Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(409 Reviews) 395
82%336of 409reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByJenna4000
Location: South Dakota
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprised

December 25, 2012
"Been using this for about a week now and I'm loving it. Super lightweight feeling and also has great coverage. It's very easy to apply and blend (so far I've only tried using my fingers), and I haven't had any problems with streaking. I can actually put it on some parts of my face and not others because it blends so easily and has such a great "natural" looking finish. It says it's "super matte," but it's really just a very natural, soft finish. It doesn't look dry or caky in the least, and if you want a super matte look all it needs is some finishing powder in the T-zone. Wearing it all day in about medium humidity with a finishing powder, it holds up quite well and does a superb job of minimizing shine. It doesn't eliminate shine completely throughout the day (I've never seen a foundation that actually did that), but while wearing it my face looks and feels less oily than it does bare skinned or with any other foundation I've tried (including SuperFit). To me, that is monumental. My skin actually feels BETTER with this foundation on. I have large pores in my T-zone, and it smooths right over them, giving a very soft finish. Almost like airbrushing. The only thing I don't like about this foundation is that it smells like paint when you first open the bottle, which is kind of odd. I have very sensitive skin and eyes, though, and haven't had any problems with it so far. I used to use SuperFit, and this is similar, except SuperFit came out as a total liquid, while this will actually squeeze out into a little mound on your hand. I prefer the texture of this new foundation better. The SuperFit also turned somewhat orange after it dried, and this doesn't do that. I can't say enough good things about this foundation. I'm very impressed and in the past have only felt "ok" about my foundation. I very enthusiastically like this one!"
Pros: goes on smooth, easy to blend, feels lightweight, reduces oiliness, stays on for the whole day, minimizes pores, nice finish
Cons: smells like paint, not many shades
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByEbaut
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent foundation

September 29, 2012
"I have extremely oily, acne prone skin and decided to give this new foundation a try.
General characteristics of the foundation:
-Very lightweight
-Medium coverage
-Runny
Considering it is a foundation for oilier skins, it obviously makes sense it is light weight, provides medium coverage, and is a bit runny, in comparison to other general Clinique foundations, like Perfectly Real.
I bought it in shade 06 Ivory.
First thing, I recommend applying this foundation with a foundation brush. Since it is runny, applying it with your fingers allows more streaks and less of the flawless, matte look. I use my Clinique foundation brush to apply this, and it works perfectly.
Alone, the foundation is overall a matte finish. Again, my skin is extremely oily all over, so within 30 minutes, a shine begins to form, but I use finishing powder over my foundation to help combat the shine.
The coverage is definitely sheer to medium. It does well in covering redness from blemishes, but I've used other Clinique foundations that have provided better coverage for acne prone skin.
The foundation is lightweight and comfortable throughout the day; I usually wear it for up to 12-14 hours a day. I do blot throughout the day but I find that the foundation is long lasting even then.
I wouldn't necessarily repurchase this foundation, but I wouldn't not repurchase it. Perfectly Real foundation does a similar job but it is less runny and provides more coverage.
Overall, Stay-Matte is comfortable for oily, acne prone skin. It provides decent coverage without looking like I completely caked it on, and it lasts well throughout the day, even with occasional blotting."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMehAnne
Location: Riverside, CA
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Matte Finish and Great Staying Power

October 14, 2012
"Stay Matte Oil-Free Liquid Foundation is easy to apply, sets quickly to a matte finish, and is comfortable to wear throughout the day. Clinique claims that this foundation was tested in 88°F/80% humidity conditions and while the weather conditions where I live exceed that (95°F–105°F in the summer), this foundation—without a matte setting powder—fares better than other foundations and BB creams by the end of the day. The coverage is medium but because this has a matte finish and dries quickly, it's easily buildable to full coverage, which is great because I don't have to reach for a separate concealer to cover things like dark under-eye circles, acne scars, and other dark spots.
In my current residency's slightly hotter climates, however, this foundation could not control shine all day on its own as I had hoped. By itself, it controlled shine for about 5–6 hours before I had to blot. With a matte setting powder over it, I had a more significantly impressive shine control time at around 8–10 hours. Those in cooler climates are likely to have longer shine control time.
Despite varying lengths of shine control wear time, the staying power of this foundation's pigment is true to its all-day claim. I have not noticed oxidation or fading by the end of the day. While I tested this foundation in climates hotter than Clinique had tested, this foundation is probably an excellent choice for those in the tested 88°F-climate range or cooler, with combo-oily or oily skin. I also recommend that it be set with a matte powder for extra insurance especially in humid weather."
Pros: matte finish, long-lasting, easy to apply, controls shine, buildable coverage, fairly priced
Cons: limited shine control wear time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMichasia
Location: Broadalbin, N.Y.
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great foundation!

