Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Almost Lipstick

Almost Lipstick

Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(684 Reviews) 639
94%641of 684reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Almost Lipstick
Review 1 for Almost Lipstick
Bymeduzae
Location: Tucson Az
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Formula/colors don't match on-line swatches

January 19, 2012
"I have been one of the Black Honey cult members and a fan of Almost Lipstick from "way back" when Clinique also carried shades such as Almost Cocoa, Ruby Melt, Almost Blush, etc...). I am VERY happy to see more shades offered again. This time around, the shades seem to be more sheer which makes it more versatile (great for work and / or a night out). It is very hard to determine the shade from the color swatch on line, so my advice would be to visit your Clinique Counter if possible. (If you don't live near one, Clinique.com's return/exchange policy for online orders is wonderful and QUICK). I ordered Lucious Honey during the 2-day preview and found it to be too bright for my medium/slight yellow skin tone. However, my daughter is very fair and it looked beautiful on her. Because the formula is still amazing, I have since purchased 3 more shades (Chic Honey, Spicey Honey and Tender Honey). I would say it feels like you are wearing nothing on your lips, but it's better than that because when you are wearing it, your lips feel soft and moisturized. It does not have the heaviness of lipstick or the stickiness of a gloss (huge plus if you don't like getting your hair stuck to your lips). And since the shades are sheer but "buildable" your lips will always look amazing whether you want light coverage for work, or a bit more for a night out. In my opinion, this formula is perfect. Not quite lipstick, but better than gloss. I also like the classy looking tube it comes in, perfect for pocket or purse. A definite must try."
Pros: sheer sensuous color feels light on your lips
Cons: difficult to determine color on line, (swatches not accurate)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Almost Lipstick
Byalwayslovedcosmetics
Location: El Paso, TX
Age: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not like the days of yore

May 24, 2013
"From my age info, you can guess that I have used several Clinique products over the years with Black Honey Lipstick being my favorite. About 15 years ago I rotated Black Honey out of my makeup products. Around October of 2012 I saw the Clinique website and decided that it was time to time to place it back into my "lineup". To my complete disappointment it was NOWHERE near the product that was among my favorites years ago. Specifically, (1) it was extremely dry AND drying on the lips, (2) it was difficult to apply, (3) it caked up immediately into the corners of my mouth, (4) it disappeared completely after only an hour, (5) the pigment intensity was incredibly low, (6) it was a color and consistency that looked good with almost anything and any event, and (7) it failed in what had been its best attribute which was to be a lipstick that always looked great from initial application through easy reapplication just a few times during the day. I had NEVER had to use any kind of products under Black Honey before but I did try to see if I could overcome the problems of the current Black Honey product by trying several brands and formulas of lip conditioners, primers, powders, wrinkle fillers, ridge fillers, dry oils, serums, lotions, mattifying products, BB creams, foundations, concealers, etc. But nothing that I added improved the performance of this latest Black Honey lipstick to its original excellence. I miss THAT terrific product!!"
Cons: doesn't live up to the original excellence
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Almost Lipstick
Bylilmonkey
Location: Richmond, VA
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely product (even for fair, redheaded ladies!)

February 15, 2012
"I have to say that I was not so sure about this product at first, like so many other people were. I'm very fair, have strawberry-blonde/red hair, and few freckles. I just got this in today and am very pleasantly surprised. It has a great feel on my lips and yes, it is a lovely color even for me. I liked it with just one swipe and even with three or four to get darker. I do think that this is one of those products that was worth my time, and I'm looking forward to giving it a long-haul test. When I put it on, I just happened to be wearing an orange shirt, and it didn't work so great with that color on my torso. But I changed shirts a few minutes later and loved the color on my lips - I say this just to give you some perspective on the undertones of the shade - more pinkish/purple than coral/orange. I showed my fiance the tube, and he looked downright scared for me, but after I put it on he agreed that it was a nice color, even though he doesn't really like it when I have noticeable makeup on. I'm impressed so far."
Pros: feel on the lips, color
Cons: cost is a bit high
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Almost Lipstick
ByAuthenticOpinion4U
Location: Waukegan, IL
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skeptical? So was I. It's a Keeper.

