Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Moisturizers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.591 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 130
41%54 of 132would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:June 29, 2015

Great Product!

I have exceptionally dry skin. I normally use the Moisture Surge Intense, but was looking to make a change since we've moved into the summer months and thought I could use something with a SPF. After consulting this website and talking to a Clinque consultant I thought this product coupled with the Super Rescue would be a good move to make. They were right! 20 SPF is great, it keeps me protected. The texture is nice and light. The Moisture Surge Intense feels like a big heavy cream and in comparison, this is a nice light cream that doesn't weigh me down as much. I would recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Wisconsin
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:June 17, 2015

Before you jump on the illegitimate SPF wagon..

I find it disappointing to read so many 1 star reviews on this cream because of a small, insignificant change in SPF. Sunscreens rated SPF 15 block 93 percent to 95 percent of the sun's rays and ratings of SPF 30 block 98 percent of the radiation. It doesn't matter if you've been using SPF 25 for 55 years, that doesn't change the fact that the difference in protection from the old SD to the new SD is so little it is almost irrelevant. So it really doesn't make a significant difference whether you are wearing SPF 20 or SPF 110. In fact, The American Cancer Society recommends a SPF 15, stating that it is sufficient sun protection. Look it up. It's embarrassing to me that so many people have been using this product for years and think they have the credibility to leave a legitimate review on this product when they don't even have the slightest clue on how to read and comprehend sunscreen labels. So before you ignorant people go off on a tandem because of this insignificant change in sun protection, I suggest you educate yourself first so you don't look like an ignoramus. :) They've added more ingredients to this product, and because of that they had to remove a small amount of SPF in order to retain the product's favorable texture.. Or you folks would be complaining about as well. :) When you add ingredients to a product, it changes the formula, how it feels and acts on the skin, how well it stays, how well it absorbs, etc. You should probably look that up as well.
This cream is awesome. Has 8 antioxidants, broad spectrum coverage and anti-irritants to soothe my extremely sensitive skin (I get burning, itching and redness at least once a month). This cream, partnered with my Super Rescue night time repair has not failed to pamper and treat my picky skin and keep it soft, smooth and refined. I recommend this to those with very sensitive skin who would also be interested in age prevention benefits as well.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Wisconsin
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Tucson, AZ
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(132)
Date:June 1, 2015

Okay - was better

Like many of the other reviewers, the newer formula isn't as good. I have semi-oily skin and loved the prior version of this (used it for many years). Went on cleanly and didn't make my face feel oily. The newer formula is thicker and goes on okay - I seem to need more due to the fact it doesn't spread as nicely. I don't like the finish with the newer version - my skin isn't as smooth after applying this version, it requires more effort for me to spread my foundation over the top of this moisturizer. Also, after a little while my face feels oilier - the older formula didn't do this. Final issue, like the other reviewers why drop to 20 spf when 25 spf was great - I never got sunburn on my face even 24 hours after applying the moisturizer - this newer version isn't as effective. If the formula isn't updated again, I won't buy this again.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Tucson, AZ
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Northern, VA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(132)
Date:June 1, 2015

Bring Back Original Superdefense

I thought I was the only one having problems with this new formula (not just the decreased SPF) but after reading recent reviews I see I'm not alone. The decreased SPF is very disappointing, but the problems are really in the greasy consistency of the new formula. It doesn't absorb into the skin, causes breakouts, and in fact INCREASES the oil in my skin. I had used the original Superdefense for at least the past 5 years, but I won't buy this new one again. Funny enough, when I returned my jar to the store, the Clinique associate at the counter was "shocked" I didn't like it, she said "everyone loves the new formula!"
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Northern, VA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(132)
Date:May 21, 2015

I really like this product!!

I switched to the New Super Defense when Clinique stopped making the Repairwear Day Moisturizer which I liked. I had used the original Super Defense but it seemed greasy. This new product reminds me alot of the Repairwear Day cream only better so I am very pleased with it. I put it on in the morning and my skin stays moist all day, even in the winter. Thanks! Hope this product line remains!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: WI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:April 22, 2015

Great daily moisturizer

I'm in my early 30s and my skin concern is (unfortunately) twofold: occasional acne AND fine lines. This moisturizer keeps my acne at bay while also providing sufficient moisture all day. I love the way it makes my skin look and feel, and I also like it because it's SPF 20 -- good for age prevention. I use it in conjunction with Clinique's acne products as well as the Laser Repairwear eye cream.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: WI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Greenwich, CT, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Male
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:April 19, 2015

Great Moisturizer!

Goes on smoothly and absorbs well. I am not sure why there are so many negative reviews. This is a great product for the money. It works well on my sensitive, break out prone skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Greenwich, CT, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Male
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: NJ
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(132)
Date:April 16, 2015

Bottom line more important than happy customers

Why is Clinique changing the formula on all of their best selling products. (bottom line?). I've been using their products for almost 20 years and have been perfectly happy. Now I spend hours trying other brands and products trying to find something I like. Such a bummer, the bottom line over rules customer satisfaction.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: NJ
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Florida, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:April 13, 2015

I am switching to this!

