Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep

Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep

Average Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 51
73%38 of 52would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Review 1 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
SallyG
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(52)
Date:July 30, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised!

I decided to try this product as an alternative to tanning but was skeptical since I had tried sunless tanning products years ago with poor results. I bought this product a week before going to a wedding and have pleasantly surprised. I followed the directions and have used it for 3 days and have not gotten any streaking, very even tan with virtually no smell. I did exfoliate before starting, which I feel was important. I have put it on my face, 1/2 product & 1/2 face lotion, the same thing with elbows, knees and ankles using 1/2 product & 1/2 body lotion. It seems to dry fairly quickly, within 10 minutes and I have not noticed any staining on clothes. I had started with somewhat of a base tan or faded tan, I am not sure what the results would be if I had no color. I bought the Medium-Dark, the sales person at the store felt the Light-Medium would not give me any noticeable results. The results have been a little slower than I had expected but after reading several reviews, this was one of the complaints. Apparently Clinique had an older product they replaced with this one that gave instant results. The only con is if you have any marks that you don't want emphasized, avoid those areas because it will make them stand out more. I noticed a mark on my face appear that I had not seen before, the same thing with some spots on my legs. But overall, I am happy with the results.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
SallyG
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
DPD33
Location: Austin, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(52)
Date:May 5, 2014

great instant tan

This bronzer works well and dries quick. Applied at night after shower & ex-foliation, and I was able to bare my winter legs the next day. Smells like coconut.
Wear gloves or wash & scrub palms immediately after applying.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: pleasant smell, works quickly
Cons: may stain palms
DPD33
Location: Austin, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
MsOno
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:March 14, 2014

Wonderful Purchase

This is the first self tanner I have used. I am an African American woman who is a lighter shade of brown. During the winter, my legs become lighter than my arms. I decided to try this out and see what happens...I love it!! I followed the directions on the insert. I exfoliated first, then mixed the tanner with my favorite scented lotion in the palm of my hand as I put it on. It looks so natural. I used the medium to deep and it shows up on my like a shiny new cooper penny. I definitely will continue to use.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: actually works, looks natural
Cons: slight smell
MsOno
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
ozzmom94
Location: Indiana
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:February 24, 2014

Love it

Works great! No streaking nor orange tint. Gives a nice sunkissed glow without being kissed by the sun and skin damage.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
ozzmom94
Location: Indiana
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
MariaCP
Location: Houston, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:December 30, 2013

Like I've been at the beach!

Love the Self Sun products and in the dreary winter, this lotion gives me a glow. Was perfect for the holidays and giving me some much needed color.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: great scent
MariaCP
Location: Houston, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
pamnana
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I'm: 41-50
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:December 14, 2013

Best Ever!

I started using this product when it first came out many years ago when there was only body tanning lotion. I've always used it on my face instead of foundation.
I often get compliments and people ask if I've been in a tanning bed. This kind of tan doesn't give you wrinkles!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: very natural looking!
Cons: none
pamnana
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I'm: 41-50
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
ligvt
Location: Vermont
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(52)
Date:August 23, 2013

okay

I had to apply it several times within a few days to have any noticeable results. I used it before going to a wedding. I would recommend this product for special occasions but would not use it to try and maintain a tan for a period of time. I found it dried my skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: good for occasional use
Cons: you need a good deal of time to get results
ligvt
Location: Vermont
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Kimengich
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:August 9, 2013

Best fake tan ever

This sunless tanner gives a beautiful appearance of a real tan - not orange, not streaked, but a nice bronzed look.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: looks like a real tan
Cons: doesn't last as long as a real tan
Kimengich
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
CMB808
Location: Northville, MI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 14, 2013

LOVE this self-tanner!!

Although pricier than most drug store brands, it was well worth it, the color was even, and lasted a really long time. And it didn't smell nearly as bad as some of the other popular ones out there! I will not purchase any other brand of self-tanner again.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
CMB808
Location: Northville, MI
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Rico
Location: Waterbury, Ct.
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(52)
Date:May 30, 2013

Out with the new- in with the old

I am once again disappointed in this new self tanner. This is the second one that I've purchased and I'm still not thrilled with this tanner. I, too, wish that you would bring back the old lotion ( the one without color) as it went on easier and smoother and without needing to choose different variations of color. Simple and easy. Please consider bringing that back, it was a great product.
No
Rico
Location: Waterbury, Ct.
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
sryder
Location: Southern California
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(52)
Date:March 14, 2013