March 1, 2009
"Finally gave in to my fascination with the fact of only one lipcolor being available in one line of lipstick...rare, to say the least. Also, was skeptical of the overwhelming amount of positive reviews, too. Ordered during a free shipping promotional offer, finally had to try this ''amazing'' colour. Well, it's true. Applied it in usual manner, went and looked in mirror, and immediately caught on to the description many reviewers have given of lips looking totally natural, as if there was no lipstick present. I'm a skin type I, fair to medium. IT IS NOT LIKE ''MOOD'' LIPSTICK PRODUCTS. On me, the color became a totally natural lip tone combination of fleshy-pink, I did not need lipliner with this product, in fact, lip liner would take away from the impact of the product. GREAT. If you haven't tried it, please go ahead and check it out! The reviewer's are accurate. :)
The color actually does look ''black'' yet is sheer and adapts in a natural way to the lip tone.
"
Pros: natural
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Almost Lipstick
ByRapunzelRapunzel
Location: Glenwood, Iowa
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Did a few double takes in the mirror

October 16, 2009
"I kept thinking that though this looks nice with makeup on, catch me bare of face and that would be a different story. I'd been wearing it only when fully made up, but for the heck of it I swiped some on earlier and went about my day (sans makeup). I savored the feel on my lips. It's a nice, light, non goopy texture.
Later, I walked past a mirror. And stopped, surprised. Even without makeup, the color on my lips is eye catching. Not overdone, by any means, but a nice, sheer berryish shade that enhances my lips' natural pink color. I'm Asian with a fair, nearly medium skin tone, and it's always difficult to find flattering lip shades.
I plan to keep this on hand. It works well for me, makeup or no makeup, and it doesn't dry out my lips but keeps them moist. It lasts for a long time, too. I don't find myself constantly reapplying, but then I'm not real tough on my lipstick (not a lip chewer, maybe that helps).
I'd buy this again. Several times."
Pros: non drying; sheer; flattering color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Almost Lipstick
ByArtOfNeta
Location: Atlanta, GA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Versatile, flattering, my new favorite.

February 20, 2009
"This lipstick looks so dark in the tube it is scary, but when you put it on it looks good on EVERYONE. I have been letting everyone I know try it (with disposable applicators of course) and it looks great on the fairest blonde and on the darkest olive-skinned brunette. More importantly--it looks fabulous on me (fair skin, auburn hair).
My favorite thing about it is you can use it with a little lip balm and have a very pretty, sheer, barely-there look or you can use it straight and with a heavier touch and get a deep vivid color. It feels amazing too. I am a lip balm junkie so lipsticks always feel so dry, but this one feels so much like a lip balm that I can wear it alone. It is not sticky or too shiny like a lot of sheer gloss-like lipsticks tend to be. After I came home with my first tube, I immediately went online and ordered 4 more. One for my purse, one for my mom, and two more for when I run out....because I know I will."
Pros: versatile, universally flattering, never sticky, moisturizing, i like the long thin tube (vs. a short chunky one)
Cons: lips have to be very smooth to use or it shows
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Almost Lipstick
BySSKELL
Location: UPSTATE NY
skin concern: Clarity/Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PLEASANTLY SUPRISED

February 8, 2010
"ADDED THIS TO MY CART BECAUSE I NEEDED SOMETHING EXTRA TO GET FREE SHIPPING. I DIDN'T REALLY EXPECT THAT I WOULD LIKE THE COLOR BECAUSE IT LOOKED SO DARK IN THE TUBE BUT THE REVIEWS WERE SO POSITIVE I THOUGHT I WOULD TAKE A CHANCE AND TRY IT. i REALLY DO LOVE THE COLOR, LIKE NATURAL LIP COLOR JUST BETTER. LOVE THE SLIM DESIGN OF THE TUBE, I CAN SLIP IT IN MY JEANS POCKET WHEN I DON'T WANT TO CARRY A PURSE. SEEMS TO HAVE OK STAYING POWER, HOWEVER AFTER AWHILE MY LIPS DO FEEL SOMEWHAT DRY EVEN THOUGH THE COLOR IS STILL THERE, SO I NEED TO REAPPLY B/C I CAN'T STAND FOR MY LIPS TO FEEL DRY. I HAVE ALREADY ORDERED ANOTHER TUBE. THE OTHER THING I'VE NOTICED THAT IF MY LIPS ARE AT ALL CHAPPED THIS LIPSTICK DOES SEEM TO INTENSIFY THE LOOK OF THE PEELING SKIN. BUT OVERALL I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS PURCHASE. ALSO LIKE THE FACT THERE IS NO SCENT , I HATE LIPSTICKS THAT HAVE AN OVERLY PERFUMEY SMELL!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Almost Lipstick
ByAnonymous
Location: Calabasas, CA
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost Lipstick....no, Almost Perfect

