Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Balanced Makeup Base

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Clinique.

Balanced Makeup Base

Fits normal to dry skins perfectly. Slips on easily, covers evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.884 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 153
97%159 of 164would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Balanced Makeup Base
Review 61 for Balanced Makeup Base
slf54
Location: Rochester, MN
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 26, 2009

Top Clinique product!

PLEASE do not ever discontinue this product! I have been wearing your Balanced makeup for many years. Between my eye allergies and very sensitive skin, I am unable to wear most all makeup products. This is one product that does not bother either my eyes or my skin. I usually take advantage of your online specials, which I really appreciate. I have tried your other foundations, but they are nowhere near as good as your Balanced foundation. I really hope that you listen to your loyal customers. Thank you!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
slf54
Location: Rochester, MN
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Balanced Makeup Base
livvie
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 23, 2009

My Favorite!

I have been a Clinique customer for many years and was very disappointed when I was told that Balanced Makeup Base was to be discontinued. It is the best foundation I have ever used, sheer, lightweight with excellent coverage, lasts all day and always looks great. I have found nothing that feels this good on my face. I do hope you keep this product. I love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
livvie
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Balanced Makeup Base
scolyer
Location: Northwest Arkansas
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 16, 2009

Never Fail Base

Tthis is the base that has become the tried and true staple in my makeup drawer. It covers and smooths redness, while appearing light and fresh. Buy it, recommend it, most importantly, introduce your daughters to it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: flawless coverage, consistency in color with each bottle
scolyer
Location: Northwest Arkansas
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Balanced Makeup Base
SensitiveGirl79
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 12, 2009

Hoped for better coverage

This product, I hoped, would cover the redness of my face due to acne scarring. It did not do a very good job of that. Nevertheless, it works as a light foundation and I would recommend it to someone with a pretty even skin tone.
No
SensitiveGirl79
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Balanced Makeup Base
moniqueb
Location: california
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 12, 2009

small neck bottles

I love the balance makeup but could not find the exact right shade for me.. so i blend two shades into a bigger bottle..but what a pain triyng to get the make up out when the bottle is half empty and a couple months old. The small neck of these bottle is not conducive to getting to the last drop!
When are you going to change that?
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: love the coverage
Cons: small necks bottles
moniqueb
Location: california
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Balanced Makeup Base
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 12, 2009

Please Bring Ivory Balanced Back to Stores!

I'm an avid Clinique fan for 30 years and often receive compliments on my skin.
Ivory Balanced Makeup Base is my favorite product. I was in disbelief to learn that it would likely be discontinued. Super Balanced is not as comfortable and it irritates my eyes.
Please make Ivory Balanced Makeup Base readily available in department stores again.
Thank you!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Balanced Makeup Base
Beebe
Location: Georgia
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 11, 2009

Balance Makeup

I have used this makeup for years and years. It has the perfect coverage for aging skin - not so heavy that it settles into lines, but with enough coverage for uneven skin tones.
I now have to order online, and have tried other Clinique products, as well as other brands. Please do not discontinue this line. I cannot wear all products, even some in the Clinique line, and especially those with SPF. I find that none of your other foundations are quite right for me. Also, I would appreciate very much being able to purchase Balanced in color Fair.
Many thanks.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Beebe
Location: Georgia
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Balanced Makeup Base
Nutmeg2
Location: California
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 9, 2009

Love it!

I have been wearing balanced makeup base for close to 20 years. i love the color and texture-very natural but slightly refining. Beautiful! I am very, very glad to see Clinique bring this product back, as I couldn't find anything I liked nearly as much.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: beuatiful natural colors smooth sheer texture
Cons: none noted
Nutmeg2
Location: California
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Balanced Makeup Base
SuzieQ50
Location: Tucson, AZ
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:July 4, 2009

Excellent Product

I purchased this product because it stated it would cover redness or uneven skin tones and I am amazed how wells it works. The coverage is there yet it does not feel like I'm wearing a mask.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
SuzieQ50
Location: Tucson, AZ
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Balanced Makeup Base
7bees
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 27, 2009

Best purchase ever

I have used this product for well over 10 years. It is the only makeup that does not make my face breakout , turn red, and irritated. I am so very glad I can purchase this online, as it is no longer available in my stores.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
7bees
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Balanced Makeup Base
519195LCL
Location: Chesterfield, MO
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 26, 2009