April 29, 2012
"I put this foundation on 5p.m. the day I got it and I only felt this foundation on my forehead for a few minutes when it got oily around 10:30p.m and I'm a type 4 very oily skin. When I don't wear foundation but, only the acne control products, moisture serge, repairwear laser focus and City Block sheer spf25 on my face I blot my face with blotting papers to control oil where I need it, at least twice a day. So with this foundation on top of all the skin care products I use it controls oil way much better than without it! This foundation feels natural. All other foundations over the years I can feel on my face, so I stopped wearing foundation for the most part about 18 years ago. The color 'Neutral' is perfect for me, which was recommended for me by Customer Service. I told her the wrong information by mistake except for that my skin is moderately fair and before I was done praying to Jesus that she picks out the right color, She picked out the color that turned out to be the right color. The color blends right in with my moderately fair skin tone. It has no red or yellow undertones in it. My skin tone is like a very light tan. When I saw this foundation I new it is perfect for me (it controls oil, covers imperfections like broken red blood vessels around my nose even after I blow my nose twice!, and it covers acne except for the big one on my cheek that I picked. I had to cover the big popped zit with 'Advanced Concealer' light and medium colors mixed together (it's matte too!) cause, the popped zit on my cheek was red. I love this foundation!!!"
Pros: covers most acne and broken red blood vessels, controls oil awesomely, can't feel it on my face usually
Cons: none
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bysilentnomore
Location: So. Illinois
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light coverage and GREAT skin matching!!

January 31, 2014
"This is one of two foundations that I would recommend that Clinique offers. It took (3) tries for me to get the correct skin matching color. Keep in mind, my skin is not perfect but, I didn't want a heavy feeling on my face nor one that made my aging more obvious. I am truly a fairly medium with pink undertones. Medium is too dark & fair is too light. I started out with Neutral then went to a fair shade - neither matched. Then chose the 07 Chamois and it was exact. We all have our own technique for applying foundation. This is what works for me, and I hope it may help someone who is contemplating this foundation and wondering how to apply it smoothly. I dab a dime size of this foundation on front side of my hand, then using a foundation brush, I dab into the foundation, and then, YEP, I make dots with the brush - starting at my forehead, blending in and continuing. It is a light coverage but not to an extent that there is no coverage at all. I like the look and feel of this foundation. After it is applied, and has set for a minute, I brush my face with powder and continue my regimen. Many times, when I have been reading thru dozens of reviews, I have really wanted more information from the reviewer. I have been alternating this foundation for over a year now, so please know this review isn't from initially buying and then giving the WOW I love it review. It has been tried and tested personally and I use it in all seasons. I really like this foundation and if you are looking for a matte - hope you'll like this one as much as I do."
Pros: smooth application, doesn't settle into lines, doesn't make pores stand out, good color selection, great for any age, isn't thick to apply
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByRosacea75
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed feelings