Old Tanners are better

Please Please bring back the old tanning lotions!! Who cares if there is tint in the lotion!! It barley gives you color and does not even last. The old tanning lotions were awesome!! Best on the market!! I have had to result in other products outside of clinique, none of them compare to the old tanning lotions. Plus there was not of strong of a scent with the old tanning lotions!!!
No
Pros: old tanning lotion was awesome, old tanners color was great in just 2 applications, color of old tanning lotions lasted 4 days
Cons: not enough color, color does not last, requires too many coats to obtain a great color, bad odor
sryder
Location: Southern California
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
lofty1
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:October 26, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this self tanner!

This is the best self tanner I have ever used! Never leaves lines or looks orange. I highly recommend it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
lofty1
Location: Montgomery, AL
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
spartangirl
Location: key largo, fl
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(52)
Date:October 19, 2012

Decent product

I am happy with this tanner, but it seems to be priced a little high for what it does. Other drugstore tanners seem comparable for a better price.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
spartangirl
Location: key largo, fl
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Laurie1126
Location: Westland, Michigan
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:October 16, 2012

Most Compliments/best product ever

I have used clinique products for 34 years. When going to a tanning salon was no longer an option for me due to skin cancer, I fell upon this clinique product for self tanning that is wonderful. I tried others products that left blotches or orange coloring. The clinique product never does that. I use it year round on my face and neck and constantly get compliments on my healthy skin glow and I am not damanging my skin. One of the best products ever!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: safe and effective
Laurie1126
Location: Westland, Michigan
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
njdw
Location: Florida
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 29, 2012

Bring back the old self tan lotion!!

I agree with the previous review. I loved the old self-tanner without the tint. It worked great (not too yellow/orange) and very slight odor. It took me lots of tries with other brands, all smelled AWFUL, before I found Clinique -- only to have it discontinued. WHY FIX SOMETHING THAT'S NOT BROKEN??
No
Cons: rubs off on clothing, washes off too easily, too orangey, make it odorless
njdw
Location: Florida
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
happ1
Location: pgh, pa
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 26, 2012

not impressed

Clinique used to sell a tanning lotion without a tint that was extremely natural looking and they no longer produce it. So, going from that to this only option was dissappointing. This one is orange in comparison and feels like it never dries and does rub off on everything. Please bring back your untinted lotion you used to sell. It's a shame Clinique isn't offering more options in self tanners and competition in this day and age with all the others who are. I started to go online and buy spray tan liquids instead which dry faster, smell better and look more natural. Some do get on your clothes but it washes right out. IF Clinique would bring back their untinted self tan lotion, i'd buy it agian for sure. The color was extremely natural and I am extremely fair.
No
Pros: smell isn't horrible.
Cons: unatural color never dries rubs on clothes.
happ1
Location: pgh, pa
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Anonymous
Location: Spokane, WA
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:July 20, 2011

Love this product!

The trick to this is to put some in one hand, rub between the two hands and then apply to legs, arms, etc. I had the same splotchy appearance until I started doing it this way! And don't overuse. Every other day or so is great! A little goes a long way! I'm always bummed when I run out and our stores don't have any in stock!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Anonymous
Location: Spokane, WA
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
Delaware
Location: Claymont, DE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 27, 2011

Too Long To Dry

I like the color this gave me. Seemed to go on easily though I did put regular body lotion on first. Thought I had it on evenly but came out blotchy in some spots. My biggest complaint is how long it took to dry. I waited an hour before getting dressed & it still rubbed off on my clothes. I waited 12+ hrs. before showering & it also came off on my towel.
No
Pros: nice color
Cons: takes to long to dry, rubbed off on clothes
Delaware
Location: Claymont, DE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
poloman2009
Location: Orange Park , FL
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 26, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!!!

I bought this in hopes of a natural looking tan and was I in Luck!!!!!! If you follow the directions and do as follows you will have a wonderful looking and natural looking tan. And for me being a guy that wants to take care of my skin this a good way to get a tan and look great...
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: looks natural and not fake
Cons: none so far
poloman2009
Location: Orange Park , FL
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Medium - Deep
suntan
Location: LA california
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(52)
Date:June 7, 2011

great natural tanning lotion

I smooth the tanning lotion on the night before and by tennis time the next morning, my legs kook great!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: natural looking
Cons: none
suntan
Location: LA california
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>