Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Self Tanners or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium

Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium

Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 62
81%52 of 64would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Review 1 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
BrocksMama
Location: Clarksville, TN, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:December 11, 2014

Excellent Self Tanner!!!!

This is my favorite self tanner on the market. It produces a beautiful tan color for my very fair skin. I apply it to my arms, shoulders, back, & legs with my hands. I use a cotton ball and dilute it with normal lotion when applying it to my feet. This keeps the color from grabbing. I use this self tanner every summer and always receive many compliments on my tan. It always looks fabulous. I couldn't make it through summer without it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
BrocksMama
Location: Clarksville, TN, USA
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Bev1987
Location: Virginia
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:May 17, 2014

Great Self Tanner

Great Self Tanner ! Just a great easy tip if you want to moisturize and self tan at the same time, add the self tanner to a tub of Clinique Body Butter (best if tub is 1/4 empty for room to add tanner) and stir until blended well, this way it is already mixed everyday without having to mix it in your hands. Easy way to keep that tan you create and stay moisturized at the same time.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: no orange coloring
Bev1987
Location: Virginia
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
MrsC425
Location: Randolph
I'm: Over 65
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:May 14, 2014

tan without the sun

I like this self tanner alot because it has color to it and you can see where you are putting it. It gives your legs a softness too.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
MrsC425
Location: Randolph
I'm: Over 65
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
SuzInDallas
Location: Dallas, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(64)
Date:April 22, 2014

great product, doesn't stink!

I purchased the light - medium self tanner for my legs because of reviews I had read. I absolutely HATE the smell of self tanning lotions. I know it is the chemical used to cause the 'tanning' reaction, but yuck! This product has a slight odor of self tan product, but faint, and it wears off. Five stars for that! The color is not drastic, so I applied two days in a row for a good tan on my legs. Then re-apply every two days or so to maintain color.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
SuzInDallas
Location: Dallas, TX
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Punkydoodles
Location: Nashville, TN
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:April 21, 2014

Should say "concentrate" on the bottle

I tried applying while still wet after the shower and that worked well but I had to stand there for 15 minutes while I "air dried". The 2nd application I did what the directions said and mixed equal parts of tanner and lotion together with great results! I used latex gloves from the grocery store to keep from having tanner all over my palms. Mixing with lotion allows you to dry off before applying. You can also apply it 2 days in a row to get the tan you are looking for. Excellent product overall!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Punkydoodles
Location: Nashville, TN
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Tanning
Location: California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(64)
Date:April 19, 2014

Experienced self tanner

Back in 2009 Clinique decided to change their tanning lotion and replace it with the "tinted" tanning version. Which by the way is very sticky and not a comfortable lotion to wear on your skin, also the tan does not look natural. I check this site every few months hoping Clinique has decided to bring back the old tanning lotion version. I have not found anything comparable as the old version. If the reviewers of Clinique actually read these post and care about what their customers say and want maybe they will take notice that back in 2009 there were a lot of compliments about the old version and many people have asked for it to come back. Please take this into consideration, you may see your sales spike. Thank you.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Tanning
Location: California
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Taralynn13
Location: Jonesboro, Ar.
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(64)
Date:March 30, 2014

Nice Color

This worked ok. It did make my face a little darker and it was pretty even.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: nice color, even coverage.
Cons: not that much of a change.
Taralynn13
Location: Jonesboro, Ar.
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
binzer
Location: Billings, Mt
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:January 29, 2014

Made my skin really soft

I really like Clinique Self Sun it really made my skin soft and nice color. It didnt make it orange like some self tanners do. The only thing i found out i needed to do is wear gloves because it did leave my palms orange brown looking.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
binzer
Location: Billings, Mt
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
whosonfirst
Location: Seattle
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(64)
Date:October 3, 2013

Great product

I was a little worried this product would look orange on my very fair skin--not the case at all. This is just the right amount of color and perfect for Seattle winters when I don't see the sun.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: not orange-y
whosonfirst
Location: Seattle
I'm: 22-30
Gender: Female
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
myhusbandcallsmebaby
Location: Texas
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:April 27, 2013

Self Sun is great!