February 28, 2013
"I was devastated when Stay Tru was removed from your line. Initially this Stay Matte Oil -free makeup was a disappointment as it did not contain SPF coverage of which I totally relied on Stay Tru to protect me. So the first thing the store clerk did was sell me Even Better to use under the new line of makeup which had SPF of which with 2 uses, my Rosacea (which has been under control for years) BLOOMED bright red! So that was money down the drain.
The Stay-matte oil-free make up where she had squirted a large amount and used a q-tip to apply freaked me as not sure it would work out but with not any choice I bought a shade lighter than recommended color choice. At home I started to apply and it did not apply easily and I was afraid it was too thick. In my final results I realized I needed to use a VERY small amount and apply in sections of my face, which at first I had to rub HARD on my face which is supposed to be a NO NO in applications to face... but as I have used it, my skin accepts it better. It seemed at first to be pancaked on until I figured out how to make it light and it is not oily but has a silky smooth feel I really like. It stays all day, but I must use my powder to finish it off and set my blush, and really to be sure the color is correct for me.
So still upset there is no SPF and it is in a colored tube which I cannot figure out how much I have left. But like the makeup's smoothness.
"
Cons: the no spf
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByJennaJJ
Location: Florida
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

PLEASE Bring Back Stay True!!!

April 1, 2013
"This is the first time I've ever written a product review for anything. But I'm really hoping Clinique will read this and maybe it will inspire other Stay True fans to chime in as well. I wish I could start a petition to save Stay True Foundation. When I learned Stay True was discontinued I tried to keep an open mind and per Clinique's recommendation I replace my Stay True (Stay Beige) with Stay Matt (Honey). If I could give Stay Matt zero stars I would ... here is why:
1. Coverage
2. Color
3. Sets into fine lines and makes them pronounced (even with line smoothing concealer underneath).
4. Clinique lipstick no longer lasts as long. I used to go a whole day without reapplying when Stay True foundation was used as a base under lipstick.
5. Quick liner no longer lasts for an entire day. Smudges and looks horrible by end of day. Never used to happen with Stay True foundation underneath.
6. Blemishes and sun spots show through. Never used to happen with Stay True foundation. I even tried to put super double face powder over them!!!
7. Packaging - Stay True was in a nice glass bottle, Stay Matte is in a cheap plastic tube.
I've also tried the Even Better foundation and the results weren't any better. If anyone out there has found something comparable please share. And Clinique if you are listening ... please bring back Stay True!!!"
Cons: everything
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMakeuplover43
Location: Houston, TX
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this foundation

May 2, 2012
"This product is fantastic. I previously used Clinique Even Better, which was great, but I would normally be shiney by the time I was done applying all of my makeup before going to work. I ordered this online a few days ago along with the Stay-Matte Sheer Pressed Powder. The two work great together to keep the shine under control.
The first time I used the foundation I only had on a Clinique moisturizer (Acne solutions) and had virtually no shine all day, except for a little around my nose.
The second time I applied it over Clinique City Block Sheer, which is an oil-free daily protector SPF 25 (also had acne solutions moisturizer on). Still great oil control but a little more shiney than day 1.
Today I applied it over another brand of oil free moisturizer with SPF (not Clinique) and have the same effect as with the Clinique City Block Sheer.
Bottom line - this is a fantastic product that controls my oily skin and keeps it looking fresh. I do have to touch up some spots with the stay-matte powder but not nearly as often as with the Even Better foundation.
It's already hitting the high 80s in Houston and this product is holding up extremely well.
I was very skeptical before using this product and figured I would have to send it back and swap it out for Even Better but I'm happy to say that this one is a keeper."
Pros: excellent oil control, color translates well from even better foundation, goes on smoothly, feels light on my skin, looks natural
Cons: no built in spf
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Byyellorose
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

PLEASE BRING BACK STAY TRUE!!!!!!!

April 29, 2013
"I was so heart broken when Clinique discontinued the Stay True foundation. I have been using Stay True for 25 years and it was the absolute perfect foundation all around. It had perfect coverage, a beautiful matte finish, the color Stay Ivory matched my skin tone perfectly and it made me look like I had perfect skin when in actuality I have very oily, acne prone skin and acne scars. I tried to keep an open mind and went to my Clinique counter to try the new Stay Matte, hopeful that it would be a new and improved version of the Stay True, but was sadly disappointed upon trying the Stay Matte and feel that it is definitely a huge downgrade from the Stay True foundation. The palest color that I tried looked very yellowy on my pale pink skin. I do not like the coverage, the finish, or the color selection at all. I hate the thickness of it and how it makes every little flaw show up on my face. It even made my usually oily skin look dry and patchy and accentuated every fine line and acne scar. There is not a color in any of the new foundations that is for people with pale skin with pink undertones. They must think that all pale people have yellow undertones. Clinique, either bring back the Stay True or come up with an adequate replacement for it or you will be losing a loyal customer."
Cons: color selection, thickness, mask like appearance, accentuates flaws
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
BySurry
Location: Indiana
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Foundation I have EVER used!

