Clinique Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Clinique.

Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula

Helps keep skin blemish-free-controls oil, minimizes pores. Soft-matte finish stays flawless all day. Oil-free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.768 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 152
96%149 of 155would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Review 1 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
lagorest
Location: Phoenix, AZ
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 12, 2010

Discontinued?

Please don't discontinue this product! This is the only foundation I've ever found that controls my oily skin. It lasts all day and I don't feel like I have a pool of oil on face by the time five o'clock rolls around.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
lagorest
Location: Phoenix, AZ
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
CliniqueCustomer5
Location: TN
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 12, 2010

Best Product

I have been using this makeup for the last 5 years and I love it! My skin does not do well with any other foundation. I have been using another Clinique foundation for 4 days and my skin is already breaking out! Please bring back your skin clarifying makeup! It is the best foundation I have found and it is gentle on my skin. I have referred many of my friends to use this makeup line.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
CliniqueCustomer5
Location: TN
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 11, 2010

SEVERELY UPSET!!!

I have been using the Clarifying Makeup for at least 5 or 6 years and I am very upset to learn that the product has been discontinued! I cannot use any other kind of makeup because I have severely sensitive skin and break out VERY easily. Please, please, please bring this product back!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
clearskin
Location: VA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 9, 2010

Please, please, DO NOT Discontinue!!!

I finally found the perfect foundation! It is oil-free, applies smooth, prevents acne, lasts so long, sweat- resistant, and I don't have the blot frequently!... But I have been informed that this foundation is discontinued???!!! Please, Clinique do not discontinue this foundation!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: long lasting, controls oil, smooth, reduces look of pores, sweat-resistant, treats acne
clearskin
Location: VA
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Crackerjack
Location: Louisville, KY
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 9, 2010

Excellent product

I also just discovered that this make-up is being discontinued. I am so very, very disappointed. This is a great foundation - wonderful for those of us with oily skin - I've been using it for years. Are sales really that poor on this product to warrant d/c it? Could you not introduce your new product and also keep this one? Another product on the shelves I realize, but are the sales on this product really that poor? From the reviews, it sounds like you now have a lot of disappointed (long-term) customers.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Crackerjack
Location: Louisville, KY
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
lilpink
Location: UK
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 9, 2010

PLEASE DON'T GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm reviewing this from the UK. You discontinued it here about 5 yrs ago and since then I have had to purchase via friends or online from the US. Ok the US colours weren't QUITE as good as those you had for the UK market, BUT this IS THE BEST foundation on the market ever. I'm 50 this year but am told I look 35 - this foundation is part of that - please don't discontinue it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: balances oils without drying, minimises lines, lasts ages, looks fresh and natural, best foundation i have found and i'm almost 50
Cons: you don't sell it anymore :(, you discontinued 'smooth nude''
lilpink
Location: UK
skin concern: Age Prevention
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 9, 2010

Why?

I was very sad when Clinique stopped selling the clarifying concealer stick, but now the clarifying powder and foundation are going away, too! Clinique you are losing many customers because of this! I struggled for years with bad skin and your product made me feel beautiful and helped to clear my skin. I have been using this set for years, but now they are all going away. I will miss them because they gave me excellent coverage while remaining light on my skin. I will miss Clinique and this wonderful makeup!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
graysmom
Location: Kingsport, Tn.
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 8, 2010

Do not discontinue-best makeup ever!!

Please, please, please do not discontinue the clarifying makeup. after searching for years to find a makeup for my very oily skin that is breakout prone....clarifying is the only makeup that looks great, stays on all day and keeps my face from breaking out! It is the best makeup ever there is no other kind like it. Now that my daughter is wearing makeup she too loves this makeup for all the same reasons. I have used this makeup for years and it is the only one of its kind......you can't discontinue it.....Those of us with very oily skin need it. I am now 42 and have used clinique products since I was 16.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
graysmom
Location: Kingsport, Tn.
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
SVG423
Location: Florida
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 8, 2010

great foundation - too bad

I agree with the other comments - this is great foundation and I am sorry to hear it's being discontinued. It really kept my oil in check and covered nicely without being heavy.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
SVG423
Location: Florida
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
soapgirl
Location: Chicago, IL
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 8, 2010

Best, Best product ever

Very disappointed you will no longer have this product. I have been using all the pore-minimizer products for years and they are the best for breakouts, etc. Always been complimented on skin because of this product. So sad. None of your other products compare to this one.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
soapgirl
Location: Chicago, IL
skin concern: Pores
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Anonymous
Location: Ashland, KY
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 8, 2010

Saddened to lose such an AMAZING product.

