Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Lip Glosses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Almost Lipstick

Almost Lipstick

Average Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(720 Reviews) 671
93%672 of 720would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Almost Lipstick
Review 1 for Almost Lipstick
Annalise
Location: California
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 18, 2011

Can't leave the house with out it!

For the past 8 years I have bought this product. I swear by it! It's beautiful, natural, moisturizing. You can dress it up or dress it down. I wear it almost every day!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: beautiful color, moisturizing, light weight
Annalise
Location: California
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+49points
54out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Almost Lipstick
jmusser
Location: Chicago
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 30, 2014

Spicy Honey...PLEASE

I have been a fan of black honey forever!! However I just got the three pack of spicy honey, chic honey and tender honey. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the spicy honey, it goes with everything looks natural and moisturizes well. Is there any plans (I HOPE) to bring it back??? Please???
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
jmusser
Location: Chicago
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Almost Lipstick
Aud19
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 25, 2014

Favorite for Years!

This has been my mom's favorite lippy for years! It's easy to wear, very comfortable, and looks great! I've purchased this for her several times and know I can't go wrong. I've tried it a few times myself and think it's lovely as well, but I'm more of a gloss girl. Great product! Don't ever discontinue!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Aud19
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Almost Lipstick
Kim
Location: Colorado
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 23, 2014

The Holy Grail of Lipsticks

I have red hair, brown eyes, ivory skin and light olive freckles. So many shades of lipstick look just wrong on me. Too orange, too pink, too clashy, too blah. Black Honey is absolutely perfect for me. I love the sheerness. It's like - my lips, but better. Lovely texture too. Will never ever be without this.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Kim
Location: Colorado
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Almost Lipstick
Anissa
Location: Avenel, NJ
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 21, 2014
I first got this product years ago from a friend who "doesn't like wearing lipstick" and man I'm so in love with this! It moistens your lips for a very long time and the color is literally perfect for every occasions!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Anissa
Location: Avenel, NJ
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Almost Lipstick
Anne
Location: New York, NY, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 8, 2014

Bring out more colors!

I like this color, black honey yet I am very upset that you guys do not bring out again the other colors that you used to sell!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Anne
Location: New York, NY, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Almost Lipstick
Erin
Location: PA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:August 1, 2014

Don't know what I'd do if it ever went away...

I've been wearing this for over half my life at this point, all seasons, all outfits, day and night. It's the only cosmetic item my husband can confidently purchase for me and I reliably find a tube in my stocking every Christmas morning. Just the best!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Erin
Location: PA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Almost Lipstick
Jess
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:July 28, 2014

Insane

I first heard about this lipstick when I was walking through Sephora and saw another person trying it on. I decided to try it as well and instantly fell in love. It's hands down the best lipstick I've ever used and have been using and buying it continuously for the past 3 years. The color merges with your natural shade to form a unique color that is universally flattering. It has great build, so you can go from faux natural to a full lip color. It's amazing and a purchase you will not regret.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Jess
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Almost Lipstick
Rojoco
I'm: 31-40
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(720)
Date:July 19, 2014

Love it

Maybe my favorite Clinique product. Great versatile color, easily appropriate day or night, casual or professional or dressy. Lasts longer than most glosses, more like a tinted balm, smoothe and lovely.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Rojoco
I'm: 31-40
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Almost Lipstick
Jen
Location: Cape May, NJ 08204, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:July 4, 2014

Perfect for summer!

Lightweight and moisturizing, just a hint of color but is definitely buildable. I received this as a sample with my foundation purchase, and I will definitely purchase when I run out! Does for lips what bronzer does to my fair skinned cheeks - adds life after foundation! Looks very natural on it's own, but I really fell in love when I added a champagne colored gloss over it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Jen
Location: Cape May, NJ 08204, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Almost Lipstick
Ren
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:June 21, 2014

Love it!

Got this product in the sample size. It glides on, even texture, and looks fantastic with my skin tone. I'm 20, dark brown hair, medium toned asian skin with lots of yellow undertones. A couple of swipes for day and a few more for a richer color at night. Will be purchasing when my sample runs out.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Ren
I'm: 18-21
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Almost Lipstick
SDMama
Location: Sioux Falls, SD, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(720)
Date:June 15, 2014

I really want to love Black Honey, but...