July 7, 2012
"After running out of my Clinique - Almost Powder Makeup and my local Clinique counter not having any, I needed SOME type of foundation.
I loved how fast, easy and beautifully the Almost Powder Makeup went on and was hesitant to try anything else.
Ashton, at the Clinique counter, suggested the Stay-Matte Oil Free Makeup (Liquid Foundation) due to a previous discussion we had about my career being in outside sales. Being that this is a liquid foundation, it made me even more hesitant.
Ashton, showed me a few more foundation options and we decided to take them for a spin. The coverage, yet sheerness and almost airbrushed like effect that the Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup provided clearly stated, "I'm the winner."
After one full week of wearing Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup in 100+ degree heat here in Indiana, I am a true believer in this product for my skin.
I have truly put this product to the test by being outside in the heat 100+ degree heat for over 6+ hours at a company event as well as at a county fair for 3 hours. This product didn't budge and looked just as amazing as it did when I put it on!
Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup will be my foundation for a long time! I cannot get over the natural, matte, flawless, luminous airbrushed look it gives my skin!"
Pros: coverage sheerness airbrushed matte flawless, budge proof natural luminous
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByBeautyten88
Location: Fort Worth, TX
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good foundation for oily skin and warm weather

May 2, 2012
"I have type 4 very oily skin all over. This foundation provides a natural matte finish, your skin will still look like skin. No powder finish. Perfect amount of coverage for summer, light to moderate. Makes my skin look fresh and even toned and not cakey. I have worn it to work from 10am-6:30pm and found that after a couple hours my oils did break through as with many other foundations. So In order to minimize shine I use it with a primer or mattifying base and set it with Clinique's blended face powder in Invisible Blend so as to not change the color of my foundation. This has helped to cut down on shine. This foundation feels very lightweight and not sticky, perfect for summer weather but I don't expect it to hold up against the Texas heat. I have a bi-racial skin tone, I'd describe my skin tone as a light to medium olive tone. A lot of foundations look pink on me and I have found that especially true with Clinique's foundations but Vanilla was a close match, still a bit off but Golden Neutral was way too yellow...weird lol. No spf but overall a good foundation for combo and oily skin and you can't beat the price. Worth a trip to the Clinique counter."
Pros: natural matte finish, light-weight, blendable
Cons: no spf
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByDesertSeaGardener
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No substitute for Stay True :(

January 26, 2013
"Stay True Oil-Free Foundation (in Stay Sunny) was my favorite foundation since the late 1980s. I would apply it in the morning, it would set, and it would last until I removed it before bed. People would compliment my skin continually, because it looked flawless. I rarely had any problems with oil breakthrough or foundation sliding off my face. This new "Stay Matte" is supposed to replace Stay True, but it's nothing at all like it. Stay True was a liquid that set to a natural-looking matte finish. Stay Matte is a silicone-loaded cream that feels similar to a tinted moisturizer. Yes, it's easier to blend than Stay True (there's no matching shade to Stay Sunny), but it doesn't "set" in the same way, and it doesn't keep oil from breaking after a couple of hours of wear. It feels very heavy and its finish is not natural-looking. The first day I wore this, my forehead broke out! I can't stand the textures of any of Clinique's new foundations, plus, none of the colors match my skin, so I've been trying all kinds of other brands to find something that works. I am so disappointed."
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByUig1
Location: Duluth, MN
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The answer to taming oily skin!

