Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Moisturizers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.145 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 81
29%24 of 83would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:August 7, 2014

Too oily

I think the texture is too oily even for combination skin. I don't like to wear it if i am not putting some makeup because it makes my face all shiny and greasy. And I have combination skin, don't know how this would work for the oily skins. Somehow I am really disappointed.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(83)
Date:August 2, 2014

Bring back the old formula

I used this product for over 2 years & even got family members hooked on it. Recently, I noticed they changed the formula. The SPF was lowered & my skin has even started to break out since using this new product. Please bring back the old formula.
I paid for this product, not a sample.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 23, 2014

Totally useless for oily/combination oily skin!

I looked the reviews filtered by different skin types, and I have to agree. At this moment only 15% of oily or combination oily skin types recommend this product. 0% recommends, if you look the reviews from oily skin types.
This new product is only for people with a dry skin (55% recommends). New superdefence is way, WAY too greasy to be used for oily skin types. It is just like any other dry skin product, and of course you just can't use anything like that!
I'm annoyed I can't return this product back to the airport tax free store, and can't get my money back. Even more annoyed, I have to find a new product from some other brand. You just lost a loyal customer.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Nicole
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 20, 2014

Used to be a loyal customer!

I have had problem skin since my early 20's and after lots of trial and error I came upon the super defense/super rescue combination. It didn't aggravate my skin and actually helped improve the tone and texture. I had been a loyal customer/user for over 10 years. This last time when I went to replenish my stock, I discovered after I opened the super defense and used it that it had changed. I noticed it as soon as I put my finger in it as the consistency had changed, it was much thicker and greasy. I used it anyway, even though I had my doubts, and to my dismay after a couple of days I started breaking out again with huge cysts like I used to get. I was so disappointed, I'm not sure the reason for changing the formula but I decided to return it and change my skin care routine. My skin has not been the same, it's actually back to the way it used to be. Please, please, PLEASE bring back the old formula!! I'm 38 now and don't want to deal with these skin issues any more!!! Thank you.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nicole
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Cat
Location: Napier, New Zealand
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 19, 2014

Clinique super defence SPF 20

The new product is too thick. I usually keep three bottles going simultaneously. One at work, one in the car, one at work. The new product is much thicker/heavier than the previous product.
I bought TWO bottles of this "improved" product.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Cat
Location: Napier, New Zealand
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Former superdefence user
Location: Finland
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 17, 2014

Great product ruined to unusable!

I used superdefence for years and years and it was my absolute favourite. Not anymore. It is completely ruined.
Why so lousy product?
1) It has a night cream texture: leaves your skin tacky, greasy and shiny
2) Skin can't breath: generates pimples
3) Skin can't absorb the moisturizer: it just stays on like a coating
4) SPF 20 only, lowered from SPF 25
Can't help wondering if this actually is Repairware uplifting (spf added) just packed to Superdefence package: feels exactly the same.
Don't buy, you'll be disappointed. I was to extend I have to find a new product - and not from Clinique. I can't even understand how come Clinique even thought this kind of texture could be suited for oily/combination oily skin. This is the worst kind of moisturizer for us.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Former superdefence user
Location: Finland
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
katnun
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 11, 2014

Why change a great product???!!!

I'm very upset with Clinique for changing this product. I've been using Superdefense for years, and all of a sudden the SPF has been reduced from 25 to 20??!! If I had known this was coming, I would have stocked up on the original. Besides the reduction in SPF, which is bad enough, the formula is different, and not in a good way. I use the combination/oily version, and this new formula is MUCH thicker and greasier and causes my skin to practically ooze oil all day. I NEVER had this problem with the original formula. I won't be buying any more of this new formula. If Clinique comes to their senses and brings back the original formula, I will celebrate and gladly buy it once again!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
katnun
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Emily92
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 6, 2014

Best daily moisturizer

I use this in the summertime and I love the way it feels. Super lightweight with just enough SPF, especially since my face burns rather easily. It also makes my skin feel very soft, and protects it from the damaging effects if the sun. Great moisturizer!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Emily92
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Kristina
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 4, 2014

Bring back the higher SPF

I really liked this product when it had a higher SPF, but now it's really not worth it. If it's supposed to be "super defense" then make it so!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Kristina
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Suzy
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:July 3, 2014

Greasy

Feels greasy and tacky on skin, and was not absorbed. Skin looked shiny. Like a night cream.
Old one was perfect, softened skin, and provided excellent sun protection.
Don't like it and will return it, and probably have to look to another brand for something better.
I did NOT receive a free trial, although this programme is not accepting my answer NO to this question.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Suzy
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Primcessneemsh
Location: UK
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 24, 2014

