Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Foundations or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(448 Reviews) 432
83%371 of 448would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Matney88
Location: Washington
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 21, 2014

Beautiful Matte Coverage

I love this foundation! I used to use the Perfectly Real makeup and I wanted to try something that didn't feel as sticky on my face. I was informed about this foundation when I went to the Clinique counter and I am glad I tried it! I have a lot of uneven skin tones and some scars on my face and this makeup covers them all perfectly well. I also love that this is a buildable foundation and I can add concealer and powder without making my skin look "cakey" or overdone.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Matney88
Location: Washington
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Rebecca
Location: Arkansas, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 21, 2014

Stays Matte, Stays Put

I love this foundation! It goes on smooth, sets fast, and stays where I put it. I am a runner and I have used other Clinique foundations in the past that liked to run with my sweat. I always get compliments on how I look like I just put make up on after I ran 3 miles. I don't put make up on before I run, just to clarify. It also doesn't dry out my skin like some foundations have in the past. This is a fantastic foundation and I recommend it to any lady that mentions my make up. Bravo, Clinique.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Rebecca
Location: Arkansas, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Sherrill
Location: St. Paul, MN
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 21, 2014

Great Coverage!

Due to some age spots, some ruddiness and a few little scars from the removal of skin cancer, I need a foundation with good, even coverage, that deals with the oil in my t-zone and I have found that with this. I've gotten so many compliments about my skin since I've started using this. Highly recommend!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Sherrill
Location: St. Paul, MN
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
shanita
Location: chicago
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 21, 2014

Love being Oil Free

I love this product! My skin has always been oily and it is no where near as bad as it used to be! Clinique's products always match up with my skin color perfectly. I am a customer for life!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
shanita
Location: chicago
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
amyecolospgs
Location: Colorado Springs
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 21, 2014

Modern matte makeup

This modern matte makeup is one of my favorites. The oil free formula is perfect for my type 3 skin. The makeup is easy to apply, has a moderate coverage, is and stays true to color, and the matte finish lasts for hours. I also like the tube-like mess-free container.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
amyecolospgs
Location: Colorado Springs
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Shayla
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 20, 2014

Could be better

I decided to buy this product after hearing that it was good for oily skin. When I went to purchase it the consultant applied it after using 2 different pore refining solutions: the correcting serum & stay-matte hydrator before applying the foundation. Through out the day I did not get oily at all, I have terribly oily skin, so I was SO happy. I decided not to get the pore refining products and stuck with the foundation. Upon applying it at a later time, it did not work at all especially in my nose and chin area. I like the feel of it but I still had to blot my face 4 different times in the span of 3 hours.
I wanted to purchase the pore refining solution stay-matte hydrator to see if it works better, I will give another review after I try that. Overall just the foundation alone did not work for my oily skin
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Shayla
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Lisa24
Location: United States
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 20, 2014

Love it Does what Its Suppose to Do!

First off skin type: Combination skin right now Oily!, sensitive to most products, allergic to most products.
Color: 19 Sand (M-N) I was matched at the mall and It matched perfect.
Feel: Goes on easy and smooth and does not require much product to achieve full coverage. Does not dry instantly your able to blend it in well and its not tacky or thick however it does provide a full coverage with a beautiful matte finish. My skin had no reaction and did not break out I feel it has actually helped my skin and that is why I absolutely love it.
Wear: Now the makeup does last all day when I'm at my office job all day in the fresh AC 8-5 maybe on crazy days I touched up once or twice with powder I do go outside alot and my area has a bunch of humidity and this makeup has last!.....However when I am at my Ranch with dry heat of 90 degree weather and up...yes there is fading due to so much sweating and it does not last as long however I never experienced streaking .
Matte Finish: Yes it does have a long lasting matte finish and I do feel it controls the oil on my face in fact when I don't wear the makeup my skin is super oily.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Lisa24
Location: United States
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Cre
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 13, 2014

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT

I work 12 hour shifts and my foundation stays on all day. I am a dark skin woman, and I have often had problems matching my complexion with other brands, but I'm very impressed and satisfied with Clinique.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Cre
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Libby
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 13, 2014

Best foundation for oily skin!!!