October 11, 2012
"I have been using loose mineral powder foundation for the last 5-7 years, all drugstore brands. I would attempt using liquid foundation, but it never looked 'right'. I continued using mineral powder foundation because I was comfortable with it... Although not completely satisfied with the end result or that my face would be an oil slick by noon. I decided to venture outside my comfort zone and try the Clinique Stay Matte Oil-Free foundation. I am so glad I did! This product is amazing! I have very oily skin and this is the ONLY product I have ever used that keeps my oil in check. I apply it at 6:30 AM and it's still matte when I'm done with work at 5:00 PM. This is so easy to apply! It's not sticky and you don't have to rush to apply it. I am so happy with this. The packaging is great as well, I love that it's plastic and easy to squeeze out. Also, a little goes a long way. I first had a sample and my little pot of foundation lasted me a solid 2 1/2 weeks with daily application. I am beyond ecstatic with this product and I will be using for as long as it's in the line!"
Pros: easy to apply, matte finish, long lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByJStang
Location: NC
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great For Oil Control, But...

July 5, 2012
"I really like the way this foundation goes on, and it keeps my skin more matte than any of the other foundations I've tried...and I've tried a LOT. I have very oily skin, so a foundation that keeps me matte all day is hard to find. This one did it though! I was shine-free all day, and the foundation gave a nice finish without looking cakey or overdone. I could only give two stars though, due to the following reasons. 1) This foundation has no SPF in it. I like having a foundation with at least a little SPF to help protect my skin if I'm out in the sun for even a short amount of time. 2) This foundation is not transfer-resistant. A tiny rub on your face will wipe the makeup right off of that spot. Transfer-resistance to some extent is a must for me, as I'm sure it is with many other oily-skinned ladies. If Clinique could add those two features into this foundation, it would be absolutely perfect for me! For now, I am afraid I'll have to go back to using my other foundation that doesn't keep me matte as long, but does offer SPF and transfer-resistance."
Pros: keeps skin shine-free, makes skin look great without looking overdone
Cons: not transfer resistant, no spf
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByAnna43
Location: CA
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best foundation I've ever used

March 22, 2013
"I needed a foundation that controlled my oily skin and my breakouts. I know that staying away from makeup would be the best thing to get rid of my acne, but that is not an option for me. I have pretty bad acne scarring and it is super embarrassing when people point it out. I tried Stay-Matte Oil-Free makeup and at first I wasn't sure if I liked it. The texture was strange and the application took some practice, but I am an optimist so I learned how to make it work for me. It is definitely different from any other foundation I have tried but I absolutely love it! It has great coverage and I bought a brush(not expensive) and it spreads on my face so well! I don't like using my fingers because it just makes a mess! It feels like I'm not wearing makeup and it doesn't make my face breakout! If only it had sunscreen....but that's ok because when I want more coverage or just a nice super even finish(which I always do), I just brush on some sheer powder with spf in it. Powder works great for those with blending issues. Overall, this product was worth it!"
Pros: great coverage, no breakouts, oil free, light feeling, makes me feel 10x better!
Cons: you have to get used to it, no spf
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bysuenamee
Location: Hastings, NE
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good foundation

May 9, 2012
"It's a pretty good one. I was sampled some out from my consultant. It works well for me, but I still get super oily in the nose and no matter what I do or what products I use, nothing works. This foundation takes very little for me to use to get a good coverage on my face. Contrary to what the one person said, this is NOT a paste or powdery. She must not be used to the foundations that are heavier. I have not used Even Better, but I can tell you that this foundation is light weight and MUCH easier to use :). Also, using a foundation brush is key too! But for the most part, this foundation is really good. I just wish I wouldn't become so shiny within a couple of hours in the nose and some other areas.
I would recommend this foundation to anyone who is needing help with oil control and shine issues. If we could figure my nose out, I would give this 5 stars. But this foundation has done MUCH better than the clarifying, superfit, superbalanced and acne solutions foundations I have used in the past. Clinique needs to keep this one!"
Pros: light weight, provides great coverage, very little used to apply, absorbs shine and oil for the most part
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
BySaraM
Location: Iowa
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pretty good product

