Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes

Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes

Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 215
81%189of 232reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Review 1 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByGatos
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful packaging and colours, a few cons.

March 12, 2013
"There are few things I love more than beautifully packaged products, so when I saw these cute things I had to indulge. The colours are beautiful, and sparkly in a totally non-offensive kind of way, and I really love the practical side of having eyeshadow in crayon form. However, I find that it doesn't really stay on very long. I don't have particularly oily lids, I also use the lid smoothie (looove it) and it stays on me all day. These however, appear to fade on me in a couple of hours! I haven't tried using a primer yet, since it kind of defeats the purpose I intended for these as on-the-go eyeshadows when I have no time to do more. Another issue I have with these is that they seem to have a tendency for the stick of product (the "lead" of the pencil) to detach from the bottom of the container, and just flop around. This happened to one of mine, and I though about taking it back as defective, but then I noticed most of the sample pencils had the same problem. It still works, it is just annoying to have to push the stick into place every time I want to use it."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByStuckonsushi
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great color and quality

July 21, 2013
"I tend to avoid eye shadow because of my very oily skin, plus I like quick and simple makeup, but wanted to try this due to the reviews of easy application and no creasing. I am very much an amateur and don't know much in the world of eye shadow application so I just got the Bountiful Beige to start off.
This is truly a beautiful nude color. It does have a lot of shimmer which I don't tend to go for, but it makes the color and eyes pop quiet a bit for beige. For my classic but glam look I love my Bountiful Beige with some liquid liner. So easy but great! And it lasts all day, looking the same way when it comes off as when I put it on. It is very buildable and even after several layers the stick itself doesn't even look used. I anticipate my chubby stick will last for quite a while! When I decide to venture outside of my limited makeup comfort zone I will definitely be going back for more colors!"
Pros: buildable, easy to apply, retracts, nice color, no creasing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByChelle324
Location: Richfield, UT
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the convenience!

November 21, 2013
"I got this in 'Ample Amber'. The color surprised me a little as it was a little on the orange side. Which is fine with me but it didn't look that way on my screen I guess. I love the color though! I have blue eyes and fair skin and this really makes my eyes pop! I just put a brown color in the crease and I am good to go (I have been using Clinique's brown from the Strawberry Fudge duo)!
I love the packaging of these! I love how easy it is to swipe on your eyes, blend out a little and you are good! It does have a little glitter in it but I wouldn't say enough to look 'sparkly' or 'glittery'. I think it adds just a nice shine to it. Love that you don't have to sharpen these! So nice! I also have no problems with creasing or fading that I can tell! My favorite cream eye shadow to date! I plan on getting more colors after I see them in person so I know exactly what I am in for :-)
"
Pros: easy to blend, stay all day, crease proof, no need to sharpen, easy to apply
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByCaliforniaCliniqueLover
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SO EASY TO USE

April 25, 2013
"I am a powder eyeshadow lover so I took my time checking out the Chubby Sticks for Eyes. Well, I will have to admit I am in love with them!!! I bought Bountiful Beige, Fuller Fudge and Lots O' Latte. I first
use the beige shade all over my eye lid and pat it in. Then use either brown shade in the crease for depth and pat in. The secret is to pat a little with your finger, it seems to set the cream and they really do stay put throughout the day. They are literally foolproof, it's hard to goof up... They aren't too frosty but I would love to see some matte shades in the line up soon! Clinique has come a long way and is just getting better and better!!! The new Moisture Surge CC cream is more than amazing, it's magic. Now not only do my eyes look beautiful with the new Chubby Sticks for Eyes, my skin looks flawless, too:)
"
Pros: so easy & foolproof
Cons: need some matte shades
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
BySwtblonde
Location: NJ
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not happy with new eye shadows

January 2, 2014
"Due to the polar blue quad eyeshadow is no longer available I thought I'd try the blue chunky stick shadow. It is too difficult to use and the color is bland. Please bring back the polar blue quad eyeshadow which is perfect for a blue eyed natural blond as myself. All the new colors are too strong or too dark for a fair haired and skin person as myself. I have been a Clinique customer since their beginning as the products are hypoallergenic and are good to my skin and coloring. I am so distraught as Clinique has been the only make up and skin care brand that I have always used and depended on. I beg of you
to bring back the polar blue combination so I and others like myself have an eye shadow that brightens our eyes rather than making them look like black eyes or none at all.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByJennHay
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy and Convenient

January 10, 2014
"I love how simple it is to use this shadow, you don't have to be a makeup pro, it blends very well and makes it look like you spent a lot of time on your eyes but it takes less than a minute. I got a sample of the chubby sticks for lips and had no idea that they were for eyes too until I went to the counter, I bought two that I thought would look nice layered and/or blended together and was so impressed and happy with my result that I ended up getting another. My most recent was the coal, it is perfect for me because I almost always end up screwing up my blacks and grays because I am not the best makeup putter on-er :) but this makes me look like I know what I am doing, its like a dream come true for me. I can't say enough good things about it, I tell every one I know."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByAnonymous
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely worth the price