This foundation is so amazing and really works wonders on my oily and troubled skin. I've been using it for around 2 years now. Best foundation that I've ever tried! The formula went on smoothly and lasted/looked fresh all day. It covered up my acne problems wonderfully. Today, I went to the store to buy another bottle of this and was told that it was discontinued. I went to several stores in my area, hoping to find some last, leftover tubes. Finally, at one store, a very nice sales clerk told me that she had only 3 left and they just so happened to be in my shade: Pure Ivory. I went ahead and bought all 3 bottles. She said that there is a new foundation coming out that is supposed to be like Clarifying but better. I guess I will see then, but for now at least I get to enjoy the lucky bottles I found. Too bad they have to mess with an already great thing. Good luck everyone!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Anonymous
Location: Ashland, KY
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
bunk
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 7, 2010

NOOOO!!!!!

My daughter has been using this makeup with much success, Why are discontinuing it?
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
bunk
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: Less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
EMartin
Location: Iowa
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 6, 2010

Love this foundation!

Please, please, please don't discontinue this foundation! It is the only foundation I've found (and I've tried a lot!) that will control my very oily skin and help keep it clear of breakouts. The smooth vanilla is a great match for my skin tone and I am having a really hard time finding it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
EMartin
Location: Iowa
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
midwesthelper
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 5, 2010

Best make-up for oily skin

Please do not discontinue this product! The clarifying makeup stays on my oily skin and has good coverage of my acne scars. I have tried three other Clinique foundations, and I'd like to return all of them because they don't work on oily skin even though they claim to. I tried many foundations before finding Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula, and it is without out a doubt the best for coverage and wear on oily skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
midwesthelper
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
MissMandy
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 3, 2010

Best foundation ever

This is the best foundation that I have ever used! I, too, am deeply saddened that it is being discontinued. I don't know what I am going to do without it.
I wish that that the discontinuation process would have been organized differently as it is getting very challenging to find my foundation. It would have been nice to have gradually discontinued the product instead of discontinuing it without a replacement ready to go.
For those prone to acne going without this foundation is impossible! I do not know of any other make up that will have the same effect. Please replace this product in a timely fashion!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
MissMandy
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Barbie1
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 3, 2010

Have always loved this stuff

Love this makeup in the Smooth Vanilla. Please do not discontiune this. Having a hard time finding it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Barbie1
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 11-25 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
MadSuzy
Location: North Carolina
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 3, 2010

How can you discontinue this product????

From reading other reviews, I simply cannot believe you are discontinuing this great product!! Oh, and by the way, there is NOTHING in your line that even compares--I've tried them all over the years and have always returned to the Clarifying Makeup. I truly dread having to go out and try to find a good foundation with another company, when one already exists, but the company producing it seems to not realize that not everyone in the world has perfect, poreless, glowing skin and really doesn't need foundation, because your other products have nothing to offer my skin.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: great coverage, salicylic acid for acne and skin brightening
MadSuzy
Location: North Carolina
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Malacaria
Location: Virginia
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:February 1, 2010

Outstanding Makeup!

I have tried so many different makeup products over the years, and time and time again I am drawn back to the only makeup that really works and looks best on my skin. Clinique's Clarifying makeup is just outstanding. Great coverage and it actually improves the clarity of the skin. The color is also a perfect match for me. Anyone out there who has problem skin...just give this makeup a try. You will not be disappointed. I am so glad it was not discontinued!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: improves your skins appearance
Cons: none for me
Malacaria
Location: Virginia
skin concern: Clarity or Dullness
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
OILYSKIN
Location: WASHINGTON
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:January 29, 2010

THIS IS THE BEST FOUNDATION FOR OILY SKIN/ACNE

WHY, WHY, WHY IS THIS BEING DISCONTINUED?!!
THIS IS THE ONLY FOUNDATION THAT REALLY WORKS - AND I'VE RELIED ON IT FOR YEARS!
WHAT IS CLINIQUE PLANNING TO REPLACE IT WITH? I'M SO UPSET...
PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT!!!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: best for oily skin/acne, color stays true
Cons: being discontinued
OILYSKIN
Location: WASHINGTON
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 4 - Oily
using Clinique for: I'm a lifetime Clinique fan (25+ years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula
Lands
Location: Memphis, TN
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(155)
Date:January 27, 2010

Perfect

My face breaks out often and this is the only make up that I have used that will control it. It's also covers up any blemishes that I have. I love this product and I'm so upset to hear that it's going to be discontinued. I just hope the new formula will exceed it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Lands
Location: Memphis, TN
skin concern: Break Outs
skin type: 3 - Combination Oily
using Clinique for: 1-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>