Even my dermatologist thought I had been sunning! I get positive comments from strangers. The trick is damp skin and don't try to use too much at a time.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: looks like a real tan!
Cons: don't use too much...
myhusbandcallsmebaby
Location: Texas
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
AngRN
Location: Champaign,IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:March 18, 2013

Love it!

This self tanner is great! It isn't streaky or too oily. It really blends into the skin nicely. I like that it is tinted. That makes an even application easy. It doesn't smell bad like many other self tanning products. Apparently, it was popular with others, as mine was stolen from my own bathroom. :( I shall buy again and keep it hidden this time! It's definitely a product that I don't want to be without.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: even color no streaks
AngRN
Location: Champaign,IL
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
StarGazer
Location: Detroit, mi
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:October 11, 2012

Not for redheads!

I tried a sample from the nice clinique counter. This product is not for redheads, the hue was slightly orange and not at all natural. It did smell nice but it scared me, I won't purchase.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Cons: orange streaky
StarGazer
Location: Detroit, mi
I'm: 31-40
Gender: Female
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Beckka
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:October 10, 2012

great tanner product

I like the way it goes on even and makes you look like you have a natural sun made tan.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: looks even and natural
Beckka
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
I'm: 51-64
Gender: Female
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
SuQM
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(64)
Date:September 7, 2012

Damages Bath Towels

I liked this product until it damaged 2 of my bath towels by rubbing off and then not washing out. I thought the first mark on a bath towel was from something unusually dirty in my washer until it happened again. Then I searched all the customer reviews to see if anyone else had this problem, and I found that this had happened to others. Clinique should discontinue this product or fix the problem, but I will no longer use any self tanners from Clinique.
No
SuQM
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
I'm: 41-50
Gender: Female
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
-11points
12out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:May 29, 2012

Great self tanner

This product really does what it claims on the package. No streaking;no odor; no orange tint: just nice bronzer color. Not a shocking fake tanner look. Thank you Clinique for another great beauty item.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
Tristan
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:January 5, 2012

Amazing

This Product is amazing. Ive tried other self tanners and this is by far the best.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: does not streak, looks natural, fast and easy
Cons: none
Tristan
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
cpaturner
Location: Mobile, AL
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:July 25, 2011

This Self-Tanner Rocks!

Love the result! I desparately needed a self-tanner to replace a competitor's self-tanner product, which was discontinued. I am pleasantly surprised to find this is an even BETTER product. I use the same methodology with Clinique as I did the other product: I slightly dampen my skin first, then apply in small amounts rubbing thoroughly in all directions to prevent streaking. Dampening the skin somewhat helps prevent "drag" so the lotion applies more evenly. I'm hooked!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: very little odor, natural healthy-looking glow, not orangey, fades relatively evenly
Cons: can stain palms if not thoroughly washed
cpaturner
Location: Mobile, AL
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
ChristinaT
Location: Afghanistan
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:July 14, 2011

Excellent!

I swear by this product. I've tried other self tanners in the past and found that they were too thick, had a funny smell, and left me looking orange. You'll find that this product is thin and goes on smooth and evenly when applied right. What I like to do is put a thin even layer on, let it dry (no contact with clothes) for about 30 minutes. then hop in the shower and do a quick rinse (no soap). This still leaves you with color but not looking orange and streaky!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
ChristinaT
Location: Afghanistan
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
MindyF
Location: Allentown, PA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(64)
Date:July 13, 2011

Self Sun

I wanted to get away from the tanning bed, so I thought I'd try this product. It was easy to apply, & it made my skin feel silky afterwards. It seems like it took a long time to dry though. I expected a bigger change terms of color. Maybe I didn't use enough or I should've chosen the darker color. There was an irridescence to it, which I didn't care for.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: softer skin after using product
Cons: long drying time
MindyF
Location: Allentown, PA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion Light - Medium
DannysMom
Location: Auburn, CA
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(64)
Date:June 19, 2011

Love this Product

I have used this product for over 10 years, Very natural looking tan. Easy application with no streaking!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
DannysMom
Location: Auburn, CA
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>