Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(500 Reviews) 482
84%418 of 500would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Review 1 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
skin type: 4 - Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:August 4, 2015
I have been struggling to find a matte makeup that doesn't slick off or still look super oily on my skin when I put it on but this one not only mattes my face but leaves a nice fresh look to my face without looking too dry. I highly recommend this makeup I'm so in love!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
skin type: 4 - Oily
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: California, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:July 10, 2015

Very good for acne-prone combo/oily to oily skin!

I really love this product! My skin is somewhere between combo/oily to oily and this foundation stayed on my face for hours! The summer heat in California always melts my foundation which makes me look so messy in only about an hour. But with this foundation, I can feel the awesome difference! This is a must-have for those with skin types like mine. It doesn't make me breakout and it really controls my oiliness especially in the T-zone. I even got a random stranger compliment my make-up the first time I used it! 5 stars for this!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: California, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Ph
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(500)
Date:July 6, 2015

It does the job

With this, my skin stays matte the whole day. Covers my inperfections well and makes my skin look flawless. But it fades throughout the day. After 4-5 hours my imperfections starts the show up again. But my overall skin tone is still even, and I'm still matte. Just with my blemishes and acne marks peeking through..
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Ph
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(500)
Date:June 19, 2015

Wow!

I love, love, love this foundation! Even after menopause, I still struggle with oily skin that leaves my face looking shiny and muddy half way through the day. Now I have finally found the answer to my oily skin needs. This foundation holds back shine all day and the color stays true. No more shiny, muddy looking skin by early afternoon. The coverage is also amazing! I have never used a foundation that I love so much!
I would have given this foundation 5 stars except for the shades available. I have a light complexion and typically wear the 3rd or 4th lightest shade in most brands I have tried. With this foundation both Linen and Alabaster leave an obvious line on my neck. I feel like they need many more lighter shades to match everyone. If they could just come up with 2 or 3 lighter shades this would be a totally perfect foundation.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:June 18, 2015

coverage, shine control, awesome!

A clinique associate helped me with testing out this makeup. It provides AMAZING coverage (as I am an african American female with super oily skin and hyperpigmentation), NO SHINE at all and it's lightweight and smooth looking. I also purchased the stay matte powder to go with it. Another concern I had was the ability for clinique to match my skin tone perfectly... I'm proud to say, that's no longer a concern. They have turned me into a permanent customer!! BYE MAC!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: NC
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:June 16, 2015

This foundation survived a heat-stroke!

Long story short, I had this foundation on when I had a heat stroke after running errands in the 100 degree temperatures. I may felt horrid, but my foundation STILL looked AWESOME!! I will never buy another foundation, or run errands in extreme heat again. The only thing I wish was different is a lighter shade. 01 Linen is still a little dark for my complexion.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: NC
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(500)
Date:May 21, 2015

Didn't stay matte

I'm currently in Jamaica so you know it's always hot and I have really oily skin. I decided to try this because I tried a sample of it last summer and I thought it was good. Well, I've changed my mind, coverage is light but buildable which means I use a lot more to cover my blemishes and discolouration. Initial impression is good but it does not last and certainly doesn't mattify, especially considering I work in air conditioning all day I constantly had to blot which would easily remove the makeup so I kept adding powder. Had a very orange undertone too but considering I guessed my shade for an online purchase I can't complain about that.
I think Clinique is a good brand but I was very disappointed in the coverage and durability of this product.
I did not receive a free trial of this product, I don't know why it says that.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Dallas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(500)
Date:May 20, 2015

Awesome!

First off, love this foundation for my oily skin, the coverage is medium to full which is great, doesn't make me break out, overall LOVE IT. I'm so happy that Clinque is now offering a wider range of shades for women of color with yellow and orange undertones!
I would have given it 5 stars if it had an spf in it (preferably a zinc oxide spf).
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: Dallas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:May 17, 2015

Looks natural and keeps me matte all day!

I have been looking for a great foundation for a long time, and I believe I finally found it! I am extremely oily and this is the one foundation that lasts all day and controls my oil. It applies easy, does not break me out, and offers good coverage. The price is great for a high end too and the package is cute and easy for travel. This is a great summer foundation. I wish it had sunscreen in it, but you can always add sunscreen no problem.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Palm Springs, CA, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:May 4, 2015

Amazing product!

