Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Foundations or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(567 Reviews) 548
84%477 of 567would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Armenia
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:April 29, 2016

Perfect foundation

I really love this foundation. My color is 9-Neutral, and it is very natural color and is very similar to what is there in the picture.
I love the texture of this foundation, it applies very well on the skin and provides very natural look, at the same time is able to cover most of the imperfections of the skin.
I already bought the second one, and will keep using it later as well.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Armenia
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Florida
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:April 7, 2016

Great foundation for combination skin

This foundation is perfect for just refining a normal skin.It feels smootd and covers good .I would recommend it for light coverage or a daytime makeup.For me the best foundation.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Florida
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Orlando Florida
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(567)
Date:March 29, 2016

Florida weather tested

I live in the heat of Florida were most don't bother to wear makeup. When I started my trial Orlando was in rain season mid 80s with damp humid temps and lots of rain. I have bad oily skin do I went with this matte. It worked well I had the shiny fave by 11 but the makeup didn't breakup I just looked naturally hot I give it for stars because they advertised it absorbs oil. But I think it handles well in heat.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Orlando Florida
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: San Francisco
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(567)
Date:March 28, 2016

Doesn't last all day.

I got a sample and I also bought the foundation. It dries really fast which I didn't like. It also didn't last all day. I have extremely oily skin around my forehead and nose and 2hours later I had a greasy face. I also have huge pores, maybe I should try your pore refining foundation .
No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: San Francisco
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Cary, NC
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:March 20, 2016

Beautiful foundation

Since a recent trip got me a few shades darker, I needed a new foundation and decided to try this one out. I'm so glad I did! It applied smoothly and beautifully with a pointed foundation brush, and my concealer and stay matte sheer pressed powder sat beautifully on top of it. It lasted all day through work and looked just as fresh as it did this morning. Super happy with it!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Cary, NC
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(567)
Date:March 6, 2016

Great, Matte Option for Oily Skin

I struggled with finding a matte foundation for years since I have oily skin, but this foundation and the previous (not current) liquid eyeliner were the reason I switched to Clinique despite working for a competitor. This foundation goes on smoothly and blends well before drying. The matte look on my oily skin can last for 6 hours before needing to blot or touch-up, which is a record against other products. Further, I don't experience any break-outs while using this product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Central square, NY
I'm22-30
GenderMale
skin concernRedness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:January 30, 2016

A live saver

I been using Clinique for about a year now and this was one of my first foundations that I tried. It does exactly what it says it does. It dries quickly and has a natural matte finish. I found that over time I don't even have to use any powder because it absorbs all the oil from the skin and keeps put all day. I also use the acne powder solutions makeup on top of it and that gives a seamless effect on the skin.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Central square, NY
I'm22-30
GenderMale
skin concernRedness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:January 26, 2016
Amazing foundation! I received so many compliments the first day I wore it. Friends and family asked what I was doing different! Last all day and color stays true. Looks great in photos and in person. I use some of the stay matte powder to help set the foundation. I can't say enough good things about this product... Or any other clinique product for that matter.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
I'm22-30
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(567)
Date:January 25, 2016

Turns me orange

I have super oily and very fair skin. My mom swears by Clinique so I figured I'd give their foundation a try. I was matched with the alabaster shade which looked great in the store. Hours late I turned into an orange Oompa Loompa! I know I'm pale but I look faked tanned. I thought it might be from my oily skin but it even happened on my hand. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because I did stay fairly matte.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
I'm22-30
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:January 7, 2016

Finally matte

I have very oily skin and finally my face is matte. I have tried many products and this is the only one that I have found that works, does what it says it does.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Salem, OR, USA
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:December 20, 2015

Oil Absorbing Foundation

I have had this foundation on for 9 hours now and haven't had to blot or powder my face at all. My skin is extremely oily and normally I'm powdering and blotting every 2 hours or more. This is a fabulous product!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Salem, OR, USA
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Moore, OK
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(567)
Date:December 20, 2015

