Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25

City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25

Average Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(451 Reviews) 401
91%411of 451reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Review 361 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bynewbee
Location: nantucket
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

confused about this product

January 11, 2011
"this is really a foundation,I bought this as a sunscreen to help protect my face from sun,I expected a great product (like all of my clinique products),but I am disappointed with this product.I was sold on the "non"oilly part of it .It doesn't say anything at all about it being like a tinted foundation,which it is,it is not just a non oilly sunscreen,it is a foundation w/ sunscreeen in it,which might be great for some women,not me,I was very dissappointed,i just want a light non oilly feeling sunscreen to put on my face and NOT feeel greasy.THIS IS NOT THAT PRODUCT"
Cons: not as described
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 362 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Byniggy
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

February 25, 2009
"I have to face the computer screen for over 10 hours a day, my friend recommended this city block sheer to me and says it could save my skin from the radiation of computer. I use the product several times and the break outs seems less than before. I would keep using it, I think SPF 25 is enough for summer, next time I'll try SPF 15 for winter. By the way, I am oily combination skin, and this product works well without feeling oily, I love it! If only it has more color to choose like light purple or green, I think it would fit the yellow skin of Asian people better."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 363 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bymonster17
Location: California
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but..

November 29, 2013
"This stuff is pretty good. I bought it because I needed an SPF, I didn't expect it to have color to it, but that was a nice surprise. I'd say it's a little more than sheer coverage too. The only problem I have with it is that it is quite oily. When I first put it on it's fine, not too oily, but definitely not matte, but as the day goes on it just makes me more and more oily. I had high hopes for it since the description specifically says it absorbs oil, but unfortunately it does not, not for me anyway. The fact that it is so oily will likely keep me from purchasing it again."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 364 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bykristineeeeeeeee
Location: USA
Age: 18-21
Gender: Female
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Surprised

October 18, 2012
"I was surprised at how big this was. It is approximately the size of a marker. I was also surprised that It is tinted. The tint is too light for my skin color so I cannot wear it as is because my face ends up whiter than the rest of me. It does help with oil control as It does not exacerbate oil production. However, at the end of the day you may find yourself blotting as this product does not last for 24 hours. It is smooth but may have a drying effect on dry areas such as blemish spots. I have never used another stand alone sunscreen like this to compare but it is OK so far."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 365 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByMarielle
Location: Chicago
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome moisturizer with sunscreen!

January 23, 2013
"I have tried many sunscreens, but this one is the best and I wear it all year round. It is moisturizing enough for me, so I don't use any additional moisturizer during the day. It has high % of mineral sunscreen, but it's slightly tinted, so there is no white cast. It doesn't make me breakout, like many products with this amount of mineral sunscreen. It also gives my skin a slight glow, so most days I just wear it with a little powder, but it looks great under foundation as well. It really does act like a primer. The price is very reasonable for this type of top notch product!"
Pros: great sun protection, gives skin beautiful glow, can be worn under make up or alone
Cons: none
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 366 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByCharlieLove
Location: Kailua, HI
skin concern: Dark Spots/ Uneven Skin Tone
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Takes awhile..

June 5, 2011
"It took me awhile to like this product, but when I got over the "first impression" I liked it. When i first opened it, a lot of gooey stuff just oozed out...I tried to shake it first to mix it or something, and that helped a little. I ended up standing the product on it's cap over night and when I used it in the morning it was a lot better. I do admit though that once mixed properly [or at least that gooey stuff isn't coming out first!], it's a great product. I've noticed my makeup stays on longer and i feel protected proper from the sun. It took a little while to like it though."
Pros: good primer, good sunblock
Cons: gooey when first comes out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 367 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bymissjam
Location: Queens, NY
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Sunscreen

July 16, 2009
"i think this product is really good. I really dont like to use much on my face. i dont wear makeup either because i have extremely sensitive skin, but this sunscreen goes on sheer and does not make my skin oily. i put put this after the 3 step face lotion gel. since this product is sheer but tinted you have to take it off before bed. i dont like the part where it has color, otherwise this would have gotten 5 stars. and also you may think the product is enough to last you a long time, but it is actually small and wont last a year probably, but we'll see i just got this 3 weeks ago."
Pros: absorbs quickly doesnt make skin oily., great sunscreen protection
Cons: tinited., should have more for the price paid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 368 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByMugabug
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

