Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Eyeliner

Water-Resistant Eyeliner

Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 258
86%228of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Review 21 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bychattycathy
Location: Brookfield, MA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thank God it's back!

February 17, 2009
"This is simply the best cake eyeliner ever formulated. Applying cake eyeliner can be tricky but this product goes on smoothly and looks great. The quality brush included in the case allows you to easily regulate the depth of color and the thickness of the line with a little practice.
For awhile this product was discontinued which put me into a panic. Now that it's back by popular demand I intend to stock up and hopefully I'll never have to do without it again.
"
Pros: smooth finish, resistant to cracking, long-lasting, great value, attractive case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bynanb
Location: Chicago, IL
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Be Without It

February 17, 2009
"This is the only eyeliner I can get right. Something about being able to adjust the thickness of the fluid and brush. It was gone for a bit and I was thrilled when it came back. More colors would be nice!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByTechieGirl
Location: Marietta, Georgia
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A long-time fan

February 19, 2009
"This was the very first Clinique product I had, way back in 1987. As a teenager, and then young adult, I developed a serious allergy to certain eye makeups. Everywhere I went, I read all the labels, only to be disappointed when the ingredients I am allergic to (citric acid, menthylparaben, and propylparaben) appeared on each and every product. Even my mom went looking for me! Then one day she found Clinique's wonderful water-resistant eyeliner. I haven't been without any since, and I've found that even if any of the ingredients I'm sensitive to are on the label, I can almost always use just about anything Clinique makes. When this product was discontinued, I was able to find it online, and stocked up for the coming "famine". I am delighted to see it back, and say that it would be wonderful to have all the colors back as well."
Pros: lots of product, wonderful brush, lasts forever, paraben-free ingredients
Cons: most department stores don't stock this product, extremely limited color choice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByEBH831
Location: Washington, DC
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I just don't get it

February 21, 2009
"This is supposed to be eyeliner but i'm not even sure it would work for shadow. I can't get enough on the brush to be able to apply. Does not create a distinct line. I just don't get how its supposed to work as eyeliner. Wish I had my money back on this one."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bygrami
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

eye liner

February 21, 2009
"I was really hoping this would be the one. It was too hard to put on and did not stay on well"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Byccemrey
Location: Greensboro, NC
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This IS the one!

February 23, 2009
"I have been using this eyeliner for as long as I can remember. The best thing about it is that you can control how thick or thin your line is, and it REALLY lasts, even at the beach. Perhaps new users of this product should invest a bit of time practicing, as cake eyeliner is probably very different from what you're used to using."
Pros: easy to apply, lasts even at beach
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByLuckyGirl
Location: Atlanta, GA
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Liner

February 26, 2009
"This is the best eyeliner on the market. I am sorry it is not carried in the stores anymore, but grateful to be able to buy online. I have used this product since the early 80's."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByLupo
Location: Johns Creek, GA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best eyeliner on the market

February 27, 2009
"This is by far the best eyeliner available. I have used it for years and was sad when it was removed from the stores. It lasts so long and so easy to control... once you wet the brush and go back and forth a few strokes on the cake. The gooey replacement Clinique now is so messy. This is by far the product I cannot do without."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bymerr
Location: memphid, tn
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not impressed

February 28, 2009
"It does not stay on. Doesn't appear to be waterproof."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByDoozie
Location: Cullman, Alabama
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So HAPPY that this product is back!!!!

March 9, 2009
"I used the muted brown eyeliner for years. I was so disappointed when they discontinued this product. I have been scraping the bottom of an old eyeliner container for months. I was delighted to get a brand new one last week!! It is the best eyeliner ever!!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByCapeCod
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Eyeliner

March 12, 2009
"This is by far the best eyeliner I have ever used. Easy to control the depth of color and easy to apply. Clinique has twice pulled this from the market and then brought it back -- I believe by popular demand. Hopefully, they will NEVER do this again. My only criticism is that the brush thins out before the product is gone."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bymakeupartist
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the greatest eyeliner

March 18, 2009
"this by far the best eyeliner i have ever tried! I love it and tell all my friends about it."
Pros: great control of line and color richness
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Byjazzyjay
Location: The Villages, Florida
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Water resistant eye liner

March 23, 2009
"I have used this product for over ten years. It is the best eyeliner on the market. I was very upset when I couldn't find it in stores and was told that Clinique didn't make it anymore. Fortunately, I found it on the
Clinique web site!
It is easy to apply, doesn't rub off and looks great."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bydrenkidu
Location: ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

barely there

March 26, 2009
"maybe i am not using this correctly, but i can't seem to get it to give me any richness of color. harder to use than a pencil, but not as noticeable either. too expensive for mediocre results."
Cons: too light
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByLauderLover
Location: South Glastonbury, CT
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the one!

April 3, 2009
"Without a doubt the best eye liner on the market. Yes, it takes practice but I guarantee that once you get the hang of it you will never use anything else. Great choice for contact lens wearers (and I wear gas permeable lenses!) because it goes on smoothly and doesn't flake. One request of Clinique--Please please please bring back Navied Plum! More day friendly than black and more flattering for those of us with brown eyes!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Bycrabby
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product, limited color choice

April 16, 2009
"Easy to apply, stays on through thick and thin. But... on me, black is too harsh and brown is too wimpy. PLEASE bring back Navied Plum. It was just right."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByTLMA
Location: Three Lakes, WI
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

water-resistant eyeliner

April 18, 2009
"I have been using this product for decades. I love the control you can get, thin or thick; and it is truly smudge-proof and water resistant. I used to swim laps, and it was amazing to be able to look nice while swimming ;)
I am also thankful that Clinique has been around for a long time. There was a short interruption in the supply of this product; Clinique, please don't EVER discontinue this product again!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByKATZTECH
Location: cleveland, ga
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 1 - Very Dry/Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD PRODUCT

April 18, 2009
"I started using this in the 80's. Like some others, I really loved the navied plum. Good cake eyeliner is hard to find and good colors even harder. So glad to find this online, but wish the navied plum would come back to us, again."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Byxtinebb
Location: Birmingham, AL
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

favorite eyeliner ever

April 24, 2009
"This is my absolute favorite eyeliner. I have used it since I worked for Clinique in the 1990s. It is a best-kept beauty secret. I don't know why anyone would use a pencil or cream when they could use this product. I was distraught when I was told it was discontinued. I bought the Clinique product the girl recommended instead of the water restistant eyeliner, but I hate it. The ease of application, wearability, and look of the water resistant eyeliner is unparalelled, and I hope Clinique never stops selling it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
ByMechanica
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eyeliner addition

April 24, 2009
"I completely agree with the previous posters; Bring back Navied Plum. Black is for evening, brown is blah but plum was great for everything."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next