Black Honey is beautiful and feels great when I first apply it early in the morning. But... the is no staying power. And the more I apply, the more "crumbly" my lips appear and the grease & less attractive Black Honey becomes. I love the eyeshadow "Black Honey" that is in the Neutral Territory 2 palette. I'd like Clinique to consider a Chubby Stick INTENSE in Black Honey.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
SDMama
Location: Sioux Falls, SD, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Almost Lipstick
HoustonLola
Location: Houston, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(720)
Date:June 9, 2014

Black Honey is a Fantastic Color!

When I was in high school (~1982), my grandmother bought some Clinique products at the mall and one of the free samples she was given was a little pot of lip gloss in Black Honey. She didn't like the color, so she gave it to me. I used the heck out of that pot and finally used the last of it my Freshman year in college. Even though Clinique no longer offers Black Honey in a lip gloss, I'm so glad it's now in this lovely light lipstick. I'm almost 50, but wearing this color makes me feel 18 again!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
HoustonLola
Location: Houston, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Almost Lipstick
gwats
Location: Pearl City, HI, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(720)
Date:June 4, 2014

Not quite for me

I read how this color was good shade for everyone, and I agree that it goes on very sheer and can be built up as desired, but the color just doesn't jive for me. I feel like it gives me a "porcelain doll" look which doesn't work for my everyday needs. It tastes a bit of castor oil but it isn't too overpowering.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
gwats
Location: Pearl City, HI, USA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Almost Lipstick
Silva
Location: Oakland, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 31, 2014

The best everyday lip color.

I love love love this lipstick. I wear it daily (apply it about 4 times a day). It's very smooth and hydrating and several coats make it look dark and dressy for evenings.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Silva
Location: Oakland, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Almost Lipstick
pinkdiamond
Location: San Francisco
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 28, 2014

Great Lipstick

Originally I received a small "Black Honey" Almost Lipstick as a sample when I bought something else. I decided to go ahead and buy a full sized product because I really like this lipstick. The color seems to go with anything I am wearing and matches my skin tone very well; I think it will match well with anyone's skin tone and colors. I like the size and shape of it, too--it is longer and thinner than a regular lipstick so it fits in my purse/small makeup pouch easily. Also, I have very dry lips and other lipsticks can look cakey--not this one. It is light but has good color and a moisturizing texture. If you are expecting it to stay on all day, though, it won't do that. It's more of a lip gloss than a thick creamy product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: universal color
Cons: doesn't stay on
pinkdiamond
Location: San Francisco
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Almost Lipstick
MagicBean
Location: Northern Virginia
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 27, 2014

Bring back more colors!

I have been wearing this since the 90's and back for some refills today. I love Almost Lipstick and I rarely ever wear anything else on my lips... the texture is light and not sticky, the colors sheer but definitely there, there is no strong scent or flavor. While I am here I wanted to chime in with those asking for more colors to be brought back! Along with Black Honey, I also have Chic Honey and Luscious Honey from a few years ago but they are almost gone and I will be really sad to be without Luscious Honey in the summertime. There is a seller on Amazon listing one for $50 right now!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
MagicBean
Location: Northern Virginia
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Almost Lipstick
pinkbeluga
Location: Charleston, SC
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 26, 2014

Bring back the Pink!

I was very disappointed to find out that the pink color that I had received w/ bonus kits had been discontinued. Please bring back that wonderful pink that I could wear with anything.
No
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
pinkbeluga
Location: Charleston, SC
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Almost Lipstick
AHutah
Location: Utah
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 25, 2014

Love the Almost Lipstick BUT need more colors

I have used Almost Lipstick for several years and have been very disappointed that there is only one color available where there used to be several colors. This dark purple does nothing for those of us with pale or very pale skin. I am a blond with very pale skin (the foundation I wear is Ivory and it is almost too dark for my skin tone) and trying to wear this deep a shade of lipstick would make me look like my lips arrive ten minutes before the rest of my face. Sorry but, that is not the look I want. Bring back the other shades. Clearly I am not the only person who cannot wear this shade.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: light coverage yet keeps lips moist
Cons: only one color offered & it is too dark
AHutah
Location: Utah
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Almost Lipstick
JDRM
Location: Pgh, PA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(720)
Date:May 20, 2014

I wanted to love it.

I wanted to love it. I read everywhere that this works with every skin tone on every person. I read that you can build up the color to your preference. As soon as I got it, I rushed to try it, hoping it would be my new go-to. However, even the lightest coat made my lips look brownish or blackish. It didn't have that great dewy look that I saw on the blogs. I tried it again once I put makeup on, thinking it would be better. That made no difference. I returned this product.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
JDRM
Location: Pgh, PA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 Next >>>