Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.66 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 142
43%62 of 144would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Madison, WI, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:April 21, 2016

Love Superdefense, confused about the hate for it

This was the product that got my hooked on Clinique. It is only now, a couple years later, that I realize the true value in being able to cater your facial moisturizer to your skin type! It absorbs quickly and doesn't make my face feel greasy afterwards. It provides protection for my freckly face and prevents me from getting burnt on a sunny or overcast day. Twenty SPF is adequate coverage, especially if you layer it with other SPF Clinique products, so I'm not really sure why people are rating it so harshly... I hope it doesn't get discontinued because of that. I'm also wondering where the smaller tub of this went that was around $27?
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Madison, WI, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Illinois
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(144)
Date:March 17, 2016

Good to know

I have not tried this new formula. Like other people I am a faithful user of the "old" Superdefense. The jar I bought back in the summer is running out and I came online to order a new one. After reading the changes introduced to the formula and the unpleasant reactions it provoked in many cases, though, I decided to not proceed with the purchase. This goes to demonstrate that people read these comments, and so should Clinique. Please, return to the old, excellent composition that we all liked and I will gladly return as a customer.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Illinois
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(144)
Date:February 14, 2016

Horrible product

I read the reviews and figured I'd try it anyway...not all of the reviews were bad. This product caused my skin to dull and become bumpy. I had used the product for a couple months before I fully realized what changes had occurred to my face. I stopped using the product and within a week my healthy and smooth skin reappeared. I used the dry combination super defense moisturizer for YEARS then they had to go and switch it to this. Bad business Clinique. I don't like any of your other facial moisturizers and want a moisturizer with a higher SPF so I will be going to a different company.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
I'mOver 65
GenderFemale
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:January 9, 2016

The best

I've used Superdefense for years - since it originally came out. I, too, was upset that the SPF went from 25 to 20. But, I've discovered that I have the same protection as before. This is my morning moisturizer year-round. I don't need to re-apply it unless I sweat A LOT. I'm almost 68 and have been told numerous times that I look so much younger because of my beautiful skin. I've introduced this product to many friends and acquaintances who are also impressed at how well their skin is protected from the sun. Some have even jokingly complained that their face doesn't tan at all. That's a good complaint! I really hope this product never gets discontinued (like my favourite Repairwear night cream). I have dry combination skin and apply this cream lightly. Admittedly I do sponge off the excess shine on my face after 5 minutes of application just before applying make-up; I'd rather do that and have great skin then apply a cream that is totally absorbed but not effective.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
I'mOver 65
GenderFemale
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:January 6, 2016

Superdefense dry/very dry moisturizer

Amazing product! I have used it daily for years - provides wonderful moisturizing without greasiness - please NEVER discontinue this product :)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Texas
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(144)
Date:December 19, 2015

LOVE IT!!

I have used this product for years after trying EVERYTHING on the market. It keeps my face feeling great and reduces those middle age break outs and helps to reduce lines and wrinkles.I've had to start ordering my product on-line because the local store couldn't keep it in stock and I had to go without for a few days at a time and that was not acceptable! I definatley felt the difference of not having it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Texas
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(144)
Date:November 7, 2015

This new formula is too oily

I have an acne prone skin and the old formula was amazing, it was very fresh almost like water and it was absorbed instantly. This new formula which I have been using for over a year, on the other hand, is too oily and creamy, my skin never absorbs it properly and I get oily very fast throughout the day. It's a shame because it used to be my go to moisturizer but I will stop buying it now.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Sonora, CA and Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(144)
Date:October 31, 2015

Makes wrinkles worse now

I was an avid fan of Superdefense spf 25. Not so with this new formulation. Sticky and noticed that it made the lines around my lips worse. I found some Superdefense SPF 25 on ebay and have been purchasing it there ever since the reformulation. (Lip lines went back to normal with old formula). The inventory is almost depleted though. I will never understand why a company messes with a perfect product, unless of course to increase their profit margin. It shows with the substandard ingredients. Please bring back the old formula and charge us more money.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Sonora, CA and Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Georgia, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(144)
Date:October 12, 2015

Why was the SPF reduced?

I was very happy with this product. I like it's texture, scent (or lack thereof), how dense and moisturizing it is on my skin; but, why did you reduce the SPF on it?
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Georgia, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Belgium
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(144)
Date:October 8, 2015

Excellent product, but low SPF

I have combination skin, with some dry patches and I think this is a great product. It is not greesy, my make-up applies very beautiful, and since I have been using this product I don't have so many dry patches anymore. I think it is great that the product comes in two formulas for 2 skin types: one for dry and one for the oily skin types. A bit dissapointing is that the SPF is so low. As this is a very light moisturiser and as it feels really light on the skin, it should be wearable for the summer, but as it does not have a high SPF, a sunscreen protector is needed. I think that this is a bit of a downfall. But overall I find this a very good product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Belgium
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Rhode Island, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:October 8, 2015

Light, Absorbing, Nourishing

It is a great moisturizer with SPF. Gets absorbed by skin, very light texture and super hydrating. I have been trying different moisturizers for over 10 years now and I stand by this product
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Rhode Island, USA
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Los Angeles
I'mNever telling
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:October 8, 2015

A nice, light moisturizer w/ SPF

My skin breaks out very easily. There are very few moisturizers I can use on my face, but this one works for me. And the SPF is a great bonus.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Los Angeles
I'mNever telling
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:June 29, 2015

Great Product!