Utterly disappointing. Why RUIN an amazing product

I am very picky with my skincare regime as my skin seems to need a little help to keep it clear from blemishes and to keep it looking hydrated and glowing. For the last 2 years the old formula superdefense SPF 25 moisturiser was the absolutely best thing I have ever used. I then purchased a new tub (after running out) and I knew immediately I didn't like this new style cream. No one had told me it was a formula and it is the worst. It doesn't feel silky and smooth but sticky and thick and WAY too heavy and gloopy. My skin feels tacky rather than smooth and nourished and after only using it for 3 days I have developed spots which is so upsetting. I now will have to find another face cream that will suit my needs and I really don't want to as it's such a pain. I can no longer recommend this product as it's completely ruined and I can't use it for fear it will make my face worse. Please bring back the old formula.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Primcessneemsh
Location: UK
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Ciela
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 22, 2014

This *used to be* a great product.

I used the old Superdefense for years, and I loved it. However, the new product is terrible. I have dry combo skin, and the new product leaves it greasy and never absorbs, plus they have decreased the SPF. The new product claims that as a result of the change more skin types benefit, which is absolutely false. There is less personalization in this product, and it isn't worth the money at all.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Ciela
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Becky
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 22, 2014

Terrible

I have used Superdefense for years and I am very disappointed with the new formula. At one time, you couldn't convince me to change moisturizers; in addition, I recommended this product to everybody. Sadly, I can no longer recommend it and I am now on the hunt for a new moisturizure. I use other Clinique products as well, but this will no longer be the case. Clinique, you have lost a loyal and long time customer.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Becky
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
skincareaficionado
Location: Long Island, NY
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Male
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 17, 2014

Made me Break Out!! :(

Unfortunately, this product made me break out. The formula for Oily skin was way too thick and heavy, it was just way too emollient for my skin and therefore I started to developing whiteheads. A HUGE disappointment. I'm sure Clinique will change their formula after reading all these scathing reviews. I have always been using Repairwear Uplifting Firming Cream w/ SPF 15 for the oily skin types. I know I should have just stuck with that but figured I'd try something new and Youth Surge SPF 15's formula feels way too tacky instead of soft/smooth on the skin and unlike Repairwear's. The consistency of Repairwear's cream is much more LIGHTWEIGHT than this! I am so highly upset that it made me break out and have to clear up my skin again because of it. I would give it 0 stars if I could.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
skincareaficionado
Location: Long Island, NY
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Male
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Minnie14
Location: Belle Isle, FL, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 14, 2014

Moisturizer

This new formula does not have the same quality ingredients as the previous one and if you are going to increase the price on a item the item should contain a better quality or same quality but not a downgrade of the product. I am astonished that Clinique changed this product from excellent to terrible. Please consider bringing the previous version or people will look elsewhere to purchase the same quality from a different vendor.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Minnie14
Location: Belle Isle, FL, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Katya
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 9, 2014

Great product, even after formula change

I loved old version of Superdefence, but now I love new version even more. I've read the reviews before buying and I was afraid that I wouldn't like it. But the only visible change for me is the texture. It is thicker now, so it's hard for me to use too much cream (I did it quite often with old formula). And it is pleasing for me to rub it into my skin, which is surprising because I love light textures.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Katya
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
PatriotUSA
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 6, 2014

Effective Moisturizer

This moisturizer feels comfortable, not oily and not too thick. It helps dry skin. I wish that it would come in a larger quantity, but not at a higher price.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
PatriotUSA
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Spa
Location: CO
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 5, 2014

Lower SPF

I have purchased this for years and was willing to pay the high price due to a minimum of 25 SPF. The new product with only 20 SPF is not high enough to protect. I am going to look elsewhere. So disappointed because I loved the light, non-greasy feel of your product. Please put the higher SPF back!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Spa
Location: CO
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
ebonyfox
Location: Nevada
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 4, 2014

Very sorry it changed!

I have used Superdefense for years, probably since it came out. I am very disappointed that it changed. I use it as my sun protection, first thing faithfully every day, and would prefer to have the SPF 25 rating. I also am disappointed in the new consistency for the dry/dry combination. It has the same consistency as the oily had. Since there is no other comparable product that I have found, I will probably keep using it, but much preferred the previous version, especially the SPF 25 part. I introduced my daughter-in-law to the product a couple of years back and she loved it, but has the same complaints about the new version.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
ebonyfox
Location: Nevada
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
sunnygirl
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(83)
Date:June 4, 2014

Give it time to work

As many other reviewers I also have used Superdefense 2 for many years and loved it. I was surprised by the formula change, but after using the new formula for oily skin for a month I started to see great improvement. Then I received a sample of Superdefense for dry skin and thought why not mix the two formulas? Now I have the perfect cream for my combination skin and love the dewy skin tone it gives me.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
sunnygirl
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>