Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Eyeliners or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Eyeliner

Water-Resistant Eyeliner

Average Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(281 Reviews) 273
85%240 of 281would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Review 21 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
lauriling
Location: Lake Worth, FL
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:January 2, 2014

Simply the BEST eyeliner of all time!

I have been using this eyeliner for almost 20 years. Clinique discontinued making it for a short period of time, and although I tried about 15 different cake, liquid and pencil eyeliners in replacement, I never found one that compares to this product. When I found out they began selling it again, I was thrilled. Yes, it may take a few seconds longer to put on, but it gives you a nice, clean line and is easier to put on than liquids. The fact that it stays on the entire day is also a huge plus. Although not waterproof, as some reviewers may have been hoping for, it lasts longer than any "supposed" waterproof pencil or liquid. Clinique, this is one of the greatest products on the market today. Thank you....and please, keep selling it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
lauriling
Location: Lake Worth, FL
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
LouB
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:December 22, 2013

Water resistant eyeliner

When I was young, I bought a product similar to this. I really liked it, but could not find one like it until I saw Clinique had one. I really do like it. It is not thick or gloppy. Thanks for carrying this eyeliner.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: easy to use.
LouB
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I'm: Over 65
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
cynday
Location: Brea, CA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:December 22, 2013

Love This!

Just starting using Clinique. I love it. Was looking for an eyeliner that would stay on all day. This does the trick.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
cynday
Location: Brea, CA
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
apak05
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(281)
Date:December 17, 2013

Returning

I tried this eyeliner a couple of times, first with no moisture or mixing media (water, fix+) and i had to scrub my brush into the eyeliner. I tried it by spraying a makeup setting spray on the brush and then dipping into the powder, and both ways just took so much time and effort. I like the color and how long it lasted, but it's not worth the money I paid. I'd rather try something else.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: good color, long lasting
Cons: terrible application, takes too long to apply, too hard to apply
apak05
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
chatlunatique
Location: NYC, NY
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:December 15, 2013

Great eye make up basic foundation

Sometimes I just use the black or brown eyeliner alone or as a foundation liner for a pencil. I find that most pencils wear away, smear or fade over the day, but using this product as a base keeps my eye make up looking fresh most of the day.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
chatlunatique
Location: NYC, NY
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
beethoven
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:December 10, 2013

great reliable staple

this is easy to apply, one has total control of the line. it's truly hypoallergenic and great for days when m allergies are up. Please keep making this Clinique!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: easy to apply, easy to control the line, truly hypoallergenic
beethoven
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
TXBonnie2013
Location: West Texas, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 25, 2013

Cake Eyeliner is Water Resistant and Awesome!!!

If you buy the Water-resistant Eyeliner expecting waterproof it is not. It is clearly marketed as "water resistant" not waterproof. So, know the difference before you make a negative review.
I personally am glad that Clinique brought this item back. After trying several cake eyeliners, none met the same qualities of this eyeliner! Whether it be water-resistant or not I'd still buy it!
THANK YOU Clinique for bringing this back!!! :)
Awesome product! AAA+++
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
TXBonnie2013
Location: West Texas, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Dabbster
Location: TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 17, 2013

Lasts longer!

Most eyeliners don't last well for me. This eyeliner is easy for me to create a thin line with and lasts all day! I love the brown shade for my fair coloring.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Dabbster
Location: TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Vivisahu
Location: Orlando, Fl
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 10, 2013

It isn't water proof

I was expecting a better quality but I was so surprise with this product, was using Clinique for a couple of years, and I can say that was loving this brand but now I'm not to sure about that, very disappointed !!!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Vivisahu
Location: Orlando, Fl
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Leenah
Location: San Jose, CA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 9, 2013

Water Resistant Eyeliner

Very happy to have found this cake eyeliner. It stays on longer and it goes on smoother. Easy to make fine lines unlike the bargain brands. I have tried at least 6 different liners and finally...a product that is worth every penny. Clinique - please don't stop making this product. Thanks!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Leenah
Location: San Jose, CA
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
KSUAlum
Location: Kansas
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 9, 2013

