

I have tried so many different foundations over the years and have never found one that actually does what it says. I ordered this online and just guessed at the color (Ivory) which turned out to be exactly the right color for me. It goes on smooth and sheer, yet covers imperfections really well and evens out skin tone. It never looks or feels thick and "makeup-ey" at all - it always looks fresh, natural and doesn't rub or melt off. I tend to have some redness (mostly my cheeks) and this makeup takes that right away (I have also tried the Redness Solutions makeup and did not care for that). This is by far the BEST makeup ever and definitely worth the money!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: true to what it advertises, makes skin look natural and flawless, never feels heavy
Cons: none
Chris17
Location: Perrysburg, OH
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Inritka
Location: New Castle, De
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 26, 2014

Best

love this item. lung. the severity of the skin there. good matting effect it. advise friends will buy more
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Inritka
Location: New Castle, De
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Laaa
Location: Grand Prairie , TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 14, 2014

Great product

I was used to the stay true but when they discontinued it I started using even skin foundation. I like both even skin and this one. Stay matte stays put in very humid weather and a little goes a long way .
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: great coverage
Laaa
Location: Grand Prairie , TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
DEBBIE099
Location: SMYRNA,TN
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 13, 2014

Loved free gift

I wanted to try a new moisturizer and also needed to reorder my usual foundation from Clinique. So they had the 7 pc free gift which had a nice size jar of moisturizer for me to be able to try. This was a win,win
purchase for me. So far I am really liking this new
moisturizer and enjoying the other freebies as well!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
DEBBIE099
Location: SMYRNA,TN
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Frankgirl
Location: Franklin Ohio
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 11, 2014

I love the make up

I hate the ordering process. It used to be so easy to order on line. The last few times I have had to call in my order.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Frankgirl
Location: Franklin Ohio
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
happyflower
Location: NW Arkansas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 10, 2014

Excellent foundation!! Please sell forever!

I love this foundation! I have oily/combo skin that is very sensitive. I wear the shade Fair. I have very sensitive cheeks that are very picky about what goes on them. This foundation makes my face look flawless! It doesn't dry to a flat, mask-y matte look. I feel that it is more satin, and looks very natural all day! My skin stays smooth and clear, and I have never broken out with it- not even once. This one, along with your Perfectly Real liquid foundation, are my two all-time favorite foundations! Please never discontinue this one, as it is a keeper! Thank you, Clinique!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Pros: gentle easy on the skin smooth finish
happyflower
Location: NW Arkansas
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Roxy516
Location: Bronx, NY
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 8, 2014

Absolutely LOVE!

Great product! i have been through my share of foundations in quest to find that perfect one....and at last found it!!! I love how it goes on smooth and then dries up to a powder matte finish....all day lasting too! Doesn't get oily or rub off on my collared shirts. So sheer it is almost like not wearing anything at all. LOVE LOVE it!!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: no touch up necessary
Roxy516
Location: Bronx, NY
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Kariesm
Location: Fort Worth, TX
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(427)
Date:May 2, 2014

Not too shabby...

I seem to be pretty dry in the morning and then oily by the afternoon. It definitely stays matte on majority of my face but my forehead shines like a star! And it seems to rub off on my clothes which can be a bit annoying.
No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Kariesm
Location: Fort Worth, TX
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
marie2203
Location: Edwardsville, IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:April 25, 2014

The right product

I always had oily skin until now in my late 40's I have oily combination skin. This product evens out my skin tone and keeps my skin from becoming shiny throughout the day. It applies smoothly and seems to go a long way. This stay matte oil free makeup is perfect for my skin. It gives me a fresh and natural look. I love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
marie2203
Location: Edwardsville, IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
rebeccajennie
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(427)
Date:April 17, 2014

my favorite

This is the only foundation I use. It makes my skin look flawless and does not irritate my sensitive skin. I often forget I am even wearing it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
rebeccajennie
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
LENAJULY
Location: THORNTON CO
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:April 12, 2014

Amazing!! Luv My Clinique!

Never makes my skin break out..that's always a plus!!.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: don't irritate my skin., works for my skintone
Cons: i still have to powder my face thru
LENAJULY
Location: THORNTON CO
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Lysa
Location: New York
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(427)
Date:April 6, 2014

From powder to liquid

I use to wear powder foundation but it made my skin look extra dry. I got a sample of this foundation and it gives me the powder finish i love but my skin looks great. I can't give it 5 stars because i have only been using this product a week and I'm still waiting to see long term effects.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Pros: full coverage, great finish
Lysa
Location: New York
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
KKandy
Location: Idaho
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(427)
Date:April 1, 2014

Great Product

Does what it says it will.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: great black circle coverage for corners of the eye
KKandy
Location: Idaho
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 Next >>>