Great Product

Balanced Makeup Base is no longer available in the local stores. I continue to order it on line because it works great on my skin. The color is the exact match and no other brand matches like Clinique Balanced Make Up color Chamois. It is well worth the extra effort to shop online and have it shipped to me instead of driving to the local department store. I hope Clinique continues to carry this wonderful product. I have been wearing Clinique for 40 years and most people still can't believe my age. This is a direct result of taking care of my skin and Clinique products are the only products I have ever used.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: never a allergic reaction, none
519195LCL
Location: Chesterfield, MO
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Balanced Makeup Base
Nellie
Location: Wisconsin
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 24, 2009

Only product I can wear

I have used this product since I was 34 and am 55 now. Because I have extremely sensitive skin I cannot wear any products with SPF. This foundation is a life saver for me since I really need a foundation to even out my skin tone. I don't know what I will do if they discontinue this item, which I have been told is possibly going to happen. PLEASE do not discontinue this product!! It would be great if it were available in the stores again too. I can't tell you how great this product has been for my skin and people can't believe it when I tell them my true age.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: it looks great on
Cons: not available in the store
Nellie
Location: Wisconsin
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Balanced Makeup Base
UserFor29Yrs
Location: Indiana
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 19, 2009

Please don't discontinue this product!

I'm 43 and get a lot of compliments about my complexion. Confession - I don't wash my face at night! This product has such a perfect moisture balance for me that I prefer it to washing and putting on lotion at night. It is even, blends well and looks natural. I've never found a better fit.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: keeps me looking my best
Cons: can't find it in stores
UserFor29Yrs
Location: Indiana
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Balanced Makeup Base
cathyb
Location: augusta, ME
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 16, 2009

my preference for makeup base

This is an excellent skin product. It goes on smoothly and easily, covering your skin evenly. It feels light on your face (not heavy) and not oily. A very natural look. I need to wear a foundation makeup, but I don't like it to look like I am wearing any, and this product accomplishes that perfectly.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
cathyb
Location: augusta, ME
skin concern: Dark Spots
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Balanced Makeup Base
Nvbarbie
Location: Nevada
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 11, 2009

Good for me

I am an older gal who needs good coverage but nothing that clogs my pores...I have used this product for many years and love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Nvbarbie
Location: Nevada
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 6-10 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Balanced Makeup Base
Seattlefan
Location: Seattle WA
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 10, 2009

Top Foundation

When this foundation disappeared from the department stores I tried several alternative brands, most at or nearly twice the price of this one. None performed as well as Balaned Makeup. It gives excellent coverage when used full sfrength yet can be applied in very thin layers if a little water is added. I have not found a better foundation. My 20 year old daughter started using my supply and is now an avid fan too.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: water based, excellent coverage, or sheer coverage if desired
Cons: available by order only
Seattlefan
Location: Seattle WA
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Balanced Makeup Base
Debbiedoo
Location: Hyannis, MA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 9, 2009

Fabulous foundation

I have been using this foundation for years, and I am 55 yrs old. People tell me they can't believe how wonderful my skin looks. I am having a terrible time buying this foundation in my store anymore in the color I use (ivory). The saleswoman at my store told me they are going to be discontinuing this foundation. PLEASE Clinique let this not be so!! This is the only foundation in your product line that my skin reacts so well to!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Debbiedoo
Location: Hyannis, MA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 2 - Dry Combination
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Balanced Makeup Base
musicmom
Location: Marion, LA
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 9, 2009

Wonderful Makeup

I love Balanced Makeup Base......it provides great coverage. I have dry skin and it is perfect for me.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
musicmom
Location: Marion, LA
skin concern: Dehydration
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Balanced Makeup Base
Varina
Location: Richmond, VA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:June 6, 2009

Second Skin!

This base is excellent! Goes on like a second skin. Very comfortble to wear. Does not settle into lines. All colors are beautiful. Sometimes I even mix a drop of DDML into it if I need extra moisture. A true classic.
A MUST-HAVE!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Varina
Location: Richmond, VA
skin concern: Makeup Application
skin type: 1 - Very Dry
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Balanced Makeup Base
Dorba
Location: Orange County, CA
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(164)
Date:May 26, 2009

Foundation

Using this product for 24 years and love it!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: blends well., light coverage., lasts most of the day
Cons: hard to find in stores. i buy it from the internet
Dorba
Location: Orange County, CA
skin concern: Redness
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 Next >>>