Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Moisturizers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.132 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 89
30%27 of 91would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
curlysister
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 26, 2014

bring back original

I have used clinique for over 20 years. I agree with the others who have said that the original formula with SPF 25 was better than this one!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
curlysister
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Tanya
Location: Huntersville, NC, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 22, 2014

Bring back the old formula!

I have used this product for years and unfortunately I do not like the new formulation. It is definitely thicker than the older formula and kind of tacky. It also smells weird. When I first bought it I almost returned it b/c it thought it was bad but that's just how it smells. And I also don't like that they lowered the SPF. But at least it's still a little bit higher SPF then their other day creams so that's the only reason why I've stuck with it. Please Clinique...bring back the old formula!!!!!! Or at least make this one better.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Tanya
Location: Huntersville, NC, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
CRS
Location: Washington State
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 9, 2014

I want the old formula back!

Used the old formula superdefense spf 25 for several years. Tried a different brand for a while and then decided I needed to stick with Superdefense that has worked well for many years, to find out the formula has changed. Feels heavy on my skin and makes my face feel dirty because it doesn't absorb in to my skin. Also, I've been breaking out with acne cysts since using the new formula. Not happy with this at all.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
CRS
Location: Washington State
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
so sad
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 8, 2014

Don't understand why Clinique changed this product

Why did Clinique change this product? The reviews were great, the product was great. I used this for 14 years. I am still trying to find a moisturizer to replace the MOISTURE ON CALL. I absolutely loved that product too. I have oily, sensitive skin and it's so hard to find products that work. When they do and they get discontinued or reformulated, it's so frustrating. I cannot use this product anymore and i will be returning it. Please bring back the old formula.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
so sad
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
AnnieP
Location: Colorado
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 3, 2014

Great improvement

I've been using this moisturizer for a few years and love it. Read the bad reviews for the update so requested a sample. Sample lasted me at least a week and I found that I liked it better than the previous version! So I bought some. Still love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
AnnieP
Location: Colorado
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Labbimom
Location: Maryland
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:September 1, 2014

Disappointed in new formula

I used the old super defense for years and am very disappointed in the new formula. It's very greasy and actually leaves an oily sheen to my skin. It's hard to believe anyone would replace a great product with such an inferior one.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Labbimom
Location: Maryland
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Carolina
Location: Arizona, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:August 26, 2014

Disappointed!

I repurchased the product thinking I was buying the same moisturizer I've been using for the past 5 years. When I used it for the first time I noticed that it had a very thick consistency and that it felt to heavy on my skin, that's when I realized they had changed the formula. This new version is awful, my skin feels greasy all day, and it never used to feel that way with the other formula. I'm very disappointed, I used to love Superdefense, it was the perfect moisturizer for my skin. I really hope they change it back, I've been using Clinique for a very long time, but sadly, this was the only product that used to work on me.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Carolina
Location: Arizona, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Kim
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:August 19, 2014

Why ruin a good thing?

I have been using the Clinique Superdefense SPF 25 for dry combination skin for many years, I want to say maybe even up to 10 years. The new formulation is now for levels 1 & 2, dry to very dry. The formula is heavy and sticky and honestly just awful. I don't see how someone who has combination dry skin, which many do have is now supposed to fit into the category of dry to very dry. I have loved the whipped light silky texture of the original version for skin type 2. It went on smooth, and just absorbed into my skin perfectly. I am pretty sure I am not the only one who feels this way. I really don't understand how this new product can seem better to anyone. After a 10 year devotion to your product, I can no longer continue using your moisturizer with this new formulation. I wish you would remember your loyal customers who have been using your same products for years before you change the formulation. I don't think the superdefense is made for my skin type anymore, as I am not dry to very dry or oily to very oily but something in between these extremes.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Kim
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:August 7, 2014

Too oily

I think the texture is too oily even for combination skin. I don't like to wear it if i am not putting some makeup because it makes my face all shiny and greasy. And I have combination skin, don't know how this would work for the oily skins. Somehow I am really disappointed.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(91)
Date:August 2, 2014

Bring back the old formula

I used this product for over 2 years & even got family members hooked on it. Recently, I noticed they changed the formula. The SPF was lowered & my skin has even started to break out since using this new product. Please bring back the old formula.
I paid for this product, not a sample.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 23, 2014

Totally useless for oily/combination oily skin!

I looked the reviews filtered by different skin types, and I have to agree. At this moment only 15% of oily or combination oily skin types recommend this product. 0% recommends, if you look the reviews from oily skin types.
This new product is only for people with a dry skin (55% recommends). New superdefence is way, WAY too greasy to be used for oily skin types. It is just like any other dry skin product, and of course you just can't use anything like that!
I'm annoyed I can't return this product back to the airport tax free store, and can't get my money back. Even more annoyed, I have to find a new product from some other brand. You just lost a loyal customer.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Nicole
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 20, 2014

Used to be a loyal customer!