November 9, 2008
"Flipping through the pages of Allure, I came across a sample of Almost Lipstick by Clinique. I tried it on, and stared back at my lips in the mirror. What the....why are my lips glossy and moisturized, and have the perfect hint of color? Is that even possible? I have to say, I hate glosses. They are so goopy and gooey, and the color usually smears off after an hour and the color isn't usually strong enough, or there is too little. But this Clinique product...I know Clinique has the best products, but I had no clue making a gloss/stick was even possible! I hate glosses...but now I can get the glossy sheen without gloss. In a stick! I have one for my makeup basket at home, and one in my purse for on the go. It adds a pop of shine and color to my face, and makes me smile. Black honey is the perfect shade for any woman, girl, or teen. Wow, CLinique! YOu have done it again!>"
Pros: everything is amazing!
Cons: it doesn't come in wholesale for me!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Almost Lipstick
ByLizzyliz714
Location: VA
Age: not 18 yet
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

October 19, 2012
"I have never really been the person to rave about lipsticks since this is the first one I have officially tried. I am only 17 so I have always thought that lipsticks were generally meant for older women or looked better on older women, well I am wrong! I received Black Honey in a free gift recently and I was scared beyond belief because it looked so dark! I am very fair as well so I was apprehensive. Well it is sheer and I love it! It is definitely buildable but I usually like to put one coat on and then dab it a little in the middle of my lips. It looks so lovely and especially since it's fall! It gives me the perfect light raspberry/cranberry lip! It is also non-drying which is excellent! I totally recommend the whole line and I am going to be trying out more colors!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Almost Lipstick
Bylewanda
Location: South, FL
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite for 18 years

August 11, 2012
"I first learned about black honey almost lipstick during my first year of college when I was 18 years old. I actually received it as a part of a Gift with Purchase and didn't even try it for a few months because I thought the color would be too dark for me. But boy am I glad I finally gave Black Honey a try. It is the most flattering, natural color I have ever found. It has been a main stay in my cosmetic kit for 18 years now. I'm happy to see other pretty honey colors and most recently tried Chic Honey which is also absolutely gorgeous. I also like Luscious Honey too, it's more of a pinkish shade, and has become my go to Pink shade for summer. I highly recommend this product, and I will Never be without it. Now, I need black honey in a Chubby Stick, please :-)"
Pros: sheer natural color, moisturizing
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Almost Lipstick
Bykbnyc
Location: New York, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE Almost Lipstick!

May 18, 2012
"Back when I was 16 (I'm now 32), I used Black Honey and Think Bronze Almost Lipsticks. Eventually all of the colors were discontinued except for Black Honey. I've been looking all over for sheer lipsticks like this and was so happy to find that Clinique had introduced some new shades! Lovely Honey is just the thing I was looking for. When I wear it, I feel more polished and ready to meet clients, but I'm not overly made up, which is important to me for everyday wear. It has just a tad more color than my natural lip color - perfect. And it goes on smoothly and is NOT sticky, unlike lip glosses, which I hate. I only wish it were longer lasting once on my lips. I love it anyway. I REALLY hope that Clinique will keep these products around for a long time!"
Pros: sheer, natural, not sticky
Cons: doesn't last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Almost Lipstick
Bypopesss
Location: Philadelphia, PA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gorgeous lip color

May 3, 2010
"I was skeptical about this lip color when I first saw it - it looks jet black in the tube - but as soon as I put it on and built up the color it was a gorgeous, natural looking color, somewhere between pink and red, that was immediately flattering. It isn't shiny, glittery, or sticky, but it does give your lips a sheer natural-looking sheen that mimics and enhances your normal lip color. I have moderately fair skin with a pink undertone and most colors look ridiculous and unnatural on me, but this one just looked pretty. My only concern is that it is unflavored, unlike the lip products I am used to, but it is a small price to pay for gorgeous lips. I am officially a Clinique convert and a lifelong user of this product."
Pros: universally flattering color
Cons: unscented/unflavored
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Almost Lipstick
ByJetmags
Location: Chicago
Age: 41-50
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost lipstick is my new favorite

December 30, 2012
"I was looking for a lip color more sophisticated than a glossy, gloppy, sticky lipgloss and less intense than lipstick. Clinique's Almost Lipstick is the perfect balance of sheer color, moisturizer, and lightweight feel.
I have very fair, pink-hued skin and thin lips - most lipsticks look unnatural on me. I had been using lip glosses but found they had a heavy or thick feel and the color wore off very quickly (but I had about 14 tubes).
Now that I've tried Almost Lipstick, I'm finished with experimenting. I now use Black Honey and may try a very light shade. (I tried, but did not like, Spicy Honey and Chic Honey.)
I've streamlined my makeup bag, Almost Lipstick is the only lip treatment and color that I use.
"
Pros: lightweight and moisturizing
Cons: color fades
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Almost Lipstick
Byrbrtsj5
Location: Bay Area, CA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous, Have been using it for years

January 4, 2012
"I first tried this lipstick (Black Honey) when I was 17 and on my way to the high school senior ball. I am now 40 and still using it. Yes, it has been around that long (maybe longer). I never liked heavy lipstick and this is just the right shade and right amount of color for me (I am blonde, medium to fair skin tone). I wear heavier lipstick now for some occasions but this is still my "go to" lipstick for everyday. I keep a tube in all my purses, diaper bags, work desk, etc. etc. They used to have different colors and I would occassionally wear Almost Mocha and Almost Blush but Black Honey is the best. I see they recently introduced new colors again and will try some of those. Highly recommend this lipstick."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Almost Lipstick
ByCicero
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great color without being too heavy!

