Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20

Average Customer Rating:
2.18 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 98
32%32 of 100would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Review 1 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Moe
Location: Central California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 19, 2014

Super defense moisturizer

I've been using this product for years and loved it. It was light weight and had an SPF of 25. The new formula is heavy and sticky and the SPF level has gone down. Can't use this anymore. Bring back the old formula please!!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Moe
Location: Central California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Chris
Location: New York
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 13, 2014

unhappy with the change

I used to love this product. Have been a Clinique user for over 30 years. I started using the new jar and immediately broke out. I kept using for several days and my skin got worse. I am upset that I spent 47 dollars and can't use the product. I am now searching for a new moisturizer. Can't imagine why they changed the formula!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Chris
Location: New York
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Becky
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 8, 2014

New Formula

I wish Clinique would blend the old formula with the new. The old formula had a higher SPF but would leave my skin a little oily at the end of the day. This new formula has a lower SPF but I feel as if it's not moisturizing enough.
I use this product as my daily moisturizer.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Becky
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Deb
Location: California
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 6, 2014

My Daily Defense Dose

I use my Superdefense SPF moisturizer daily and love it! It feels great, never oily and I love the SPF coverage it provides.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Deb
Location: California
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
CelinaVT
Location: Huntsville, AL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 6, 2014

Good but not great

It is... ok. Would be better if it moisturizes more. Is ok...
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
CelinaVT
Location: Huntsville, AL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
April
Location: Wisconsin
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 6, 2014

Good stuff... a little heavy

I really like this moisturizer--used it during a stressful conference in a dry climate, and it held up without causing breakouts--a win in my book!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
April
Location: Wisconsin
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Christine
Location: Oak Park, CA 91377, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 6, 2014

Nice improvement

After reading recent reviews I was concerned because it was time to reorder my supply of Superdefense. I actually like the new version Superdefense better. It super hydrates my skin without feeling greasy, and I see a noticeable difference in my complexion.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Christine
Location: Oak Park, CA 91377, USA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
mom3
Location: Iowa
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:October 5, 2014

Bring back the old formula

Have used this product for years for the sunscreen protection. Do not like new formula.
Please bring back the old formula.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
mom3
Location: Iowa
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
steubels
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 29, 2014

New Formula Does Not Like Me

I used the prior Dry Combination formula for many years. Please bring back the old formula. This new one does not absorb into my skin as well, and if I wear my normal mineral powder over it, I break out. I started using Superdefense at the recommendation of a dermatologist & had never experienced problems until now. Shame on the sales clerk who told me it was still the same, just a new name. Also, I'd prefer the higher SPF brought back. I won't buy this again unless you return to the old version.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
steubels
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
curlysister
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 26, 2014

bring back original

I have used clinique for over 20 years. I agree with the others who have said that the original formula with SPF 25 was better than this one!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
curlysister
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Tanya
Location: Huntersville, NC, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 22, 2014

Bring back the old formula!

I have used this product for years and unfortunately I do not like the new formulation. It is definitely thicker than the older formula and kind of tacky. It also smells weird. When I first bought it I almost returned it b/c it thought it was bad but that's just how it smells. And I also don't like that they lowered the SPF. But at least it's still a little bit higher SPF then their other day creams so that's the only reason why I've stuck with it. Please Clinique...bring back the old formula!!!!!! Or at least make this one better.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Tanya
Location: Huntersville, NC, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
CRS
Location: Washington State
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 9, 2014

I want the old formula back!

Used the old formula superdefense spf 25 for several years. Tried a different brand for a while and then decided I needed to stick with Superdefense that has worked well for many years, to find out the formula has changed. Feels heavy on my skin and makes my face feel dirty because it doesn't absorb in to my skin. Also, I've been breaking out with acne cysts since using the new formula. Not happy with this at all.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
CRS
Location: Washington State
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
so sad
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 8, 2014

Don't understand why Clinique changed this product

Why did Clinique change this product? The reviews were great, the product was great. I used this for 14 years. I am still trying to find a moisturizer to replace the MOISTURE ON CALL. I absolutely loved that product too. I have oily, sensitive skin and it's so hard to find products that work. When they do and they get discontinued or reformulated, it's so frustrating. I cannot use this product anymore and i will be returning it. Please bring back the old formula.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
so sad
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
AnnieP
Location: Colorado
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 3, 2014

Great improvement

I've been using this moisturizer for a few years and love it. Read the bad reviews for the update so requested a sample. Sample lasted me at least a week and I found that I liked it better than the previous version! So I bought some. Still love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
AnnieP
Location: Colorado
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Labbimom
Location: Maryland
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:September 1, 2014

Disappointed in new formula

I used the old super defense for years and am very disappointed in the new formula. It's very greasy and actually leaves an oily sheen to my skin. It's hard to believe anyone would replace a great product with such an inferior one.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Labbimom
Location: Maryland
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Carolina
Location: Arizona, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:August 26, 2014

Disappointed!

I repurchased the product thinking I was buying the same moisturizer I've been using for the past 5 years. When I used it for the first time I noticed that it had a very thick consistency and that it felt to heavy on my skin, that's when I realized they had changed the formula. This new version is awful, my skin feels greasy all day, and it never used to feel that way with the other formula. I'm very disappointed, I used to love Superdefense, it was the perfect moisturizer for my skin. I really hope they change it back, I've been using Clinique for a very long time, but sadly, this was the only product that used to work on me.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Carolina
Location: Arizona, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Kim
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:August 19, 2014

Why ruin a good thing?

I have been using the Clinique Superdefense SPF 25 for dry combination skin for many years, I want to say maybe even up to 10 years. The new formulation is now for levels 1 & 2, dry to very dry. The formula is heavy and sticky and honestly just awful. I don't see how someone who has combination dry skin, which many do have is now supposed to fit into the category of dry to very dry. I have loved the whipped light silky texture of the original version for skin type 2. It went on smooth, and just absorbed into my skin perfectly. I am pretty sure I am not the only one who feels this way. I really don't understand how this new product can seem better to anyone. After a 10 year devotion to your product, I can no longer continue using your moisturizer with this new formulation. I wish you would remember your loyal customers who have been using your same products for years before you change the formulation. I don't think the superdefense is made for my skin type anymore, as I am not dry to very dry or oily to very oily but something in between these extremes.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Kim
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:August 7, 2014

Too oily

I think the texture is too oily even for combination skin. I don't like to wear it if i am not putting some makeup because it makes my face all shiny and greasy. And I have combination skin, don't know how this would work for the oily skins. Somehow I am really disappointed.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
weesh
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(100)
Date:August 2, 2014

Bring back the old formula

I used this product for over 2 years & even got family members hooked on it. Recently, I noticed they changed the formula. The SPF was lowered & my skin has even started to break out since using this new product. Please bring back the old formula.
I paid for this product, not a sample.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
JLou
Location: Texas
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superdefense Daily Defense Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(100)
Date:July 23, 2014

Totally useless for oily/combination oily skin!

I looked the reviews filtered by different skin types, and I have to agree. At this moment only 15% of oily or combination oily skin types recommend this product. 0% recommends, if you look the reviews from oily skin types.
This new product is only for people with a dry skin (55% recommends). New superdefence is way, WAY too greasy to be used for oily skin types. It is just like any other dry skin product, and of course you just can't use anything like that!
I'm annoyed I can't return this product back to the airport tax free store, and can't get my money back. Even more annoyed, I have to find a new product from some other brand. You just lost a loyal customer.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Nelli
Location: Sweden
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>