Stick with the sticks

This product is very difficult to get where you want it accurately. I spent more time than I wanted attempting to get the amount of color that I wanted also. Stick with the quickliners which are great!
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: a lot of product for the money
Cons: difficult to use, not much color achieved
KSUAlum
Location: Kansas
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Ckjk96
Location: Lake Wylie! SC
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 9, 2013

Good eyeliner

Very good eyeliner. The brush that comes with it is bad. Please Clinique replace the brush. I would have given this 5 stars if it were not for the brush.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: looks great
Cons: bad brush included
Ckjk96
Location: Lake Wylie! SC
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Rescues
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 2, 2013

This is a great solution

Most eye liners (at my age) appear too harsh. I've tried so many different types and brands. I've tried to find a cake eye liner to be used with a damp brush and haven't had any success until I saw this Clinique eyeliner. I like the fact that the brown isn't as harsh looking as the black but it still gives a good, dark definition. I like the fact that is is buildable. It takes a little experimenting to get the right amount of moisture on the brush (I use my own longer brush) but am pleased. It also does not pull on your eye as many liners. It's wearability is not perfect ~ I sometimes reapply later in the day but overall have been very pleased.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Rescues
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Lorri
Location: Buffalo, NY
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:November 1, 2013

Cannot Live Without This Eye Liner

Like several of the others who have reviewed this product, I too have been using this liner for years. Every time I purchase another liner type I always go back to using this wonderful product. I love how it never runs yet is easily removed. I also love how you can make it as thin as you want. The muted brown is so subtle and the black is perfect for evening. The only negative is why it doesn't come in more colors? Never discontinue this product please!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: does not run., easily removed., easy to control width of line.
Cons: more colors please!
Lorri
Location: Buffalo, NY
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
chin
Location: Brooklyn
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(281)
Date:October 26, 2013

Worst purchase ever . . .

I honestly love Clinique and thought of trying this eyeliner. However, after my purchase, I will never ever buy this or use it. The packing is lousy, the brush is clumsy & overall it's flimsy for the price one will pay for this product.
Rating is zero not even 1 star. Please improve the packing at least . . .
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: lousy, clumsy, flimsy
chin
Location: Brooklyn
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Grin
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:October 15, 2013

Love This!

Best eyeliner ever. I used this in the 1980's and am still a fan. It goes on easily and stays PUT...no bleeding, no fading. You can also control the intensity which is important when going from day to night.
PLEASE make in a NAVY blue and a Dark GREEN!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: stays put
Grin
Location: NC
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Aricia
Location: Northern California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:October 14, 2013

Forget the Fancy Pencils!

I used to model and I have used this liner since it came out! What I like about it is it gives a definite line. Whether you want thick or thin it is even and smooth. I use a 00/000 sable paint brush. I used to use just the black and brown separately. but recently I have mixed the two and the look is fantastic. If you want your eyes to look like you didn't use a kids crayon on them this is the product for you!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Aricia
Location: Northern California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
Betan
Location: Burbank, CA
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:October 11, 2013

Best ever....

This is simply the best eyeliner ever. I have used it for years and hope that Clinique never stops making it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Betan
Location: Burbank, CA
I'm: Never telling
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
katielynn
Location: Pa
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(281)
Date:October 11, 2013

Best Eyeliner Ever

I've been using this liner for over 20 years. I use the Natural Black and even though I am getting older the black softens in color and it only enhances my eyes and does not look harsh. I have tried other types, but I have the best results and the most control with this one. I love the staying power of this and the control I have when I mix it with water (Thick or Thin line as the occasion demands) This is by far the best eyeliner ever and I hope Clinique will never stop making it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: easy, long lasting, perfect color
katielynn
Location: Pa
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Water-Resistant Eyeliner
PMaraffino
Location: Chicago, IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(281)
Date:September 25, 2013

Eye liner

Terrible! Doesn't apply easily and the brown color is too light.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: none at all
Cons: waste of money
PMaraffino
Location: Chicago, IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>