This is honestly the product I've ever used! It keeps my skin shine free for hours and I don't get oily at all. I love stay-mate oil free makeup!!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Libby
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
ivomitbats
Location: Lancaster, CA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 8, 2014

My go to foundation

I tried so many oil control foundations and was never satisfied. I received this as a sample and after trying it for two weeks, I decided to buy the full size. Two of them, one for my winter shade, and the other for the summer shade. I really like how they are really specific with their undertones as well, which made it super easy for me to find my color. Whenever a line offers a neutral undertone, I am immediately interested. I will continue to purchase this as long as my oily skin stays oily.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
ivomitbats
Location: Lancaster, CA, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Frugalgal
Location: Deep South
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 7, 2014

Stays Matte

I found this product to work as advertised - it keeps my oily T-zone acceptably matte throughout the work day. This foundation does the job much better than what I had previously been using (Revlon Colorstay for Combo/Oily skin). My skin is very fair and neutral/slightly cool toned. I purchased the color Alabaster based on the info I could find online, and I believe I made the right choice. I later tried the color Linen also - Linen may be a tad lighter (just barely), but it definitely leans towards the golden end of the spectrum, which looked more like a mismatched shade on me. For reference, the Revlon Colorstay foundation shade I use is Ivory. Alabaster seems to me like the closest match, though it is a bit darker.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Frugalgal
Location: Deep South
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Belkis
Location: Venezuela
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Good Coverage

This product provides a good coverage and texture, however my skin does not stay matte the entire day and after a few hours my skin looks oily again.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Belkis
Location: Venezuela
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
SoonerGirl
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

GREAT FOR OILY GIRLS !!!

This is a great product for type 3 skin ..It has average coverage and keeps your skin looking matte. I live in a humid climate and it doesn't melt off. It goes very well with the Stay Matte Powder in the Compact....True winners...Yea!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
SoonerGirl
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Autumn
Location: New Bern, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Decent

Pros: stays put through a work day, a little goes a long way, build-able coverage, and good number of shades to choose from.
Cons: if you are truly oily (and not just a girl who claims to be), this will not be a game changer. You will still need your handy dandy blotting papers.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Autumn
Location: New Bern, NC, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Neggie
Location: Star City
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Best Foundation EVER

This foundation stays in place no matter what! Even when I sweat it stays in place! There is no mess! It's by far the best foundation I've ever used!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Neggie
Location: Star City
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
reviewqueen09
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Great for Oily Skin

This is my first legitimate liquid foundation. Liquid foundation has always given me the impression of being heavy, unnatural looking, and non oily skin friendly (plus the good quality ones are always out of my budget). I had always been a powder foundation girl, but when I saw an ad for the Stay-Matte foundation, I was intrigued. The marketing campaign worked, because after reading glowing reviews, I decided to buy the foundation. So now let's get to the review. So the foundation is supposed to have a lightweight natural matte finish. This description fits it to a tee. Not only do I not feel like anything is on my face, but when I look in the mirror I cannot help but smile because my skin looks so gorgeous. This finish is so natural and the skin has a glow-like effect to it. I'm somewhere around a NC45 and was matched to Creamy Caramel (which was a perfect match). It's great that Clinique realizes that darker skin comes in different shades and the Stay Matte line offers a good variety for brown skinned women. The question is does it keep me matte? It does a pretty good job keeping me matte except for my forehead which just gets dewy not oily (I usually just have to blot one or two times a day and even if I don't, I don't look greasy...I just like a matte look lol). I usually set it with a light dusting of Loreal True Match Pressed Powder. For my first foundation, I found it very easy to apply. I used the ELF Studio Powder Brush, and stippled it on and blended. I am extremely pleased with this product, especially with it's price point. Good quality liquid foundation can be expensive at times, so it's awesome that Clinique can offer a great quality foundation at a decent price. I will definitely repurchase:)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
reviewqueen09
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Tigger
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Best Foundation Ever

Like most women, I have spent a lot of time and money looking for the perfect foundation for me. I tried more expensive brands and then tried this, I'm in my 40's but still get a little shiny and have some breakouts. This makeup matches my skin very well, has a nice texture and has plenty of coverage. It also stays on just as well as "12 hour" make-up.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Tigger
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
TSMel
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(448)
Date:October 6, 2014

Not a great as I'd hoped, but better than others.

My skin is very oily. I was really hoping this would be the answer for me in terms of foundation. I like it because it's light coverage, but it doesn't control oil quite like I was hoping.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
TSMel
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Nickie H
Location: Dallas TX
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(448)
Date:September 30, 2014

do not work!!

After reading all the reviews, its sound pretty good to me, so i went over to Dillard and bought it and nope is doesn't work for me at all . I have oily skin and yes i did try it with and without moisturizer,my face still look cakey and shiny.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nickie H
Location: Dallas TX
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
anajay
Location: long beach
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(448)
Date:September 11, 2014

dont buy

I've very disappointed with this product! Not matte at all! Bought it over the weekend and also purchase the translucent powder which is very white powder! Don't do much coverage and it shines through.
No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
anajay
Location: long beach
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 Next >>>