Awful

I have combination oily skin (type 3) and was excited to try something new that would "help" with oil control and that was said to be quick and easy for morning routines (perfect for college kids!). It was the worst foundation I have ever used. It is very pasty and halfway through the day when my skin starts to really become shiny, the foundation broke out in visible lines on parts of my face and would resemble flakey, dry skin patches in other parts of my face (typically forehead). Being active in college, there were days when people would ask me what was wrong with my makeup! It was also hard for me to blend in the mornings and did not make for an easy makeup routine. Over all, I will not ever buy this again.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Moore, OK
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
I'm18-21
skin type3 - Combination Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 18, 2015
I have fair skin complexion and combination skin but most of the time it is oily. I have never found a foundation to help control the oil until I got this product. This product is so amazing! I have never found a foundation my skin color until this foundation, and it feels lightweight on my face, I only need a little bit to spread on my whole face and it doesn't make my face shine, this is a wonderful product! Bottom line: buy this product!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
I'm18-21
skin type3 - Combination Oily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Northeast
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 14, 2015

Where have you been all my life?

Great foundation for oily skin. Still need a touch up or two of powder during the day, but amazing. And thrilled to find a color that matches my very fair skin. Only wish it had SPF already in it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Northeast
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Texas, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 13, 2015

LOVE THIS!

I always leave this product thinking there is something better out there (I have makeup ADD!) and I ALWAYS go back to this product! True to its name my skin always looks so much better with this and clinique loose powder over it. My skin stays matte all day long where otherwise without it, I am an oil slick by noon. I feel so much prettier and better about myself when I use it. I won't stray any more! my pores clog easily with other products but NOT with this!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Texas, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Florida
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 12, 2015

Best foundation

This is my second time purchasing the foundation. I love how light it goes on- I live in Florida and a heavy foundation would melt off. My skin is fair and does not break out too much, so this is a perfect layer to touch up imperfections.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Florida
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: North Carolina
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 6, 2015

Coverage

It combats my Oily Skin but I wish it was a bigger bottle and Medium to Full Coverage! I was Matched to Clove 28 I guess I that's my summer shade!! I'm Amber 26 Now!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: North Carolina
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Fayetteville, AR
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(567)
Date:November 4, 2015

One of the Best Oil Controlling Foundations

This foundation does what it says - it controls oil better than practically anything I've tried in its price range, and I have tried just about everything at this point. My t-zone is an oil slick by lunch without this, even with primer. I highly recommend using it in combination with the pore refining matte moisturizer underneath your primer - that will double its power, while not drying out your face. The only reason I didn't give this five stars is the color choices. All the lighter ones seem to have a strong pink undertone. I've ordered three different colors, and I'm still not convinced I have the right one. Go to the counter to buy this, but buy it - it WORKS!!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Fayetteville, AR
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Amarillo, TX, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(567)
Date:October 28, 2015

Stay Matte... I think not

After hearing such great reviews about this foundation I decided to try it for myself. I usually am a powder foundation lover and prefer a light to medium coverage. As per the foundation claims, "Tested for streaking and fading at 88°F with a constant 80% humidity, all to prove Stay-Matte stays fresh. At the same time, this patent-pending formula absorbs shine, controls oil, resists sweat. And you stay matte all day." However, I found this to be completely untrue. I have combination oily skin with my T-zone being where my oil surfaces. When wearing this foundation I stayed matte for all of 2 hours at the most before my T-zone looked like an oil slick, and I even set my foundation with an translucent finishing powder. By the end of my 8 hour work shift I looked greasy like I had been out in the sun all day when I work in a very cold office. I unfortunately have to keep this foundation because I lost my receipt. But, if Clinique were to make a powder foundation shade in my skin tone I would consider purchasing it. As for the "Stay Matte Foundation" I will not be repurchasing ever again.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Amarillo, TX, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(567)
Date:October 24, 2015

Absolutely Love

I have extremely oily skin, and had just moved to the state of Florida when I decided to try this product. I spoke with a consultant at the Clinique counter who recommended a shade for me and applied for me in store. This is honestly the first foundation i have found where i don't have to blot 5 times a day. With the drugstore foundations i had purchased in the past, i would be happy with the coverage but would be blotting by 10am every day. This product gives smooth flawless coverage and keeps me matte throughout my work day and into the evening. i am about 75% through with my first tube and will be repurchasing once finished! Thanks Clinique!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 Next >>>