Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.163 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
31%15of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Byseaspray
Location: chicago
Age: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity/Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Give it a try

April 15, 2014
"When I first got this cream I used it a few times and didn't care for it at first. It didn't seem to smooth over my skin. But I still used it because it is pricey and I wanted to give it a fair try. I have now used it for two weeks and love this cream. My skin is much smoother in texture and I haven't broken out at all. Love it!"
Pros: makes your skin very smooth
Cons: kind of pricey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Bykaguirre
Location: Elko NV
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity/Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My choice for daytime moisturizing

April 5, 2014
"Wears perfectly under foundation and sticks with me throughout the day."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByTC57
Location: Rockville, MD
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Glad I read the reviews first

April 5, 2014
"I have used Clinique for years. First received Superdefense SPF25 in a gift with purchase and was hooked from the beginning. I'm almost out and a local department store is doing GWP so I was deciding what to get. Didn't see my product on their website so came to Clinique website to find. Boy was I surprised by what I saw/read. I didn't know they had changed it. I want to thank everyone who posted their reviews & saved me from making a terrible purchase. Unfortunately, now I have to find something else to take the place of Superdefense.
Clinique, why, oh WHY, would you change something that was so loved and used faithfully by so many, to something so inferior?"
Cons: read the other reviews & you'll understand
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByMaddieM
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Confused and Disappointed

April 2, 2014
"I was due for a new jar of my super defense and picked it up Monday. That night I was putting my purchases away and noticed the "dry combination" part of the label was different. At first I thought I was given the wrong one so I looked it up. I had NO idea they changed the formula! I was surprised but figured I'd give it a go. I still have a little left of my old formula so I was able to compare the two over the next couple of days. Yikes. Wore the new formula yesterday and my face felt greasy and heavy the entire day!! Wearing the old formula today and it's great. *sigh* The new formula did smell great and honestly felt the same on my fingers but it definitely doesn't feel the same way. And why decrease the SPF? I know some people say nothing about 15 makes a difference but still...the higher the better for me. I would think making it higher would make it feel heavier and greasier but nope...decreasing it has! I am going to return this and switch my day cream over to a new product. Clinique...PLEASE DO NOT SWITCH THE SUPER DEFENSE NIGHT FORMULA NEXT!! Otherwise I'll have to stop using that one as well. I have been using the super defense line for years so this is very disappointing."
Pros: none with new formula
Cons: every part of new formula
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByHannaB
Location: NJ
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Please, change it back!!

April 1, 2014
"I used to love this product and buy it all the time, but now I have to find a substitute because the new formula is horrible. It is sticky and it started causing breakouts, which the old one didn't do:((( I'm SO dissappointed"
Cons: sticky
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Bylakedweller
Location: East Texas
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

OK, but not as good as old formula

March 31, 2014
"I believe one's impression of this product will depend on what you have used in the past. I have been a long time user of Clinique products because they have always been gentle, yet effective for my skin. I originally fell in love with the "Weather Everything" moisturizer with sunscreen. I believe it used Titanium Dioxide as the sunscreen and I wore it everyday. I was disappointed when Clinique quit making that product, but moved on with the replacement- Superdefense Age Defense line with 25 SPF. Now that is gone and you sell Superdefence daily defense with 20 SPF. If I had never used any of the former products I would rate this product highly. It goes on pretty nicely and since I have dry skin the extra creaminess works fine for me and it provides sun protection. I would have preferred the original Weather Everything with mineral sunscreens or the superdefense with a higher SPF. I believe the sun protection is the single most important factor in keeping skin young looking and healthy."
Pros: a good moisturizer that includes some sunscreen
Cons: less spf than previous superdefense, only chemical sunscreens no mineral sunscreens
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByDizzle
Location: NC
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not absorb well

March 31, 2014
"I just purchased this product from my local department store and after using it for a few days I have decided it is just awful. It doesn't absorb at all. I was previously using the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, which I love, but I was looking for something with an SPF. Let me tell you, this is not it. IDK if the previous formula would've been better. I wish I had tried it."
Pros: spf
Cons: does not absorb, skin feels greasy
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByRBCK
Location: Orlando, Fl
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never leave home without it

March 23, 2014
"I have used this product for years and credit it with saving this red-head's skin!"
Pros: goes on smooth and doesn't feel greasy
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByMadelyn
Location: San Antonio
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So sad and mad

March 23, 2014
"After just using the last of the original Super Defense, I discovered to my horror that what I ordered online was a NEW Super Defense. I wish I had read the reviews first. Because I order weeks in advance, I no longer have my online invoice and I'm stuck with three of the new formula. It is thicker and doesn't moisturize at all. Clinique, why did you change a great formula? Can I get my money back?Please bring back the old Super Defense!"
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Byperks
Location: Brockville Ontario
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good purchase

March 20, 2014
"I am 72 and I do like this cream very much. I have dry skin and this cream is smooth and comforting. Especially with Winter being so cold. I purchased for dry skin."
Pros: smooth
Cons: wish a night cream was coming.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByMsTarzana
Location: LA
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Clinique owes us an apology!