October 16, 2012
"I have been battling oily skin for the past few years and have had to completely overhaul my make up routine as a result. I am always on the look out for make up that will last all day and cut down on oil. I was excited to try Clinique's stay-matte make up, it sounded like the perfect product.
The color is great, it matches my skin tone perfectly (I went to the store and got help in selecting the right color). It goes on very smoothly, not too watery and not cakey either. It did feel drier on my skin than other foundations I've used (Perfectly Real and Even Better), but did not make my skin look dry. It sat well under powder. The first day I used it, it was flawless all day, no oil, no need to blot, looked like I had just applied, even at the end of the day. The next day, it was not as perfect, there was some oil show-through by the afternoon. Perhaps it was due to the weather (fall - switching between warm and cool). But I will definitely continue to use this product, it is effective and better than others I was using."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByMargaretRose08
Location: New York, NY
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

...meh...

October 6, 2012
"So it does what it says it does. It does mattify your face and is effective in those hot, humid summer days. However I will probably not use this foundation again for the following reasons:
1) Extremely high transfer rate. I never had this problem with my old standby foundation, Perfectly Real. I saw my makeup on paper, on my white lab coat and on every surface I touched. And this even occurred in airconditioned environments where I was freezing and certainly not sweating off my makeup.
2) I HATE THIS BOTTLE DESIGN. The tube is soft plastic with a minuscule hole. After only using this makeup for 2 months it became a struggle to get any makeup out when I knew the thing was 75% full. I wasted mornings before work squeezing this thing a ridiculous amount. Maybe air got in the hole and dried it out? Either way I'm annoyed I spent money on makeup I had to throw away.
I'm sticking with Perfectly Real and will likely use a makeup setting spray or primer to mattify instead because this foundation just wasn't doing it for me."
Pros: mattifies
Cons: horrible tube design, high transfer rate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ByLadyJade
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not great

August 8, 2012
"I bought this product on a whim while preparing to go work in the Caribbean for a month (in other words, I put it through its paces). In normal weather, I think it's fabulous. For as long as I'd worn make-up, I'd wear at least two cream foundations and a powder, but since I bought it, I haven't used pressed powder, and the only other foundation I feel I need is concealer for circles or during a break out. When it's been worked in, it looks and feels natural and all the shine is gone.
...that is, in temperatures below 75 and humidity under 40%. I might have not been wearing any foundation when I was in the Caribbean, the shine was so bad, and now that I'm back in Boston in August, I'm finding the same problem. I am still pleased with the product since it keeps my skin tone even and I look fresh (even if I do look more than a little "dewy") and I look less like a melted clown than I did last summer when my powder would streak right off my skin, but it doesn't perform completely as advertised."
Pros: light natural-looking doesn't streak
Cons: doesn't stay matte
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Bymichigangirl
Location: Livonia, MI
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST FOUNDATION EVERRRRRR!!!!

June 20, 2012
"I've been wearing this foundation for 1 week now. The weather where I'm at in Michigan has been a steady 97 Degrees & the Humidity has been out of control. This stuff has beeen amazing!!!!! I was using the Acne Solutions, but then choose to try this instead. This stuff never gave up!! I went all day outside on these days (97 Degrees + Humidity...riding my bike 20+ miles; another day was in the direct sun at a tigers game, etc)...it looked as good after those activities as it did when ai first put it on. Before I switched to this foundation from my previous acne solution one, I usually get really oily on my chin... after switching to this one....that all went away. Oh, and one more thing...I break out really easy....haven't broken out once from this; in fact I noticed my blemishes have even gone away!!! BONUS!!!!!!! BEST FORMULA EVER!!!!!! ...NOW, IF ONLY CLINIQUE WOULD BRING BACK THE GENTLE LIGHT LOOSE POWDER THAT EVERYONE KEEPS REQUESTING BACK, THEN I WOULD BE IN PURE HEAVEN!!!!"
Pros: great fot hot & humid weather, great oil control, great for activities, great for the no-shine non-oily look, looks natural but covers up flaws
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next