I have been using the same face cream for about 10 years. I received a sample of this cream in a an offer bag and I LOVE IT. My face is so smooth! I have very sensitive skin and this cream does not irritate my complexion at all. I love the SPF and it is a nice consistency (like cold cream) with a very faint delicate scent. I am switching to this face cream starting today! (I am 51 years old.)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: Florida, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: St. Louis
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(132)
Date:April 6, 2015

Doesn't burn my eyes like the old version

I know this moisturizer isn't for the eye area, but the old version of this product ran into my eyes somehow anyway, and it stung. It also had a bad sunscreen smell. This new version has neither of these problems, and I do feel hydrated from it. I don't find it greasy, maybe because I am using a smaller amount than those who are having problems with that. I love that it has antioxidants!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: St. Louis
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: United States
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:March 5, 2015

Love the way it is

Even though the review of this product is not as much good as the other clinique products, I wanted to give it a try.Actually i like to try different moisturizer and i don't like most of them. But I really really like this moisturizer. Since I have combination skin, I don't like thick and oily moisturizer. It is the perfect day cream for me. It is light, i has spf and most importantly i does not break me out. I m planning to purchase it again.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: United States
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Florham Park, NJ, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(132)
Date:February 18, 2015

Not good for combination and t-zone skin

I have always used the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, I was pleased with the product. Clinique advertised this new cream with SPF. After 2 weeks my skin had a massive amount of break outs in my forehead, t-zone and chin area. I kept using it, I finally stopped using it because it was one pimple after the other. It has been a couple of days without using it and I already notice less oil on my skin and the break outs stopped. this cream clogged my pores. Please DO NOT purchase, although it is advertised for combination/oily skin
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Florham Park, NJ, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Los Angeles
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(132)
Date:February 9, 2015

Not nearly as good as it used to be

I am afraid I must agree with all the negative reviews. I used the old formula for years - I loved it and recommended it to everyone. It was the perfect combination of moisturizer and sunscreen. This new version goes on heavy and leaves my face shiny and uncomfortable feeling. I cover the shinyness with my powder foundation or the moisturizer would be completely unusable. My face now feels like it has a sticky layer over it instead of soft and silky as it did with the old formula. I won't purchase again.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Los Angeles
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Waldorf, MD, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:January 22, 2015

Great Moisturizer!!!

I am 35 and black and had been very lax about skincare and sun protection. I thought because I didn't wear make-up (at the time) I didn't need to do much to my face outside of splashing some water on it from time to time. I started using Clinique's products this past summer, and this is one of my favorites. Whenever I will be out of my home for any length of time, this is the moisturizer I apply on top of the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion. It does look oily to me when I look in the mirror, but everyone else calls it a glow, and my family and friends have finally stopped asking if I'm pregnant. :-) It stays on all day under my foundation, and it absolutely provides the moisture I was looking for. I absolutely love this product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Waldorf, MD, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 15, 2014

Peace of mind and a hydrated face...

At the age of 21, I am abnormally concerned with the health of my face (MAJOR fear of wrinkles). This product meets all the requirements of what it takes to protect your face from harsh environments. It is never too early to start making sunscreen a part of your every day routine!!! Use sparingly, a little goes along way. After applying, it takes a moment to soak into your face. It might make your face slightly shiny or greasy feeling for the first few minutes. DO NOT FRET OR GIVE UP! The more you wear it, the more your face gets accustomed to absorbing all that moisture. Your face is soft, protected, and moisturized all day. TEAM NO WRINKLES... Am I right? Clinique never ceases to amaze me.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 22-30
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 12, 2014

Really good daily moisturizer, a little heavy

I have to say that it is one of the best daily moisturizers I have been used. It makes my skin feel soft and comfortable. I'm new for this product so I don't know whether the old formula was better, as others mentioned. It is a little bit too heavy though. However, since I'm using the formula for dry skins, I will definitely try the oil skin formula after I finish this bottle.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm: 22-30
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: WI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 11, 2014

Great light moisturizer

I like this product. It doesn't moisturize quite as well as the dramatically different moisturizer but it's a great one for a light daily moisturizer. Personally, it has a tad greasier after-effect from the dramatically different moisturizing lotion but I still think it's great. It's not my go-to, mainly because of the price, but it's a good product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: WI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Norway
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 11, 2014

My skinsaver

This moisturizer keeps my skin from flearing up. It feels nice on the skin and creates a protecting layer on my skin. For the first time in 10 years my skin stayed calm thru a week stay in New York! Perfect!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Norway
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 11, 2014

New very dry/dry/combination formula is not good

I was so disappointed when Clinique revamped this formula. I loved the old Superdefense Dry/Combination. It was THE BEST. Moisturizing and made my skin soft and really bright. I tried the new formula this summer -- awful. My skin looked greasy and dull. I've been substituting with the new combination/oily, which at least doesn't make my skin look so dull, but I am in no way as satisfied as I was, and I'm keeping an eye out for other SPF moisturizers.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superdefense™ Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(132)
Date:December 8, 2014

Awesome product!!

I tried so many other moisturizers from many different brands and as usual I always go back to Clinique :)
I have an oily skin, I was never satisfied like I am now with this Superdefense, my skin is not greasy during the day anymore and it is not so matte either, and I like it this way :)
the "dramatically different" was doing the job very good but I needed SPF so I used to put "super city block" but it was giving me a deadly matte look to my face..
when "Superdefense" came out I was so happy to have a moisturizer for oily skin with SPF20.
Thank you Clinique for listening to our needs :)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Florida
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>