I have struggled with break outs and oily skin my whole life. I always bought mineral makeup but I needed better coverage...then I found this! Such an amazing product that keeps my skin looking matte all day. When it's on, you can't feel it, it's so light and covers so well! I have also seen a decrease in break outs which is a plus. I live in Palm Springs where the temperature on a normal day is high 80's to 90's and I look fabulous and oil free still at the end of the day! So happy with this makeup!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Palm Springs, CA, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Armenia
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Male
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:April 16, 2015

No oily shine, fits problem skin, the right shade

The best foundation I've tried so far. My search for the ideal make-up is now officially over. Thank you, Clinique! :)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Armenia
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Male
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Little Elm, TX, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(500)
Date:April 1, 2015

Staying power

This foundation was so great after having used drugstore brands for a long time. My oily skin would melt my makeup off my face halfway through the day. This makeup stays on all day and does a good job of controlling oily skin. I use the redness powder to blot any oil that comes through throughout the day. This foundation also does a great job at providing coverage. My only complaint is that halfway through the day my face started to look a little patchy. Fortunately, it was not that noticeable unless I was looking up close in a mirror.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Little Elm, TX, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: New Jersey, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:March 27, 2015

Great Product!

I put this on under pressed powder for a beautiful full makeup look or use it by itself when I'm in a hurry. It looks very nice on and it's very comfortable to wear. It doesn't leave my skin shiny and it doesn't dry it out either. Greta Great product!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: New Jersey, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:March 14, 2015

Look no more. Pure Perfection.

I have been on a search for the perfect foundation, from BB creams, powders, liquids, and creams. My skin tone is so hard to accommodate; let's admit it, it's HARD to find a perfect shade with just one bottle (we usually have to mix 2 shades to get our perfect shade - but who has time for that!?# Clinique did an amazing job to understand that people don't have the "perfect" skin, and gave an excellent variety/diverse of shades.
I went to a Macy's and spoke with a Clinique consultant that applied a few different shades on me to find the perfect shade for my skin tone. I brought in my previous bottle of foundation that I was using #to compare# and she asked "Do you want to match to your foundation or skin tone?" I said skin tone, and was SOOO amazed by the difference! I had NOT realized how orange my old foundation made me look until I saw the side by side difference. This foundation blends into my skin so well that when I apply it, I sometimes forget where I even applied. It really does control oil, I went out around 8pm for dinner & a movie, slept through it #OOPS!# and woke up to my makeup still in tact and flawless! I had oily spots in my T-ZONE here and there, but I can't complain, it held up so well- I just took some oil-blotting paper and blotted my face and BOOM! I was refreshed again. I HIGHLY recommend this product! The price is affordable #compared to other foundations I've purchased# at phenomenal quality. I registered JUST so I can write a review. OH, and FYI also purchase the Airbrush Concealer, it works wonders #perfect pair and it has a brush - awesome#. The consultant was so helpful, I gave her gratuity and she refused insisting "it's [my] job, but [I] appreciate the offer". Excellent customer service!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(500)
Date:March 11, 2015

Good but miss Stay True

I loved Stay True but it is discontinued. This foundation is good for the price and I will probably stick with it because all drug stores foundations to me are too watery and all other dept. store counters besides Clinique are too expensive.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: North Carolina, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(500)
Date:March 9, 2015
I'm very upset with this product. I am a redhead, and I have very fair skin that is tinted pink. The 01 Linen was too yellow for my skin tone, but the 02 alabaster, that I bought, is too dark for my skin. I don't know what to do now since I have a tube of this makeup that I can't use without looking caked trying to look darker.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: North Carolina, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(500)
Date:March 2, 2015

Not Beneficial For Me

I started using this product in September 2014 and I found that it was indeed matte, and kept a really great texture on my skin all day long, but I found that it didn't really cover my acne very well. I have to really layer it in order to hide my break outs. For people with no acne, I definitely recommend.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: houston
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:February 19, 2015

amazing Foundation

I love this foundation. It's full coverage atleast to me. I don't use it on daily basis but wear it whenever I am going out for some occasion (which comes atleast twice a week ). Few months back I got this in different shade which didn't mach my skin tone at all so I was disappointed but few days ago I got the exact match for my skin tone and wow ... It looks so beautiful. I have no words. It's the best foundation I have ever used.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: houston
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: houston, tx
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(500)
Date:February 14, 2015

BEST FOUNDATION

I choose to use clinique because the foundation i had been using well, i just felt it wasn't giving me amount of coverage i needed. So since i knew some of my friends used clinique i desided to give it a try! And so i have been using the STAY MATTE OIL-FREE FOUNDATION and i actually think its the best best foundation i could had ever chosen! Just to say that i have fell in love with this foundation! If you have oilly skin i would so recommend this foundation to you.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: houston, tx
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(500)
Date:February 7, 2015

In love

I love this foundation. It goes on so smoothly with a kabuki foundation brush and leaves an overall nice, slightly satin finish. It looks flawless. It's not a complete coverage foundation; you can still see your skin underneath which is a good thing, but it can be built up for more coverage in certain areas. To set the foundation, I put a very light dusting of Cliniques Blended loose powder. My large pores look minimized because of the matte finish. Just beautiful.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 Next >>>