May 27, 2013
"I found this product while searching for a daily non-chemical sunscreen for my sensitive skin - but it ended up being much more than that! The sheer tint provided just enough coverage that with a little concealer on a couple of spots I was good to go for the day. Made my skin feel soft, even after washing it off, didn't settle in my pores, and I topped it off with a little powder when I went out later that night. I wonder how this would work on darker skin tones, but it disappeared on my NW15 skin. What a great find- you don't often find a product that delivers MORE than it promises!"
Pros: sheer tint, sensitive skin-friendly
Cons: maybe too light for some skin tones?
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 369 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
BySummer819
Location: Toledo, OH
Age: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

April 23, 2013
"When I saw Clinique didn't offer their Dramatically Different Moisturizing gel with SPF, this looked like a perfect companion. I just received this in the mail and am disappointed. I excitedly opened it up and tried it on my forehead (where I tend to have a problem with oil) and immediately looked greasy. I thought maybe it was not using the DD gel with it, but I tried again this morning and ended up washing it off. My skin looks nearly like a matte finish with just the DD gel, but add city block sheer and it's back to the same shiny problem. I'm sure it works for some, but it's not for me."
Pros: spf
Cons: did not absorb oil
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 370 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByAmez
Location: Los Angeles, CA
skin concern: Clarity/Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

January 21, 2009
"I used to live in WA where the air was clean and I've moved to LA, CA for school now and my skin has gotten visibly worse since. I realized that no matter how much sleep I get, or how healthy I eat my skin just kept getting worse. (more freckly, prone to more break outs, very dry, uneven skin tone and simply problematic) So I figured pollution and the lack of sun protection must be it and bought SPF 40. and jackpot! This is a very quick absorbing, mild formula that I just use after putting on the yellow lotion. I usually don't wear any make up on top, but with or without it has saved my skin!"
Pros: quick absorbtion, mild, minimal coverage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 371 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Byk1234
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

November 1, 2012
"This stuff is just about perfect for my oily, breakout prone, sensitive skin! I love that it's oil free, slightly tinted, has no chemical sunscreens, and is moisturizing. I don't like a lot of stuff on my face because I've found that most things break me out and/or cause irritation. This stuff is lightweight and creamy and I love the way it feels on my skin. I still get a little shiny throughout the day but nothing major like with other things I've tried. The sheer coverage is perfect. It even does well around my extremely sensitive eyes. Thanks Clinique! I hope you never discontinue this product!"
Pros: lightweight, tinted, oil free, no chemical sunscreens
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 372 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Byimisscali
Location: North West US
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Change of hue!

March 12, 2010
"I have used the SPF 25 City Block for many years and loved it! However, the tint has apparantly been changed to a more yellow or sort of deeper beige color and I am one of the more pink-fair types, which the sheer tint used to mimic. I decided to try the SPF 40 to see if it was only the other that had been altered, but to my disappointment, it also has the yelow/beige hue. Story of my life! When I have found a magnificent product which actually works for me . . . it either changes or disappears! I will miss you City Block SPF 25. Aside from this latest change, (for whatever reason!), it is a gem indeed."
Pros: lightweight & excellent protection
Cons: different shade!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 373 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByVerte
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
July 23, 2010
"I love that this facial sunscreen is gentle enough for my sensitive skin, is sheer and does not use chemical sunsceen. I've tried expensive mineral sunsceens that promise to be sheer, but they always leave my face with a white cast and I need all the color I can get since I'm so fair. The only reason I don't give this five stars it that the color is actually a little too dark on me. I used this product two years ago and it seems more yellowish tan now than before. I wish Clinique would make this in different tint options for fair to dark skin colors. Besides the color of the tint I think it is a great product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 374 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Byveelovesclinique
Location: Austin, TX
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cannot live without this!

