Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Soft Finish Makeup

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Clinique.

Soft Finish Makeup

Moisture-giving, line-softening makeup for dry skins.
Average Customer Rating:
4.798 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 89
98%97 of 99would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Soft Finish Makeup
Review 1 for Soft Finish Makeup
HappyAudit
Location: Honolulu, HI
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:May 30, 2011

Best Foundation Ever

I have extremely dry and sensitive skin. This foundation is the only one I have tried that addresses both these conditions. It provides a light, smooth finish.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
HappyAudit
Location: Honolulu, HI
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Soft Finish Makeup
heatherlfb
Location: Pittsburgh
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:May 12, 2011

Just the right coverage

I LOVE this makeup. It covers nicely without looking cakey or heavy. It moisturizes and best of all-it doesn't settle in lines!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: doesn't settle into lines, makes skin look smooth
heatherlfb
Location: Pittsburgh
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Soft Finish Makeup
Springbaby
Location: Columbus, Ohio
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:May 8, 2011

Can't live without it!

If Clinique were ever to discontinue this product, I don't know what I would do. The finish on this foundation is GORGEOUS...goes on like silk, good coverage but doesn't make you look "cakey." As I've gotten older, it's stood the test of time. There are no good substitutes for this product with the other major brands. PLEASE keep it on the market!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Springbaby
Location: Columbus, Ohio
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Soft Finish Makeup
Yahoo
Location: Birmingham, AL
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:May 5, 2011

Favorite makeup foundation

This makeup foundation is perfect, not too sheer and not too heavy consistency. It glides on and looks great.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: perfect coverage/not too heavy and not too sheer
Yahoo
Location: Birmingham, AL
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Soft Finish Makeup
operalover
Location: Colorado
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:April 8, 2011

New product - love it!

Clinique no longer sells my preferred makeup online or in the stores, and the superbalanced does not go evenly on my skin. How happy I am to find a replacement for the Balanced makeup I always used. I love how the Soft Finish Makeup goes so evenly on my skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
operalover
Location: Colorado
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Soft Finish Makeup
molly97
Location: Finger Lakes, NY
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:April 8, 2011

Love it!

I have been away from Clinique for a while. Decided to try it again and love it. Don't know why I ever changed to another product. It was easy to order and came quickly. thanks Clinique!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
molly97
Location: Finger Lakes, NY
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Soft Finish Makeup
laxing
Location: Long Island, NY
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:April 5, 2011

I love clinique products

Soft finish foundations covers very well and feels very light on. I have been using it for years. Also doesnt dry out your skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
laxing
Location: Long Island, NY
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Soft Finish Makeup
Anhtuc
Location: CA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(99)
Date:March 29, 2011

Gives a natural finish

It's very soft, just as described and it gives me a glow to my face, which I love because I have dry combination and I really like how it balance out my skin. However, if you are looking for a foundation which covers your blemishes, scars or discoloration .. then it's not for you. I used this with the concealer because it's very sheer, and it does not stay throughout the day though, which is why I gave it a 4 out of 5... So far it does not give me any blemishes, which I like.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: natural dewy finish does not break me out
Cons: easily wears off
Anhtuc
Location: CA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Soft Finish Makeup
Momdog
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:March 24, 2011

soft finish

when Clinique discontinued my favorite base, I tried them all, and none were close. Then, someone recommended Soft Finish and it does the trick. It is now my favorite, better then the old Balanced. It covers, is almost invisible, does not dry out the skin, but also does not leave an "oily" finish. It's the best.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Momdog
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Soft Finish Makeup
DDCEE
Location: Chicago area.
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:February 24, 2011

Wow!