March 18, 2014
"Luckily I read the reviews of the new formula before purchasing. I went to my local Macy's and they offered a sample to test. It seems they're tired of people returning the new formula so they decided to give out samples instead! No one likes it! Even the Clinique sales person admitted she is disappointed as so many of her long time customers are returning this product and switching to another brand. I've been using it for years but I'll be switching as well unless they bring back the old formula, SPF 25!!
Clinique, you owe us an apology!
"
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByThirstySkin
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Eyes water

March 18, 2014
"There is something in here that makes my eyes water and itch badly. Prefer the Even Better moisturizer because of that. Please make a deeply moisturizing cream with a different formula and very good SPF. Dramatically Different is not moisturizing either, even the super dry formula."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByCunningham
Location: Belchertown, MA
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Disappointed

March 12, 2014
"I was a long time user of Superdefense and loved it. It was like a thick mousse that went on so smoothly, soaked in and made my skin look bright and beautiful. This new formula is no where the same. I will be returning it. It is heavy, pastey, doesn't absorb well and my foundation goes on terrible with it. It makes my skin look horrible and shows every bit of it's 57 years. Not to mention, my pores have seemed to increase in size since I started using it. PLEASE make the old formula available."
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Bysandyh121
Location: Montebello, CA
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Please bring back old formula!!

March 12, 2014
"I've been a fan of the original SuperDefense with spf 25 for years. It's the one moisturizer that has kept my skin balanced with the added benefit of spf 25. I recently repurchased not knowing that they changed the formula.
While I agree that a drop of 5 spf is not a significant change, the formula itself has changed. I've only had it on for 4 hours and my skin is already greasy and my skin feels heavy/tacky.
I'm not sure what inspired Clinique to change the formula considering the original formula got great reviews and had many loyal users. I really hope they bring the old formula back. In the meantime, I'm switching to another brand."
Pros: unscented
Cons: sticky, greasy
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Bylovingcolor
Location: NE
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Why lower the SPF?

March 12, 2014
"This seems to leave my skin oilier than the old version. I also don't understand why Clinique lowered the SPF. I will be searching for a new moisturizer with a decent amount of SPF that doesn't make me break out."
Cons: lower spf
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Byfibermusicmama
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sadly, just adequate instead of wonderful

March 9, 2014
"I searched for years to find a product that works on my sensitive, very dry skin. Several years ago my daughter
suggested Super Defense SPF 25, and once I tried it I knew I'd found "it." I have used the original with wonderful results for years--from Mexico to Oklahoma to western Washington. I nearly panicked when I couldn't find it a few months ago, and then was initially relieved to see the "new" version out. I bought it, but it is not as good for me. With this new product, my face seems to stay slightly greasy for hours--which didn't happen before. I NEED the original very dry version, not the new combined formula. And I want at least SPF 25, if not more. It may be "good enough" for many people, but the old formula was excellent for me. I wish you would decide to "undo" this change; NEW is not always IMPROVED! I would also like to know what factors caused your company to change the formulation.
"
Cons: not as effective on very dry skin, lower spf is less protection, leaves a slightly greasy sheen
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByWVLady
Location: Cool Ridge, WV
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed with product change

March 6, 2014
"I do not understand why Clinique changed superdefense moisturizer. Nothing about the new formula is for the better. First all, lowering the sun screen protection level is contrary to the reason I started using it in the first place, following a bout with skin cancer on my nose.
The second problem I find is that while any "oily" feel formerly disappeared quickly, this cream now looks and feels greasy on my skin. This is another big negative for me.
I'm hoping that Clinique will revive the original formula, otherwise I may be looking elsewhere for a product that meets my requirements.....for the first time in more than 20 years.
"
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByGrannysusu
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Formula

March 4, 2014
"I have been using this formula for less than a year. I think I like the new formula better. It goes on more smoothly and absorbs quickly and like all Clinique products, has no odor or perfume."
Pros: no perfume, absorbs very well, reasonably priced
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByTillie
Location: Maine
Age: over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tried and True

February 28, 2014
"After trying a newer Clinique product, I could feel my skin tightening through-out the day, so I returned to Super Defense Daily. This product has protected my old face for six winters in Florida!"
Pros: prevents "snow bird" tan.
Cons: can't think of any.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NEW Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ByMoviefan
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I received a free trial of this product.No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Superdefense disappointing

February 23, 2014
"I've been using this moisturizer for years. Have tried a few other brands along the way that were less expensive, but kept coming back to Superdefense. Now the formula has unfortunately been changed and the SPF lowered as well. I see that the price has increased too!"
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next