I have exceptionally dry skin. I normally use the Moisture Surge Intense, but was looking to make a change since we've moved into the summer months and thought I could use something with a SPF. After consulting this website and talking to a Clinque consultant I thought this product coupled with the Super Rescue would be a good move to make. They were right! 20 SPF is great, it keeps me protected. The texture is nice and light. The Moisture Surge Intense feels like a big heavy cream and in comparison, this is a nice light cream that doesn't weigh me down as much. I would recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Wisconsin
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:June 17, 2015

Before you jump on the illegitimate SPF wagon..

I find it disappointing to read so many 1 star reviews on this cream because of a small, insignificant change in SPF. Sunscreens rated SPF 15 block 93 percent to 95 percent of the sun's rays and ratings of SPF 30 block 98 percent of the radiation. It doesn't matter if you've been using SPF 25 for 55 years, that doesn't change the fact that the difference in protection from the old SD to the new SD is so little it is almost irrelevant. So it really doesn't make a significant difference whether you are wearing SPF 20 or SPF 110. In fact, The American Cancer Society recommends a SPF 15, stating that it is sufficient sun protection. Look it up. It's embarrassing to me that so many people have been using this product for years and think they have the credibility to leave a legitimate review on this product when they don't even have the slightest clue on how to read and comprehend sunscreen labels. So before you ignorant people go off on a tandem because of this insignificant change in sun protection, I suggest you educate yourself first so you don't look like an ignoramus. :) They've added more ingredients to this product, and because of that they had to remove a small amount of SPF in order to retain the product's favorable texture.. Or you folks would be complaining about as well. :) When you add ingredients to a product, it changes the formula, how it feels and acts on the skin, how well it stays, how well it absorbs, etc. You should probably look that up as well.
This cream is awesome. Has 8 antioxidants, broad spectrum coverage and anti-irritants to soothe my extremely sensitive skin (I get burning, itching and redness at least once a month). This cream, partnered with my Super Rescue night time repair has not failed to pamper and treat my picky skin and keep it soft, smooth and refined. I recommend this to those with very sensitive skin who would also be interested in age prevention benefits as well.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Wisconsin
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
using Clinique for6-10 years
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Tucson, AZ
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(144)
Date:June 1, 2015

Okay - was better

Like many of the other reviewers, the newer formula isn't as good. I have semi-oily skin and loved the prior version of this (used it for many years). Went on cleanly and didn't make my face feel oily. The newer formula is thicker and goes on okay - I seem to need more due to the fact it doesn't spread as nicely. I don't like the finish with the newer version - my skin isn't as smooth after applying this version, it requires more effort for me to spread my foundation over the top of this moisturizer. Also, after a little while my face feels oilier - the older formula didn't do this. Final issue, like the other reviewers why drop to 20 spf when 25 spf was great - I never got sunburn on my face even 24 hours after applying the moisturizer - this newer version isn't as effective. If the formula isn't updated again, I won't buy this again.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Tucson, AZ
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Northern, VA, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(144)
Date:June 1, 2015

Bring Back Original Superdefense

I thought I was the only one having problems with this new formula (not just the decreased SPF) but after reading recent reviews I see I'm not alone. The decreased SPF is very disappointing, but the problems are really in the greasy consistency of the new formula. It doesn't absorb into the skin, causes breakouts, and in fact INCREASES the oil in my skin. I had used the original Superdefense for at least the past 5 years, but I won't buy this new one again. Funny enough, when I returned my jar to the store, the Clinique associate at the counter was "shocked" I didn't like it, she said "everyone loves the new formula!"
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Northern, VA, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(144)
Date:May 21, 2015

I really like this product!!

I switched to the New Super Defense when Clinique stopped making the Repairwear Day Moisturizer which I liked. I had used the original Super Defense but it seemed greasy. This new product reminds me alot of the Repairwear Day cream only better so I am very pleased with it. I put it on in the morning and my skin stays moist all day, even in the winter. Thanks! Hope this product line remains!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: WI
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:April 22, 2015

Great daily moisturizer

I'm in my early 30s and my skin concern is (unfortunately) twofold: occasional acne AND fine lines. This moisturizer keeps my acne at bay while also providing sufficient moisture all day. I love the way it makes my skin look and feel, and I also like it because it's SPF 20 -- good for age prevention. I use it in conjunction with Clinique's acne products as well as the Laser Repairwear eye cream.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: WI
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Greenwich, CT, USA
I'm41-50
GenderMale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(144)
Date:April 19, 2015

Great Moisturizer!

Goes on smoothly and absorbs well. I am not sure why there are so many negative reviews. This is a great product for the money. It works well on my sensitive, break out prone skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Greenwich, CT, USA
I'm41-50
GenderMale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: NJ
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(144)
Date:April 16, 2015

Bottom line more important than happy customers

Why is Clinique changing the formula on all of their best selling products. (bottom line?). I've been using their products for almost 20 years and have been perfectly happy. Now I spend hours trying other brands and products trying to find something I like. Such a bummer, the bottom line over rules customer satisfaction.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: NJ
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>