March 9, 2013
"I'm not always motivated enough to write reviews, but I was so impressed by the Chubby Sticks for eyes that I felt compelled to write. I purchased two of them as an experiement. (I'd already had good experiences with Chubby Sticks for lips, so I was hopeful). I chose Whopping Willow and the Amber color. They are slightly shimmery, but not in an offensive way, and they glide on incredibly smoothly. Application was a breeze -- just a sweep or two over my eyelid, and done. Best of all, my eyelids felt cool and moisturized all day -- not dry like power eyeshadow sometimes causes. My advice is to put it on before you put on eye liner. I've been using them daily and am very satisfied. I intend to pick up another few colors for variety. Good job with this one Clinique!"
Pros: moisturizing
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Byjaimedlea
Location: Fairbury, NE
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Drying Cream Shadow

February 10, 2014
"My Clinique rep had to convince me to try this, and I'm glad she did! I have never had luck with big box store cream shadows because they don't dry fast enough and catch eye liner, creating a mess. I would agree that the term "tint" is a good word, because it doesn't give a solid shade, which works well for my intent. I like to layer powder shadow on top of it. Using just the tint will give a daywear look. Depending on how long you let the tint "dry" before applying powder shadow, will determine how creamy and dramatic the color looks. I love using Fuller Fudge as a base for a neutral smokey eye. I don't know if I'd use this product alone, and if I did it would be a simple swipe and go on my lid. Tends to apply differently on a hard surface like the brow bone."
Pros: great base for blending, doesn't smudge eyeliner when allowed to dry
Cons: not a great solo item
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Byaspiringmermaid
Location: South Carolina
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really great!!

April 1, 2014
"I tossed this into my cart to qualify for free shipping/minis and because I've been running out of eyeshadow base and wanted to see if this could double as a base and eyeshadow (so I ended up getting 'bountiful beige'), and I really love it! It's a nice, neutral gold color, but it's not boring or bland since it's got a really nice shimmer to it and can be layered. The crayon-type design makes it super easy to apply. It's really helped simplify my morning routine, and I'm looking forward to ordering other colors in the future (Mighty Moss and Ample Amber are next on my list!).
The only bad thing that I've noticed is that if I don't use it as a base, it does still crease, which is unfortunate but will not stop me from using the product or buying it again.
"
Pros: easy to apply, quick, good pigmentation
Cons: does not resist creasing on its own
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByMeme9000
Location: Kansas city
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too greasy

February 7, 2013
"I bought 3 colors--Ample amber, Curvaceoes coal, and lots of latte. I have very fair skin. The ample amber is barely visible. Applied it on my entire eye, then latte for main color on lid, and coal for accent. I had to use a lot of this product to get the desired effect for day wear. I had to constantly apply more product and blend for it to show up. Seemed too greasy and I had to wait several minutes for the first layer to dry before I could apply the next layer. I had better results when I applied to my finger first and blended in. I was also not able to apply pencil eyeliner because the product was too greasy. Do not use unless you are applying a liquid liner. I thought this would be a time saver but was really a waste of $50. Very disappointed."
Pros: stays on long once you get the desired result
Cons: too greasy. could not apply pencil eye liner.
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Bykdubya
Location: Atlanta
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it!

December 2, 2013
"I ordered this online and then decided to read a few reviews. After reading, I was a little nervous about the product. One reviewer mentioned that it was a frost or glittery type shadow. I very much prefer matte shades so was interested to see what this would be like when I received it. The sticks take a time or two to get used to using if you are used to a traditional shadow. It feels a little odd drawing across your eyelid for the first time. The color may be ever so slightly glimmery but not enough to make me not want to wear it (I have Ample Amber and Fuller Fudge). It seems like the color stays quite a bit better than a traditional shadow too. After 8 hours, it still looks like I just applied it. I am definitely a fan!"
Pros: easy to use
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByPelagius
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for highlighting, brightening, looks natural

April 14, 2013
"I too have one crepey eyelid, but the other is more defined due to a prosthetic. I have asymmetrical eyes, so I like to highlight the inner corners, the inner sides near my nose, and my brows, to mask the one dark crease and to bring out the hooded eye. Bountiful Beige is perfect for that, layering over concealer, and I wear Pink & Plenty on the lid itself and then powder. There's just enough shimmer but not too might glitter, and it's like my eyes, the shade of my skin, only better. Bountiful Beige is also a great highlighter along the top of my cheekbone. Love love love the ease and convenience of slicking these on in the morning and love that I'm putting Vitamin E on my delicate skin, and the natural, not over-done, look"
Pros: ease and convenience, brightening effect, lights up my eyes, looks natural my eyes but better
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByCryeng
Location: Columbus Ohio
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

April 25, 2013
"I have to say that I was excited to see Clinique brining a new creamy eyeshadow to the market. I sadly became of their old cream eyeshadow that was in a tube with a wand shortly before it was discontinued. Since that time I have tried many cream shadows with little success. The wand made it very easy for applications and stayed on all day. many in the pots are difficult to apply and have too much sparkle or shimmer. the color of the chubby stick was the same as my old wand but that is where the similarities ended. It flaked and looked cakey by the end of the day and is very difficult because of it's size to use on the eye. I will not buy it again. Please bring back the old liquid eyeshadow."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByParsleyd12
Location: Cumberland, Maryland
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best eyeshadow EVER!

