Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25

City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25

Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(515 Reviews) 462
91%471 of 515would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Review 361 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Washington, DC
skin concernDark Spots
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(515)
Date:January 7, 2009

Not for African Americans!!! Beware!!!!!

I'm sorry, but I'm not satisfied. I'm a caramel toned African American woman. Apparently, this product was not made for black people. I used the protector before going out for a day/evening/night on the town. When I applied it, I noticed a white haze over my face. I figured it needed time to absorb into my skin, so I went about my business, then returned to apply my light mineral makeup ( a perfect match for my skin tone). I had to apply bronzer in order for my skin not to look ghastly! Insult to injury, we took pictures that evening, and my face looks HORRIBLE!!! I appear pale and my face is noticeable whiter then the rest of my body. This product may be the answer for the fairer tones, but for me, it was a nightmare! I'm returning this product ASAP!!!
No
Cons: didn't absorb into my skin, made me look pasty, heavy, doesn't work well with makeup
Location: Washington, DC
skin concernDark Spots
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for1-5 years
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 362 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Marlboro, NJ
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:January 7, 2009

Tried lots, Love this.

fair skin user's, great for sun protection but I use this as my foundation all year. No extra foundation needed, I just use my powder right on top of this for a natural look. Love it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Marlboro, NJ
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 363 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Monroe, MI
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(515)
Date:January 4, 2009

A little stinky

Has anyone else noticed a weird smell when using this product? It goes on smoothly, but I always have to hold my breath when I put it on. It's supposed to be fragrant-free.
No
Location: Monroe, MI
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 364 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Louisiana
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:December 22, 2008

Best Sunscreen for Sensitive Skin!

This product has a nice sheer natural tint to it, its non-pore clogging, and it has never irritated my face.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Louisiana
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 365 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: athens, greece
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 26, 2008

Wonderful sunscreen !!

This is the best sunscreen I have ever used and believe me, I have tried all types and brands !! I have oily / combination skin and this has never caused me to break out at all. It also helps to even out my skin tone without feeling heavy.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: light feeling not heavy
Location: athens, greece
skin concernLines and Wrinkles
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 366 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: spokane, wa
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 15, 2008

great face shield

i needed this sunblock so bad im glad i bought this after the sample i got from a gift with purchase this dont make your face feel yucky and such great product i wear it all the time due to i have acne and it works so anyone who has acne as well use this after cleansing your face it rocks
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: the shield allday
Location: spokane, wa
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 367 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Pleasant Hill, IA
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 14, 2008

Perfect for summer

This is ideal for summer time when I don't like to wear foundation, but still want to have evened-out skin. Light and protecting.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Pleasant Hill, IA
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 368 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Texas
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 14, 2008

Understand the Product

A lot of these reviews are complaining about the tint, and saying this product doesn't absorb into the skin, but "sits on top of it." First, that's exactly what it's supposed to do. The reason this product is called City "Block" is that it is a true sunblock, a physical barrier between your skin and the sun. Read the description. It says it has no chemical sunscreens. The sunscreens that do absorb into your skin are able to do that because their SPF comes from chemicals. Not so with City Block. Its active ingredients are titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, which do sit on top of the skin to prevent the sun's rays from getting through. You know that white stuff you see on lifeguard's noses? That's titanium/zinc oxide. And it works. Physical barrier sunscreens are superior to chemical sunscreens, and if you're at all concerned about putting chemicals in your body, a physical barrier sunscreen--which is also natural and nontoxic--is the way to go. The tint is necessary because without it, you'd look like that lifeguard with the white stuff all over your face. Just smooth it on evenly and then go over it lightly with a mineral veil/makeup. I, for one, am very glad that Clinique offers a non-chemical sunscreen, and City Block is a great product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: physical barrier sunblock, no chemical sunscreens, superior sun protection, high spf
Location: Texas
using Clinique for11-25 years
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 369 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Pomona, California
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 13, 2008

Face Bodyguard =)

I have always used make-up products with SPF in them, but was then told they wouldnt substitute for a real sunscreen. I hated using sunscreen under my makeup because I would look oil. This is the perfect product for me because it works as a makeup primer && protects your face. I feel like I have a bodyguard to protect my skin 24/7!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Pomona, California
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 370 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Burleson, TX
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 12, 2008

This is worth every cent!

I was needing a new primer due to my other name brand primers were not helping my oily skin. So I was recommended this by a clinique sales person and I am glad I listened! Not only is is a great primer, it is matte and not a bit oily or shiny! I can even use it alone and it makes my 40ish skin look great!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Burleson, TX
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 371 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: chicago, il
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 9, 2008
I was surprised to see this product had a color, but I loved it anyways. I've always broken out to the sun and sunblock and I didn't have that problem with this product. A little goes along way, I used it all summer and never finished the container.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: chicago, il
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 372 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
skin type2 - Dry Combination
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 9, 2008

Perfect Protective Primer !

This is perfect as a makeup primer and also has added SPF to help your face stay healthy! Some have complained about the tint... although it comes on with a subtle white tint, make sure it absorbs first before adding your foundation. If you want a longer lasting look and want to skip the powder step, this is an excellent way to do it. I use it almost everyday, and is even delicate to go on the eyes. I find it also somewhat as a primer for eye shadows (if powder is applied on top first). Wonderful work, Clinique! Don't change this one!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
skin type2 - Dry Combination
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 373 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: CA
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 2, 2008

I do not like the tint

This sunblock goes on nicely, light and non greasy. However I do not like the tint at all. It makes my pores stand out even more. If it was not tinted, it would be great.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: CA
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 374 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Mankato, MN
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 2, 2008

Sheer Wonderful Protection

This product works... it is lightweight and is great on its own! I walk and ride bikes so don't want to wear make-up but do want the sun protection without the heaviness or the greasiness. This is perfect!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Mankato, MN
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 375 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: OH
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 2, 2008

Excellent Makeup Base

This product is great for its SPF properties and alsp the fact that it makes my makeup last longer. It makes for the perfect makeup base for flawless application; that is a wonderful added bonus to the benefits of this product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: OH
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 376 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 1, 2008

Skin care you don't have to think about

I have been using this product for years. It applies beautifully. My skin is very oily and prone to breakouts. This product has never clogged my pores, and it acts as my moisturizer. It is so much nicer to use than regular sunscreens. The consistency of the cream, and the quickness with which it dries makes it far superior to any regular sunscreen. This is one of the easiest, best products you can use to prevent damage.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 377 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: CT
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:November 1, 2008
I love to be able to moisturize & protect my face from the sun's harmful rays all at the same time.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: CT
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 378 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Los Anglees
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:October 29, 2008

Weekend short cut

I use this when I go out on the weekend and don't want to do a full makeup but need sun protection.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Los Anglees
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 379 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: San Diego, CA
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(515)
Date:October 29, 2008

Lovely Finish & Protection

I was looking for an all physical sunscreen with a bit of tint, & this seemed to fit the bill. I love the feel, finish, & protection. Sadly though, the tint is just too dark for my very fair skin, resulting in a somewhat muddy look. If this came in a lighter shade, I'd likely be all over it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: San Diego, CA
skin concernDehydration
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 380 for City Block™ Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Location: Central Texas
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(515)
Date:October 29, 2008

Super Protection

When this came out several years ago I tried it and was I ever glad I took the Clinique Womans advice. I am a forever fan. It is light and yet really protects. In Central Texas we get brutal dry, hot, summers and this product protects and feels so light.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Location: Central Texas
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 24 Next >>>