I have had problem skin since my early 20's and after lots of trial and error I came upon the super defense/super rescue combination. It didn't aggravate my skin and actually helped improve the tone and texture. I had been a loyal customer/user for over 10 years. This last time when I went to replenish my stock, I discovered after I opened the super defense and used it that it had changed. I noticed it as soon as I put my finger in it as the consistency had changed, it was much thicker and greasy. I used it anyway, even though I had my doubts, and to my dismay after a couple of days I started breaking out again with huge cysts like I used to get. I was so disappointed, I'm not sure the reason for changing the formula but I decided to return it and change my skin care routine. My skin has not been the same, it's actually back to the way it used to be. Please, please, PLEASE bring back the old formula!! I'm 38 now and don't want to deal with these skin issues any more!!! Thank you.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nicole
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Cat
Location: Napier, New Zealand
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 19, 2014

Clinique super defence SPF 20

The new product is too thick. I usually keep three bottles going simultaneously. One at work, one in the car, one at work. The new product is much thicker/heavier than the previous product.
I bought TWO bottles of this "improved" product.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Cat
Location: Napier, New Zealand
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Former superdefence user
Location: Finland
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 17, 2014

Great product ruined to unusable!

I used superdefence for years and years and it was my absolute favourite. Not anymore. It is completely ruined.
Why so lousy product?
1) It has a night cream texture: leaves your skin tacky, greasy and shiny
2) Skin can't breath: generates pimples
3) Skin can't absorb the moisturizer: it just stays on like a coating
4) SPF 20 only, lowered from SPF 25
Can't help wondering if this actually is Repairware uplifting (spf added) just packed to Superdefence package: feels exactly the same.
Don't buy, you'll be disappointed. I was to extend I have to find a new product - and not from Clinique. I can't even understand how come Clinique even thought this kind of texture could be suited for oily/combination oily skin. This is the worst kind of moisturizer for us.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Former superdefence user
Location: Finland
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
katnun
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 11, 2014

Why change a great product???!!!

I'm very upset with Clinique for changing this product. I've been using Superdefense for years, and all of a sudden the SPF has been reduced from 25 to 20??!! If I had known this was coming, I would have stocked up on the original. Besides the reduction in SPF, which is bad enough, the formula is different, and not in a good way. I use the combination/oily version, and this new formula is MUCH thicker and greasier and causes my skin to practically ooze oil all day. I NEVER had this problem with the original formula. I won't be buying any more of this new formula. If Clinique comes to their senses and brings back the original formula, I will celebrate and gladly buy it once again!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
katnun
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Emily92
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 6, 2014

Best daily moisturizer

I use this in the summertime and I love the way it feels. Super lightweight with just enough SPF, especially since my face burns rather easily. It also makes my skin feel very soft, and protects it from the damaging effects if the sun. Great moisturizer!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Emily92
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Kristina
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 4, 2014

Bring back the higher SPF

I really liked this product when it had a higher SPF, but now it's really not worth it. If it's supposed to be "super defense" then make it so!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Kristina
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Suzy
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:July 3, 2014

Greasy

Feels greasy and tacky on skin, and was not absorbed. Skin looked shiny. Like a night cream.
Old one was perfect, softened skin, and provided excellent sun protection.
Don't like it and will return it, and probably have to look to another brand for something better.
I did NOT receive a free trial, although this programme is not accepting my answer NO to this question.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Suzy
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Primcessneemsh
Location: UK
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:June 24, 2014

Utterly disappointing. Why RUIN an amazing product

I am very picky with my skincare regime as my skin seems to need a little help to keep it clear from blemishes and to keep it looking hydrated and glowing. For the last 2 years the old formula superdefense SPF 25 moisturiser was the absolutely best thing I have ever used. I then purchased a new tub (after running out) and I knew immediately I didn't like this new style cream. No one had told me it was a formula and it is the worst. It doesn't feel silky and smooth but sticky and thick and WAY too heavy and gloopy. My skin feels tacky rather than smooth and nourished and after only using it for 3 days I have developed spots which is so upsetting. I now will have to find another face cream that will suit my needs and I really don't want to as it's such a pain. I can no longer recommend this product as it's completely ruined and I can't use it for fear it will make my face worse. Please bring back the old formula.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Primcessneemsh
Location: UK
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Ciela
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(91)
Date:June 22, 2014

This *used to be* a great product.

I used the old Superdefense for years, and I loved it. However, the new product is terrible. I have dry combo skin, and the new product leaves it greasy and never absorbs, plus they have decreased the SPF. The new product claims that as a result of the change more skin types benefit, which is absolutely false. There is less personalization in this product, and it isn't worth the money at all.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Ciela
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>