July 29, 2011
"I've tried about 2-3 different brands of primers, and I finally hit the jackpot with this one! It's a great base for foundation and powder. It's light and clean, and it really makes things smooth! Sometimes when I need to run an errand really quickly and want a little bit of coverage but don't have the time or patience to put on ALL the makeup, I dab some of this all over my face and go, and it looks remarkably close to the real thing! It also lasts for months!
I absolutely hate applying makeup without it; it just doesn't feel right! When I get compliments on my skin and makeup, I know City Block is the reason!"
Pros: lightweight, great coverage, works very well as a primer, tinted, great value, one size fits all
Cons: sometimes moisture will ooze from bottle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 375 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bydogfan17
Location: FL, USA
skin concern: Lines or Wrinkles Sagging
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best sunscreen ever for face and neck

February 18, 2009
"This purely non-chemical sunscreen is the best I have found for face and neck, and I have tried an awful lot of sunscreens. The advantages to this product are that the pure non-chemical suncreens do not sting on my sensitive skin, and the protection lasts all day (while most chemical suncreens "'wear off" over time). This goes on easily and smoothly. It has a slight beige-ish tint to mask the whiteness of the minerals used for sunscreen. My husband uses this too and he has extremely sensitive skin with rosacea. I use this in hot humid Florida to play golf for 5 hours in the summer - and my fair skin never gets burned!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 376 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByMamaBear
Location: Eugene, OR
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for me...

October 25, 2008
"I know that most people love this product but it wasn't for me - I liked that it was a tinted sunscreen, but it felt like it was sitting on top of my skin (not being absorbed) and if I used a tissue, it looked like I had just wiped off the product (along with the sunscreen), so I was unsure if it was fully protecting my face. It also seemed like it was clogging my pores. I was bummed because it seemed like everyone else loved it.
I returned the product and explained my concerns to the Clinique associate and she recommended Superdefense SPF 25 - I have loved this product from day one and would recommend to anyone who didn't like City Block.
"
Pros: tinted sunscreen
Cons: felt like it wasn't being absorbed by skin, seemed like it was clogging my pores
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 377 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Byadriana
Location: Tacoma, WA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good physical sunscreen

February 10, 2011
"I like the tint on this product, it covers what would be a white cast from the physical sunscreen ingredients. I usually break out from chemical sunscreens, so this is a welcome change.
It is a very thick product though. I have to apply immediately after my skin care routine to moisturized skin. It really helps to massage the tube while closed and shake well before opening to prevent separation of the product.
I also have to warm up the sunscreen with my hands and blend quickly and thoroughly or sometimes I get strange patches on my face.
Overall, a very good product, non greasy and no fragrance, just wish it blended a little bit easier."
Pros: good protection
Cons: sometimes hard to blend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 378 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bycrober
Location: Chicago, IL
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Revolutionary for Oily Skins

July 2, 2010
"I got this product bundled with the Even Better Skin Tone Corrector, which I LOVE! I have very oily skin, that is prone the occasional blemish. Usually my skin is oily a few hours after applying makeup in the AM and by 5pm my makeup has wilted and I'm shiny all over. This product kept my skin shine free all day, evened my skin tone for a natural finish and stayed in place. With oily skin it's hard to find a makeup combination that wont sink into pores and lines or appears to sit on top of the skin. Today my face looks fresh, flawless, and even. I've developed a chronic mirror checking urge because I just cannot believe how great my skin looks!"
Pros: sheer but covers just enough., absorbs quickly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 379 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
ByTara
Location: Chico, CA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible!!

June 10, 2010
"First of all let me say I love Clinique and I really wanted to like this but I HATE it. It is really, really tinted. After applying it my skin looked yellow-ish and gross. It settled into lines and dry patches on my skin (I even used moisturizer before applying it). The texture is so thick and I still can't get over how tinted it is. I felt like I was putting makeup on. I wiped it off with a wet towel and the towel was yellow. I threw away the receipt and am so upset that I won't be able to return it. I've heard the SPF 40 is thinner so maybe I would like that one better but I am terrified to try another one. Please save your money and try something different."
Cons: thick, weird tinted color, tiny tube
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 380 for City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 25
Bysparklesparklesparkle
Location: Florida
Age: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I received a free trial of this product.No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

worked for me

February 5, 2014
"I first purchased this product to use during a summer trip to NYC. I was in a jam because I have very fair, sensitive skin that burns easily, but I also have combination-oily skin that is very prone to breakouts. I walked all over the city for a week sweating like a pig (it was July!), and I did not burn, nor did it irritate my skin or cause breakouts.
I also found it to be a good primer for my foundation. It has a bit of a peach tint to it, which was fine for me, but may be an issue for some customers. Like others have said, it has a weird consistency (a bit oily) when it comes out of the tube, but mixing it with your fingers before applying it will solve that issue."
Pros: doesn't cause breakouts, good for sensitive skin, long-lasting, looks good under makeup
Cons: oily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
prev 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 next