October 10, 2012
"I've only had this in Black Honey. It is darker than I originally thought it would be (probably underestimated my own paleness--I'm a ghost in especially in winter), so I wouldn't say it's necessarily great for everyday wear, to class for example. BUT . . . it's perfect for evening or anything where you might want to look slightly better than average (basically if there's an occasion where I feel compelled to use undereye concealer, I'll also use this). If your daily look is slightly spiffier than mine but you're not in the market for full-on lipstick, I'd highly recommend this. My one caution would be than it's not super moisturizing, so you may have to layer it. Overall, though, great product!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Almost Lipstick
Bydlinglis
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST all around color

December 16, 2009
"The first time I ordered this I was surprised that it only came in one color. But the reviews were all favorable and since I prefer a sheer color I decided to give it a try. When I first opened it I was shocked at how dark it looked, almost black (hence the name) and I thought I would never use it! I had to try it anyway and I was amazed at how much I loved the color on my lips! When they say it is a universally flattering color they aren't kidding. And the best part is you can put a light coat on for just a hint of color or a few coats for a more intense color. I have just ordered two more to be able to keep one with my make-up in the bathroom, one in my purse, and one to have on had as a spare!"
Pros: sheer color, add a procan adjust the color intensity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Almost Lipstick
ByHellie
Location: New York, NY
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tender Honey

May 17, 2012
"I've used Black Honey for years. I love the finish and feel. I was excited to hear that they were offering more colors in the line, again(as they seem to do every few years). I completely expected to pick up the darker shades, but I took a chance on Tender Honey, a sheer nude, even though it swatched almost invisible on my hand. It is an absolutely perfect sheer pinky nude to wear as a tinted balm or to balance dramatic eye make-up. With the right lip pencil, it would probably be a great weeding color for fair brides. I am very fair with naturally pigmented lips, so it is really hard to find flattering nudes that don't look like calamine lotion. I really hope this isn't a limited edition."
Pros: sheer moisturizing non-sticky non-shimmery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Almost Lipstick
ByRee12
Location: Lake Villa, IL
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable Shade!

February 10, 2009
"I finally found the perfect shade of lipstick, the perfect density, and the moistest lipstick,- all rolled into one. This shade has hints of wine, raisin, burgundy, and the such, all together, yet as the sentence starts--just a hint. You need to put a couple of layers on to build more color. It is sooooo flattering to my skin tone--which is fair to medium warm tones. I have done cart-wheels (or at least in my head I've done them!)since trying this lipstick. I have used many other types and mixed them, trying to come up with this shade, and now Clinique has done it. Thank you to whomever invented this shade. My hat is off to you. It is a winner and a keeper for Clinique and for me."
Pros: not heavy like a regular lipstick, shade is fabulous
Cons: absolutely nothing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Almost Lipstick
ByGraphXDeziner
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Believe it!

March 19, 2009
"I was skeptical, too. Just like you are right now ... that's why you're reading these reviews. I ordered the Almost Lipstick as a last minute item to get free shipping on my order. I'm glad I did! I have fair skin and blond hair. This color is magic! It looks great on! It is NOT sticky like most glosses but it goes on with a shine and it lasts a while. Sometimes I put on lip moisturizer first but if I forget, this definitely moisturizes too. I like it for every day use - haven't tried it on top of an evening color yet. You will be shocked when you open the tube for the first time and see how dark it looks in the tube. Don't let it fool you! Try it! You won't be disappointed!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Almost Lipstick
ByCollegeGirlInIdaho
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Roomates steal this from me!

December 2, 2013
"As a college student I don't have time to do makeup every morning so I love Clinique chubby sticks and recently received this is in the mail for free with my purchase. HOLY!!!! This is amazing!!! I live in an apartment of 6 girls and let them try it out to see if it works, keep in mind I am a chocolate color girl, my roommate is an olive skin tone girl and the rest are white, white, and super white so a lipstick that we can all use doesn't happen!! But EVERYONE fell in love!!! They are always asking me to use some, it is light weight, not too dramatic but enough to give some color to your lips! Now I am coming back to order my own now that my sample is almost gone!"
Pros: light weight, not sticky, stays on, looks amazing on different tones
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next