Clinique Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Clinique
Shop Sun & Self Tanners or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium

Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium

Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 68
83%58 of 70would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Review 1 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Painted Post,N.Y
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:January 27, 2016

Best tanner ever!

This does the job perfectly. I love it and wouldn't use anything else.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.Yes
Location: Painted Post,N.Y
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Georgia, USA
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:January 18, 2016

Love it!

I wanted my tan to last longer after vacation and decided to give this a try. I can totally tell a difference! It looks like I spent time sitting in the sun. I use every 5 days and it looks great! Would like to try the medium/dark to see the difference.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest.No
Location: Georgia, USA
I'm18-21
GenderFemale
using Clinique for1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Nebraska
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:October 8, 2015

Best One Yet

The Self Sun Body in Light/Medium is what I use. I have fair skin and I use this mainly on my legs. It is the only self-tanner I've tried that doesn't leave a funky smell and it doesn't make my skin itchy AND doesn't contain parabens, something we should all be more aware of. Oh, and by the way, it does the best job at giving me subtle, even color too. I don't have issues with blotches on my knees with this lotion. I use it every third day and in between I use a good moisturizer on my legs. I'm not super-careful when applying, in fact sometimes I mix this lotion with another lotion to make it easier to cover every square inch it it works great that way too. You just need to be good about spreading it out well when applying. I would definitly recommend this product.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Nebraska
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:May 12, 2015
This is a great self tanner! Does not streak! I use light/medium cause I like to build my tan. There are a lot of negative comments about the scent... it is a little strong as you're putting it on but disappears as soon as it dries, I think it just depends on your body chemistry. Overall a great product!
Ps. I did not receive a free sample of this product! I clicked no but for some reason it says I did.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
GenderFemale
skin type3 - Combination Oily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:March 30, 2015

The BEST self tanner on the market!

This stuff really works, and a little goes a long way. I combine it with my favorite moisturizer. It smooths on easily. I can see exactly where it's going, so no streaks or splotches. Has a fresh clean scent, not your typical self tanner smell. Love it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type1 - Very Dry
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Chattanooga, TN, USA
I'mOver 65
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:March 12, 2015

Easy

Easy to use, good coloration, never orange, looks natural, lasts as long as other brands.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Chattanooga, TN, USA
I'mOver 65
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Clarksville, TN, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:December 11, 2014

Excellent Self Tanner!!!!

This is my favorite self tanner on the market. It produces a beautiful tan color for my very fair skin. I apply it to my arms, shoulders, back, & legs with my hands. I use a cotton ball and dilute it with normal lotion when applying it to my feet. This keeps the color from grabbing. I use this self tanner every summer and always receive many compliments on my tan. It always looks fabulous. I couldn't make it through summer without it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: Clarksville, TN, USA
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Virginia
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:May 17, 2014

Great Self Tanner

Great Self Tanner ! Just a great easy tip if you want to moisturize and self tan at the same time, add the self tanner to a tub of Clinique Body Butter (best if tub is 1/4 empty for room to add tanner) and stir until blended well, this way it is already mixed everyday without having to mix it in your hands. Easy way to keep that tan you create and stay moisturized at the same time.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: no orange coloring
Location: Virginia
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Randolph
I'mOver 65
skin concernRedness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:May 14, 2014

tan without the sun

I like this self tanner alot because it has color to it and you can see where you are putting it. It gives your legs a softness too.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Randolph
I'mOver 65
skin concernRedness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Dallas, TX
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(70)
Date:April 22, 2014

great product, doesn't stink!