February 16, 2013
"I purchased PORTLY PLUM, and it is the quickest, easiest eyeshadow to apply! And the best part is I think the Chubby Stick Shadows have more depth and rich color than any regular Clinique shadows that I've used for the past 12 years! Definitely one of my top 3 New favorite products from Clinique. I actually have cut the time that it takes to apply my makeup in half from this product. You can literally quickly blend with your finger if you are really in a rush and looks applied and blended as if u used a brush! PORTLY PLUM is gorgeous with green or hazel eyes it really brings out the green hues. I just ordered the light pink color AND a chubby stick lip balm to try 'em out!"
Pros: easy quick application, gorgeous rich color
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByGranny59
Location: Indiana
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity/Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

First time trying

December 18, 2013
"I love Clinique and have used it for many years; sometimes a product works and sometimes it doesn't, but that does not mean that the product is bad. For me, at 64, I found that this crayon seemed a little bit difficult to apply and I truly believe it's because my eyelids are older and more creased and drier, not because the crayon doesn't work properly. It took some time to apply the color, which was beautiful, and pulled across my eyelid instead of gliding across. I hate to be a downer on this and again I stress that I feel it's more me than the product. I don't think that I would buy another one but I do love the powder shadows!!"
Pros: lovely color, easy applicator
Cons: pulled across eyelid, felt quite dry to apply
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByMissShoog
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just say no.

September 2, 2013
"I purchased the chubby stick in Pink & Plenty. It's a lovely color, but I don't recommend the product. This pencil is really dry and pulls hard on the delicate tissues of my eyelids. It also leaves a dry finish, settling into and highlighting the little crepe wrinkles now that I'm in my 40's. Maybe I'd use it if I was 14. The product doesn't build layers well either. I've been using the Lid Smoothie in Pinkgo Biloba for about a year now and it out performs this chubby stick hands down! Similar color, more pigment, can be dabbed on gently, builds better layers, doesn't highlight the wrinkles nearly as much, and stays all day!"
Pros: color
Cons: dry, pulls on eyelids, shows wrinkles, very sheer pigment that doesn't layer well
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Bysuenamee
Location: Hastings, NE
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE CHUBBY STICKS FOR EYES!!!

January 31, 2013
"I'm squealing with delight! I walked in to get some makeup the other day and my consultant JUST got these in on the truck. She had time to show me how to pair it up with my Seventh Heather from the lid smoothie. We used Porta Plum and it looked AWESOME! This is VERY easy to apply, long lasting, creamy, but you can easily blend it with your finger. You do not need a concealer brush to blend to perfection! I'm VERY happy Clinique came out with this and I hope this is NEVER discontinued! It is VERY reasonably priced and the choices are fantastic! I can't WAIT to play with more colors in the future!"
Pros: long lasting, very easy to blend, great price, fantastic color choices
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Byrednrowlett
Location: Dallas TX
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too much sparkle for mature eyelids

September 19, 2013
"If you can carry off the look of a sparkle undertone in your eye shadow then this is the product for you. The stick concept is great for travel, and did not run during the hot humid summer; however, for me, too much sparkle. It seemed to negatively emphasize the lines around my eyelid. Tried three which I thought would complement one another. Found the amber, beige and fudge all had the same undertone of sparkle. Going back to a matte shadow for my base and contour shading. The dry shadows seem to blend better with one another."
Pros: handy stick, doesn't run in heat
Cons: sparkle undertone
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
Bykoko21
Location: Ohio
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Shadows

May 2, 2013
"I really like these new Chubbies for eyes, the feel is great, and with aging drying skin, they remain moist all day, without creasing or fading, even after a long day at work and a couple hours of workouts. I do like a more intense color so I put a base of the coal chubby stick, and then a top of my color of choice, this provides a deeper richer color and an alternate option for all the colors. The blend well if used together right away, and a different look if you let the coal dry first and then apply the second color."
Pros: easy application, long wearing, reamain moist
Cons: the fat stick can be cumbersom in the crease
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes
ByHotdogs
Location: Palm Springs
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chubby eye tint

August 3, 2013
"Love this product. It wouldn't hurt to mention what happens when this product is exposed to heat. Living in Palm Springs I have had to throw away 3 chubby sticks when they delivered to tempatures over 115 and left sitting it the sun. I even lost one when I carried it in my purse not thinking how hot it can get in a car when it is 105. To me that is kind of cool summer weather. Love the product so much that I replaced the destroyed chubby sticks. It is no one's fault that sort of thing just happens sometimes."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next