This has bee a pleasant surprise. I was looking for a make-up that did not settle in wrinkles. This was a foundation I tried when I was younger & thought it was ok. It is not a heavy make-up, so if you need more coverage for age spots or blemishes, I recommend using a concealer with it or build the coverage. I use Even Better moisturizer for sun spots, then I can use less foundation in return.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: natural feel, good in all lights, does not settle in lines
Cons: limited shades
DDCEE
Location: Chicago area.
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Soft Finish Makeup
Enlightened
Location: Texas
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:February 21, 2011

Like A Soft-Finished Photo

I really like this foundation. Just as the name implies, the product immediately gives your face the same effect as soft-finishing gives to a photo. It's subtle, but noticeable. I have very dry skin and live in a dry climate, so I prep with Youth Surge Day Cream, then apply Soft Finish Foundation. My skin is glowy, but never shiny.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Enlightened
Location: Texas
skin concern: Lines and Wrinkles
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Soft Finish Makeup
Sharence
Location: South Dakota
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(99)
Date:February 20, 2011

Soft Finish Makeup

I have dry skin so it goes on smooth and not blotchy.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Sharence
Location: South Dakota
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Soft Finish Makeup
Mar24
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:February 11, 2011

Great product

Very natural looking....and keeps skin looking good
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Mar24
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Soft Finish Makeup
southernzgirl
Location: Alabama
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(99)
Date:January 11, 2011

A good makeup

I thank "jennisue" from California for her review saying that she thought that Soft Finish was the best alternative after Clinique discontinued the Balanced Makeup - because of that review, I ordered it and am much happier with it than I was with the Even Better Makeup that the sales counter person recommended and I had purchased previously (it was too drying and showed all my wrinkles! but did help with skin tone/age spots). I still mourn the loss of Balanced Makeup and thought it was best, but Soft Finish is at least moisurizing, goes on easily, and covers well enough - I'd prefer it to be more matte and cover better, but I'm happy for now.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: moisturizing silky
Cons: doesn't cover quite as well as balanced did
southernzgirl
Location: Alabama
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Soft Finish Makeup
hotsunshine
Location: AZ
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:January 1, 2011

love this makeup

I have been using this makeup for several years now. I have rosacea, and have to be very careful about what I put on my face. This makeup does not irritate my skin. It doesn't feel like a mask either.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
hotsunshine
Location: AZ
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Soft Finish Makeup
ifitaintbrokedontfixit
Location: Portland OR
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(99)
Date:December 24, 2010

okay but old formulation better

I am returning to Clinique after a 10 year hiatus. This was a disappointment. It used to be my old standby; it had great coverage and stayed put all day. Now it is average, requiring some touch ups and not the coverage I remember. Still though, this product is better than many others.
No
Pros: stays put better than most, gentle to skin non allergenic
Cons: weaker coverage
ifitaintbrokedontfixit
Location: Portland OR
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Soft Finish Makeup
Jennisue
Location: California
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(99)
Date:December 21, 2010

great substitute for Balanced Makeup

If any of you have had a hard time finding a new foundation after Clinique stopped making Balanced Makeup, I recommend trying the Soft Finish Makeup. It's the closest I've found to the Balanced. The Super Balanced sat on top of my skin, showing every bit of dry skin/lines, and had a strange consistency. After trying the Soft Finish I am very happy with the coverage.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Jennisue
Location: California
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Soft Finish Makeup
clogdancer52
Location: Ohio
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:December 13, 2010

Happy with purchase, but not free samples

I ordered online due to getting a couple free sample products. However, one was a lip gloss which I won't be using due to it not being sealed. I always look for sealed products when purchasing in stores and think all companies should strive to package their products that way. I've been using the Soft Finish Makeup for years, and, obviously, I do like it very much. It's not heavy and is good for my very dry, sensitive skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: medium coverage good for dry sensitive skin
clogdancer52
Location: Ohio
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Soft Finish Makeup
gracegirl
Location: Columbiana, OH
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:December 12, 2010

Love this foundation

This foundation has great coverage and a nice finish. Clinique is the only foundation I will use.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
gracegirl
Location: Columbiana, OH
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Soft Finish Makeup
Schatzie
Location: Stuttgart,AR
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(99)
Date:December 5, 2010

My mom was impressed

Mom had been unable to find the Clinique Soft Finish makeup at the local store that carried CLinique products. Mom is 80 was always told that other types of Clinique make-up were available, just not the Soft Finish. So i ordered it for her online and it was delivered within 2 days. I ordered an additional bottle for myself, as I was going to visit and did not want to take the risk of it getting confiscated by TSA. We were both thrilled.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: shipping directly to mom
Schatzie
Location: Stuttgart,AR
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>