I purchased the light - medium self tanner for my legs because of reviews I had read. I absolutely HATE the smell of self tanning lotions. I know it is the chemical used to cause the 'tanning' reaction, but yuck! This product has a slight odor of self tan product, but faint, and it wears off. Five stars for that! The color is not drastic, so I applied two days in a row for a good tan on my legs. Then re-apply every two days or so to maintain color.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Dallas, TX
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Nashville, TN
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:April 21, 2014

Should say "concentrate" on the bottle

I tried applying while still wet after the shower and that worked well but I had to stand there for 15 minutes while I "air dried". The 2nd application I did what the directions said and mixed equal parts of tanner and lotion together with great results! I used latex gloves from the grocery store to keep from having tanner all over my palms. Mixing with lotion allows you to dry off before applying. You can also apply it 2 days in a row to get the tan you are looking for. Excellent product overall!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: Nashville, TN
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernMakeup Application
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: California
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(70)
Date:April 19, 2014

Experienced self tanner

Back in 2009 Clinique decided to change their tanning lotion and replace it with the "tinted" tanning version. Which by the way is very sticky and not a comfortable lotion to wear on your skin, also the tan does not look natural. I check this site every few months hoping Clinique has decided to bring back the old tanning lotion version. I have not found anything comparable as the old version. If the reviewers of Clinique actually read these post and care about what their customers say and want maybe they will take notice that back in 2009 there were a lot of compliments about the old version and many people have asked for it to come back. Please take this into consideration, you may see your sales spike. Thank you.
No
I received a free trial of this product.No
Location: California
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Jonesboro, Ar.
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(70)
Date:March 30, 2014

Nice Color

This worked ok. It did make my face a little darker and it was pretty even.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: nice color, even coverage.
Cons: not that much of a change.
Location: Jonesboro, Ar.
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Billings, Mt
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:January 29, 2014

Made my skin really soft

I really like Clinique Self Sun it really made my skin soft and nice color. It didnt make it orange like some self tanners do. The only thing i found out i needed to do is wear gloves because it did leave my palms orange brown looking.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Location: Billings, Mt
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for6-10 years
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Seattle
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(70)
Date:October 3, 2013

Great product

I was a little worried this product would look orange on my very fair skin--not the case at all. This is just the right amount of color and perfect for Seattle winters when I don't see the sun.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
I received a free trial of this product.No
Pros: not orange-y
Location: Seattle
I'm22-30
GenderFemale
skin concernBreak Outs
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for6-10 years
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Texas
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:April 27, 2013

Self Sun is great!

Even my dermatologist thought I had been sunning! I get positive comments from strangers. The trick is damp skin and don't try to use too much at a time.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: looks like a real tan!
Cons: don't use too much...
Location: Texas
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernDark Spots
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique forI'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Champaign,IL
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:March 18, 2013

Love it!

This self tanner is great! It isn't streaky or too oily. It really blends into the skin nicely. I like that it is tinted. That makes an even application easy. It doesn't smell bad like many other self tanning products. Apparently, it was popular with others, as mine was stolen from my own bathroom. :( I shall buy again and keep it hidden this time! It's definitely a product that I don't want to be without.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: even color no streaks
Location: Champaign,IL
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for1-5 years
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Detroit, mi
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:October 11, 2012

Not for redheads!

I tried a sample from the nice clinique counter. This product is not for redheads, the hue was slightly orange and not at all natural. It did smell nice but it scared me, I won't purchase.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Cons: orange streaky
Location: Detroit, mi
I'm31-40
GenderFemale
skin concernClarity or Dullness
skin type2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for11-25 years
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(70)
Date:October 10, 2012

great tanner product

I like the way it goes on even and makes you look like you have a natural sun made tan.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: looks even and natural
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
I'm51-64
GenderFemale
skin concernAge Prevention
skin type3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for11-25 years
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Self Sun™ Body Tinted Lotion Light/Medium
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(70)
Date:September 7, 2012

Damages Bath Towels

I liked this product until it damaged 2 of my bath towels by rubbing off and then not washing out. I thought the first mark on a bath towel was from something unusually dirty in my washer until it happened again. Then I searched all the customer reviews to see if anyone else had this problem, and I found that this had happened to others. Clinique should discontinue this product or fix the problem, but I will no longer use any self tanners from Clinique.
No
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
I'm41-50
GenderFemale
skin concernPores
skin type4 - Oily
using Clinique forLess than 1 year
-11points
12out of 35found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>